We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly hospitable and original!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio de Dona Leonor

Save Saved
You added Palacio de Dona Leonor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palacio de Dona Leonor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4a calle Oriente Casa #8, Antigua 003001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Truly hospitable and original!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Full marks to the management of this wonderful place and their attention to the minutest of detail. This is not one of those larger hotels so we enjoyed a heightened level of personal attention.

Leyvi, the manager did a phenomenal job of ensuring we were doing well - as an example we would reach the hotel much later than their kitchen would be closing and she was very thoughtful in ensuring room service would be ready with hot meals and brought up to the patio as soon as we arrived!

Thanks to all the staff including Sara and also the inimitable Osiris (yes!) who showed us around the place including an unplanned climb up to the terrace where they have a wonderful orchid garden!

Keep it up guys, we will be back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyvi C, Manager at Palacio de Dona Leonor, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Krishnan, thanks for your comments, they are really very valuable and helps us continue to provide the best service, to our staff was a pleasure to serve you and make your stay in Palacio de Doña Leonor an unforgettable experience.

In Palacio de Doña Leonor we strive for our guests are treated like kings and queens from the arrival until the end of your stay. We hope to visit again soon.

sincerely,
Leyvi Córdova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
42
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have been traveling to Guatemala annually for several years and discovered this gem of a hotel after my first couple of trips. I had never experienced such complete and thoughtful detail (decor, room, excellent food) in a hotel until I discovered the Dona Leonor. And you cannot beat the location being right in the heart of Antigua and only a half block from the town square. This hotel is a magical experience that really compliments the out of world experience you already feel by being in a place like Antigua!

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs! You can sit on a couch overlooking the whole courtyard while enjoying complime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have traveled all over Central America and this is a real jewel. Clean, comfortable, great service, good food, great staff. Beautiful grounds and rooms. Our room had a balcony overlooking the street and a little noisy at night, but great to watch the activity during the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Palacio de Dona Leonor and it was a terrific stay. The hotel is in a perfect location literally steps to the Central Park. The beautiful gardens within the courtyard of the hotel are wonderfully maintained. The rooms themselves are very comfortable, quite formal in their decor and just terrific. The quality of this hotel would be upper end even in Europe and it represents a great value for those looking for accommodations on the higher end of the market. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our group of four travellers stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in November 2012. This is an impeccably restored colonial-era hotel, with outstanding service. The rooms are among the most beautiful I have seen anywhere in the world. The details of the rooms, as well as the common areas are very tastefully done, with unparalleled attention to detail. Service was also excellent; each guest is greeted at the door each time you enter.
We also enjoyed a drink in the lovely bar and ate breakfast each day in the restaurant. The food was very good, but service a bit slow.
The location was ideal, just a block from the central plaza. I will definitely stay here again upon any return trips to Antigua.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

An excellent hotel with superb service food and decoration I recently stayed here for almost 1 week with close friends and family for my wedding, it was an amazing experience. THIS JEWEL OF A HOTEL WILL FOR EVER BE OUR FIRST AND ONLY CHOICE TO STAY AT ANTIGUA....
THANK YOU FOR YOUR PRICELESS SERVICE.....

Belen & Mario

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mason, ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. We were with a large group, occupying most of the rooms, and each room was magnificently decorated. The staff was wonderful and the breakfasts were perfect every day. And the location cannot be beat. I plan to stay here each time I visit Antigua.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacio de Dona Leonor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Dona Leonor

Address: 4a calle Oriente Casa #8, Antigua 003001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Antigua
#18 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Dona Leonor 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel in Antigua Guatemala. Experience the history of Antigua Guatemala in one place. Travel 500 years in the past and enjoy the decor and details of each room, which are named after the characters of the conquest of Guatemala. If you are looking for quality and excellent service, we recommend you this magical hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Palacio de Dona Leonor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio De Dona Leonor Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio de Dona Leonor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.