We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place cheap rooms great hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Posada de San Carlos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Posada de San Carlos to your Saves list
Hostal Posada de San Carlos
5ta Calle Poniente 11A, Antigua 03000301, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place cheap rooms great hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Carlos was the man... Very friendly and interactive with his guests! Great location and price as well! The food was good there and was walking distance to a everything in the center of historic Antigua

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    19
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
26
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We came to town looking to spend one night here and ended up staying for 4 due to the friendly staff, clean, spacious rooms and central location. The devoted owner Carlos is helpful and energetic in providing information about the town as well as booking shuttles and tours. This would be the first place I'd check for rooms whenever I'm in Antigua.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My first time in Antigua, Guatemala. I arrived here to warm and welcoming faces.
It is a new hostel, which means it is nice and clean, oh and HOT showers, every time!!
Carlos and Hazel are the owners, always helpful, showing us the local street food places to eat and they also can book tours straight from the reception.
I recommend the breakfasts.. and defiantly try a local beer, the Gallo..
Carlos loves his music, and will let you choose your favourite musicians/songs to play in the hostel.
Had a great stay, and i will be back :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzeliya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

An awesome place to stay! The location is great and the place is really nice - they have a garden, a terrace and a great restaurant. It's also very clean- even in the doorms they fixed my bed everyday. The owners are really nice and welcoming and they treat their guests as friends.
Not the cheapest, but definitely worth the money!
אחלה מקום, הבעלים מגניבים- מומלץ בחום!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

San Carlos might just be my favorite place in Antigua. Great relaxed vibe in the sunny central courtyard and a beautiful view upstairs on the terrace. I'd recommend this place to dine, for drinks, or to stay. If you get the chance, get to know Carlos too!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed here for my first night in Antigua and appreciated the cleanliness and super friendly staff. The cost for a dorm was higher than I was expecting but it is a city. My only annoyance was a lack of power outlets to recharge devices. Another guest and myself were taking turns recharging in the shared bathroom outlet. The wifi was mediocre in the rooms but good in the common area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos R, Owner at Hostal Posada de San Carlos, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Chris

Thank you for you review I want to let you know that because of you suggestion I just installed 3 top of the line TP-Link Routers in hostel so I can offer signal everywhere. But we still used the same pasword: ILOVESANCARLOS ;-)

Regarding the outlets, so far I installed a 6 outlet device in the cabinet and we are planing to install one in each bunk with its own night light.

Thank you for all your advise.

Regards,
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed here for one night and ended up at dinner with the owners, plus some other guests. They treat customers like friends, this is proper hospitality. The mattresses are new, it's all clean and good looking. I will definitely return when I go back through Antigua. Hasta pronto, Carlos y Hazel!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Posada de San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Posada de San Carlos

Address: 5ta Calle Poniente 11A, Antigua 03000301, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada de San Carlos is a new Hostal and It will be your best choice if you want to enjoy all that Antigua Guatemala has to offer you. We offer very clean dorm rooms with private bathroom and individual lockers. We also can offer you your own private room with private bath. Posada de San Carlos is one and half block away from Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Posada de San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Posada de San Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.