We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family run Posada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Hotel Burkhard

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Hotel Burkhard
Save
You added Posada Hotel Burkhard to your Saves list
3a Calle Oriente #19>A>, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Family run Posada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Well, i went back to Antigua, stayed at Hugo and wife run posada.
They are such lovely couple.
Hugo makes good coffee. Next year, he hope he will serves coffee for the guest , small and friendly posada will make your stay so memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
29
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I loved this hostel. Nice rooms with ensuites and hot showers. We were even allowed to use the kitchen facilities to cook our own food. The place has so much character, with stunning views of the volcano from the terrace. The owners - Hugo and his wife were just lovely. Offering excellent tips and advice. Nothing was ever a hassle for them. And it was sooooo affordable compared to toher hostels in the area. I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the upper level had big windows to get lots of fresh air into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Cheap hotel in Antigua, close to main square. Small but nice, clean rooms with private bathrooms and hot water. There is also kitchen where guests can prepare food. Loundry service possible and Wi fi access.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a very affordable hotel (Approximately $30 a night) right on the outer edge of Antigua. It was walking distance (10-15 mins) to all of the main sites in Antigua and allowed us to see some additional fun, interesting shops that we probably wouldn't have seen had we stayed in the very center of the city.

The hotel could be considered akin to a hostel, but it was just what we needed. The room was clean, we had a private bathroom, cable, and wifi. The bed was comfortable and there was hot water for a shower. The location was easy and safe and the staff was fully available and amenable to whatever we needed. After we checked out, we weren't done exploring, so we left our bags (that had our money, passports, and iPads) with the front desk with the upmost of confidence.

If you are looking for a colonial hotel with beautiful gardens, then this place isn't for you. It was great for us because we had no intention of staying in our room and lounging around. In fact, we found that if we went to inquire about the colonial hotels in the center, they allowed us to explore their gardens and get that experience without having to stay there.

We were only in Antigua for a short time and this met our needs. We explored the city, stayed out late, and came and went safely to our room. In fact, with the savings on our room, we were able to do everything we wanted plus sleep at the cost of what it would have been had we stayed one night at a fancier hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first room next to the stairs on the second floor and it was quiet, clean, and conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was a great break from hostels, offers comfort and privacy at a great low price.
Staff were very welcoming. We stayed there twice on our trip and would highly recommend Hotel Burkhard to any budget conscious traveller.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We originally intended to stay in Antigua for a couple of nights. Hotel Burkhard offered excellent rates and a convenient location.
The room was very comfortable and the showers always hot.
The staff went beyond the normal call of duty to make our stay enjoyable and provide us with local information.
Due to unforseen circumstances we stayed for over a week and if we came back we would not hesitate in booking a room again.

Room Tip: Room 24 (massive bed) or any upstairs room as they are lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I first stayed at Hotel Burkhard in September 2011, while visting my boyfriend. This was my 4th time in Guatemala and I knew instantly that this was by far the best place to stay overnight that I had ever come across while traveling the country. As a budget traveler I am very cost conscience and couldn't believe the amazingly low price we were paying for such a great property. Not only is the price great, but the location is perfect *A short walk to/from my favorite bar - cafe no se ;)* In addition, the staff is extremely kind and accommodating, which I find quite rare these days. They really make an effort to get to know you OR at least display that they remember you on every visit thereafter (sidenote: i have since stayed at Hotel Burkhard 3 times!) There is hot water in each of the the private bathrooms and amazing natural light in most. The terrace is a great feature for reading, listening to some tunes OR enjoying some refreshing gallos. No they don't sell gallos there, but they are a-okay with you bringing in some of your own to enjoy.

This review is long overdue, but it just hit me while emailing Burkhard for my December 2012 stay. Yes - I know, way in advance, but I wouldn't want to have to settle on staying somewhere else should they book up.

Yo amo Burkhard!

PS - My only regret was not finding Hotel Burkhard sooner! i would have definitely stayed there my 1st 3 times in Guatemala as well!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Hotel Burkhard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Hotel Burkhard

Address: 3a Calle Oriente #19>A>, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Posada Hotel Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Hotel Burkhard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.