We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our visit June 2007” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa La Capilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa La Capilla to your Saves list
Hotel Casa La Capilla
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Avenida Sur, Numero 21, Antigua 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 88 Antigua B&B and Inns
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our visit June 2007”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

Myself, my husband our 5yr old son and our 1yr old daughter stayed here on a visit trip during our daughters adoption. The lady who owned the place was wonderful. The ladies she had working there were beyond helpful when it came to things to do to help our daughter transition to us. We did experience a 6.8 earthquake while we were there also. We stayed in the last room by the pool. The bathtub was huge. It was a nice location too. We spent hours on the roof top. The best part was the breakfast that was offered. Yogurt, fresh fruit and pastries and juice. Yum.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I came with my husband and a couple friends. Casa La Capilla was absolutely breathtaking. It was a perfect getaway. We booked 2 nights and stayed a 3rd because we loved it so much. The price was amazing for such a beautiful little place. There are 5 rooms all very clean. When we arrived it smelled very nice, even though the hallway is open to the courtyard. Candles were lit all over. Music was playing faintly in the back. There's a small pool in the back courtyard, near the bar and covered outdoor living room. The central courtyard was grassy with a fountain, table and chairs and the cute little chapel, which can hold a very small wedding. The staff were great. They'd keep to themselves if you wanted privacy, but if you needed anything they were happy to help, whether it was dinner suggestions, booking tours, or just getting a bucket of ice (which we seemed to wear them out requesting). I noticed the rooms were cleaned each day thoroughly, even the rooms that hadn't been booked.
Breakfast is included and served on the terrace on the roof. You can choose from continental breakfast, guatemalan (eggs, frijoles, fruit, plantains) or american (pancakes with eggs and fruit) served with bread, coffee/tea and juice. There were enough tables spread out along the terrace, which wrapped around the courtyard, that there is plenty of privacy. There are fire pits with chairs on the terrace and the view of the volcano is awesome.

It is an excellent location at the edge of the old city far enough from most traffic, but still only a few blocks from central park. There are ruins around town to see and excellent restaurants all over, even some that delivered to the hotel. A nursery/garden/cafe is a block away. You could chose a cute coffee shop, sandwich and bakery shops, pizza, italian, thai, steak, french, pretty much anything, all within a few blocks. Antigua Guatemala is a really cute town only 30 minutes or so from Guatemala City. It is where the city folk come for weddings and weekend getaways. Lent and Easter is big in Antigua with a procession in the streets and other activities.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

My husband and I got tired of staying with a host family so we decided to stay at a hotel the last few days in Antigua. We walked up to the doorway of La Casa Capilla and took a tour and booked our stay. Amazingly we were the only guests for the 3 nights we were there. The hotel is located south on the street of the arch (next to Meson Panza Verde). There are 5 rooms, each with a bathroom. We stayed in the room with the glass doorways to look out onto the courtyard. There were only 2 things that we would improve about this boutique hotel: basic courtyard without much garden or potted plants (in comparison to other courtyards) and in our room the shower did not get hot water. The rest of the hotel was fabulous; we felt like VIPs! You get free wi-fi, free calls to the US, and made-to-order breakfast every morning. The breakfasts were delicious! You have your choice between an American breakfast (with pancakes) or a Guatemalan breakfast (frijoles, platanos fritos). The hotel creates a home-like feel. It has a pool, roof-top patio, courtyard, and plenty of outdoor living space. The staff (Victoria, William, Yolanda) were exceptional! They made us feel right at home and were very friendly. One of the things that I liked about this particular hotel was that the entrance was a gated door (so no tourists could just walk around). In addition, once we were in at night, William closed the main door for a secure night stay. Since we were the only guests, we felt like it was our home and we could even play our own music that played throughout the entire house. I almost forgot about the other wonderful things about this location: no street noise from autobuses or tuktuks; it is very quiet, a fantastic view of Volcan de Agua, there is a private chapel there (some people have had weddings there for a small group), and close to a great little restaurant Casa cafe Ana. I highly recommend this boutique hotel for personal service and a private stay!

  • Liked — Personal attention and home-like feel
  • Disliked — Courtyard not as lush as others in the area and no hot water in our shower
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

We would go back for the breakfasts in the courtyard alone. Wonderful fresh fruit and good coffee what a way to start your day. After a hard day of sight seeing, comeback to Spanish guitar music in the court yard and relax a bit. The staff were helpful and accomidating even getting a lime from the lime tree for our gin and tonic. We would recomend La Capilla to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

Una casa indeed! After a long trip out in the fields... we had the feeling we came home. Great shower. Hot and with pressure. Very peacefull spot. Waking up with the sound of birds. Healthy and delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace with volcano Agua as a view. Next to the lovely pool we had a private Pilates class with Bette (the manager). We enjoyed the confidence. Could take drinks and write them down ourselves. Books all over the place. And not to forget the sauna! The smell of fire, essential oils... . I could go on and on. It was the perfect end of our trip.

  • Liked — sooo peacefull!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

Having travelled the planet far too many times....I am skeptical of the glitzy blurbs and razzle-dazzle marketing offered by "unique style" accommodation houses. Too many bad experiences...yet I keep trying to find the perfect local hotel or bed & breakfast.

I am currently lodging at a gorgeous, quaint and very genuine Casa. Called... Casa La Capilla...it really works. And charms you. At least it has charmed this weary traveller. Enough to annoy all my worldly friends with a raze group email.

At long last, I say. Finding this Casa as allowed me to restore faith in travel. I think there are 5 rooms, at least mine is next to the pool and bar and my days are bliss. Hanging out, or just strolling the streets.

Staff are cool...and only appear to offer a bottle opener or advice on a dinner location. Or the sometimes chit-chat when I want it!!! Breakfasts are above average. Rooms feel real. Decor and general ambience.....perfect!!

Even the gardener mows the lawn with his scissors !!!

Yes....I've decided to stay an extra 3 nights here and increase my bar tab and enjoy my renewed enthusiasm in Central America.

  • Liked — a sense of real and genuine accommodation in a real Casa
  • Disliked — not application. It all works
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa La Capilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa La Capilla

Address: 5 Avenida Sur, Numero 21, Antigua 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa La Capilla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa La Capilla is a newly opened Boutique Hotel in the gorgeous colonial city of Antigua, in Guatemala. New ownership brought along a new image, higher standards of service and top quality accommodations, all within the confinements of an 18th century property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Casa La Capilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa La Capilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.