We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in Hotel Palacio de Doña Leonor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio de Dona Leonor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palacio de Dona Leonor to your Saves list
Palacio de Dona Leonor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4a calle Oriente Casa #8, Antigua 003001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience in Hotel Palacio de Doña Leonor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My friends and I traveled to Antigua Guatemala. We found a beautiful paradise called Hotel Palacio de Doña Leonor. The service was incredible! They treated us like royal people.

Our waiter told us many details of the hotel, some important events of the history of Guatemala and the reason of the name. It was really interesting!

We were happy to find such an incredible place in Antigua.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDLCC, Manager at Palacio de Dona Leonor, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest, for the staff of Palacio de Doña Leonor, was a pleasure to serve you in your recent visit to Antigua Guatemala, we hope to see you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    20
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
47
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Neck, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

After a very long journey from NY to Antigua, it was a pleasure when the taxi dropped me off at the Palacios de Dona Leonor. It is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful staff - very friendly and English speaking. When I was shown to my room my daughter, who is a resident of Lake Atitlan, Guatemala, was there to greet me. It was a wonderful reunion in a wonderful hotel. Living in a very rural area, she was happy to have a comfortable bed and a shower with hot water. The food at the hotel restaurant served very delicious American cuisine. The hotel is located in the center of town, near many fine restaurants, tourist attractions and lovely shops. We spent a very memorable two days there that I will remember fondly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Not in Antigua, but 500 meters from the city center.
Amazing boutique hotel with excellent service.
Delicious breakfast and good.
Atmosphere of freedom is amazing.
Rooms are excellent and the most comfortable beds. High-speed Internet connection and good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyvi C, Manager at Palacio de Dona Leonor, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Anna, gracias por sus comentarios, queremos premiar su preferencia, por lo que la invitamos a hospedarse en una de nuestras habitaciones, para lo que le ofrecemos un 20% de descuento al momento de realizar su reservación.

atentamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Though booked at another hotel for a wedding, we booked a night at this lovely hotel after walking past. Quiet, spacious room - well-appointed with all conveniences. Lovely courtyard, architecture, and finishes. Great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Palacio de Dona Leonor is an experience. The hotel is truly a palace with the best location in Antigua. The decor of the hotel is in keeping with the amazing architecture and you feel like you have been transported in time while still enjoying all of the modern convienences.

The service was spot on, excellent but not overwhelming, professional, relaxed and friendly. I need to apologize for not writing down the names of the staff but it is fair to say "all were excellent". Housekeeping as well was exceptional.

A suggestion: Enjoy an afternoon in the coutyard with a bottle of wine and a cheese and fruit plate. The setting is so calming and the garden is truly magnificent full orchids and the sound of the fountain, it's a rejuvenator!

Again, I want to thank the Palacio de Dona Leonor for a beautiful week-end. I am fortunate to have business which takes me to Guatemala four times a year and I will never consider staying in any other Hotel in Antigua, Also, the value is exceptional.

Room Tip: All are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyvi C, Manager at Palacio de Dona Leonor, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sir, we really appreciate your commnents, for everyone that work in the Palace is a proud to get customer satisfied, and will be a pleasure to have you again like one of the distinguished clients.

Sincerely Yours,

Leyvi Cordova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
478 helpful votes 478 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Your expectations will be heightened by the spectacular architecture, and if your stay is like ours, your disappointment will be prompted by lapses that don’t live up to the magnificent surroundings. Here’s why. . .

What you will like:

--Possibly the best location in Antigua. To be any closer to the fountain at the center of the Plaza, you’d have to be sleeping on the steps of the Cathedral.

--Likely one of the most beautiful buildings you’ll ever have keys to. This is a 13 room 500 year old palace, and the accommodations have been renovated to a noteworthy level of detail. Our room, #5 (Isabela) was just gorgeous, with painstaking stone work, an elaborate 15 foot high ceiling, and an elaborate bathroom with L’Occitane bath products. The rooms are all different, but the decorators have done a great job of making the accommodations individual and distinctive yet fit within the overall feel of the hotel. (We saw 9 of the 13).

--The hotel’s central courtyard is lovely, with classical gardens and a fountain. Seating for the restaurant includes some tables around the courtyard--a particularly, decadently pleasant setting for breakfast.

--Breakfasts here are as decadent as their courtyard setting. The Completo is downright obscene, with croissants and warm banana bread, homemade preserves, yogurt and fruit, and your choice of any number of egg dishes or pancakes/waffles, as well as cafe con leche. At 90Q, or a bit less than $12 per person, the food and setting make the courtyard at Palacio de Dona Leonor a must in Antigua.

--While the hotel needs two hours’ notice to warm the water, the Jacuzzi in the back of the hotel is large and nicely landscaped. As well, there are a few fitness machines, though anyone seeking an extensive workout would be disappointed.

--Internet is free and good.

--At times, the hotel offers a 25% discount off the hotel rates if you stay at both Palacio de Dona Leonor in Antigua and Hotel Atitlan in Panajachel. While Hotel Atitlan is just nowhere as nice as the Palacio, this discount saved us over $200 for our six night stay. (See my note below, however. . .)

--The discount made our room $109 before 22% tax. Awesome luxury at that price--unlikely to be matched anywhere else.

What you won’t:

--Antigua’s mild temperatures prevented either individual heating or air conditioning in the rooms, but the thick walls kept in heat after the afternoon temperatures spiked. We never got the sleeping temperatures just right, as a result. While there is a fan in the room (not a ceiling fan--wouldn’t work with the decor), our attempts to keep windows open met with defeat at turndown.

--10 of the 13 rooms have two beds in them. I think the ratio of double-doubles to queen/king bedded rooms is off. If you want a room with one bed, you are unlikely to get it. In a related observation, the rooms--however lovely--don’t have much or any seating. A drawback.

--You may be tempted to book sister property Hotel Atitlan in Panajachel given the joint ownership and attractive discount. Be warned, Hotel Atitlan is nowhere as nice a hotel as Palacio, its lovely gardens and beautiful lake views notwithstanding. Hotel Atitlan shares little of the grace of Palacio--even the bath amenities are different, oddly--and none of the grandeur. (that discount is attractive, I will admit)

--Antigua’s low season (usually thought to begin May 1) commenced as we arrived, so we had the 13 room hotel to ourselves. Yes, my boyfriend and I were the only guests in the hotel. Sounds romantic in the abstract, but actually became a bit eerie. This became a real issue as the hotel indulged in some cost cutting measures, from turning the courtyard lights and fountain off, to replacing the hallway lighting with floor candles. Not only were the candles insufficient light for such a space--and potential fire hazards--but as the candles grew dim, the prospect of kicking one over inadvertently grew. This splattered red wax on my pair of jeans in one instance, and all over my sandals in another. I don’t know what the Spanish words are for Fawlty Towers, but this came close. Either open for business and run your hotel at full pitch, or close it for low season and send us elsewhere.

--After two days of being the Palacio’s only overnight guests (some folks did come in for breakfast, and there were a few staff members around), we returned on the third afternoon to find the hotel was tearing up its courtyard. With only one room occupied, the hotel might have found it quite easy to let us know--either before we arrived, or during our stay but before the tumult--that we would be experiencing this renovation. The courtyard is a major appeal for the hotel, and certainly for having breakfast in the gardens--noise, dust, and the workers were a definite distractor. (In fact, the hotel staff might even have seen fit to upgrade our accommodation while letting us know--they certainly had the room--thus turning the negative into a positive) We did complain, and Ivana at the front desk (who was wonderful throughout our stay) was very conciliatory, but the manager never addressed this with us. A major fail when our other experiences were so good otherwise.

--At times, the staff wasn’t as well trained as we might have liked. Particularly in the restaurant this was apparent. Our breakfast bill never was accurate, and the server didn’t seem to know what was included--to make matters worse, the English and the Spanish versions of the menu differed from one another.

Bottom line: This is a lovely building, and a downright palatial hotel. I can only hope that the team running it improves its delivery to the level of the architecture and the gardens. In its marketing, and its service delivery--a darkened hotel with only one room rented, a disruptive renovation going unwarned and un-apologized for, and other training lapses--the end result here falls short of the expectations this magnificent landmark sets. Antigua has many charming, interesting hotels at very competitive prices--the new San Rafael hotel nearby is clear competition in size and appointments, for example--and while I wanted to love this place, I was a bit heartbroken in the end. Enough that I might very well try another hotel rather than return here. But for the lapses I noted, I’d give this a solid five star rating. Right now, it is punished with a very regrettable three.

Room Tip: If you want a room with one large bed, only three rooms have this; most are two doubles. Isabela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed three nights here with a family member who had come to visit. We did have some trouble with reservations as we had booked online prior, then reconfirmed through their sister hotel the previous day, and when we showed up they STILL did not have our reservation. Not sure how this happened. However, they did have rooms free so it was not a problem. Make sure to confirm and reconfirm your reservation during busy times. The hotel is located right next the the central square, on a street with lots of cafes, shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is a historic building, and beautiful. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. Nice bathrooms, although hot water was sporadic. There is a nice large spa that is almost like a small pool in the back which is great for relaxing. If you want it warm, make sure to ask two hours ahead so they can turn it on. Staff was very friendly and helpful and responded to every request. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that had a balcony looking over the street which gave a nice view to people watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyvi C, Manager at Palacio de Dona Leonor, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Miss Green, we apologize for the inconvenience with your reservations, however we really appreciate your comments and we are glad to offer you a pleasant stay with us.

Sincerely Yours

Leyvi Córdova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacio de Dona Leonor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Dona Leonor

Address: 4a calle Oriente Casa #8, Antigua 003001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#17 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Dona Leonor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel in Antigua Guatemala. Experience the history of Antigua Guatemala in one place. Travel 500 years in the past and enjoy the decor and details of each room, which are named after the characters of the conquest of Guatemala. If you are looking for quality and excellent service, we recommend you this magical hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palacio de Dona Leonor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio De Dona Leonor Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio de Dona Leonor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.