We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfection"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Posada de San Carlos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Posada de San Carlos to your Saves list
Hostal Posada de San Carlos
5ta Calle Poniente 11A, Antigua 03000301, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Oaxaca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Perfection"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

After arriving late into Antigua to discover our booking didn't exist in our last minute really expensive crappy accommodation, my partner & I got up early the following morning on a mission to find something way better and cheaper. The great news was we sure did. From the moment we walked into Posada de San Carlos we were greeted by Hazel the beautiful & lovely wife of Carlos. She was so eager to help, so friendly and spoke very good English. Carlos came bounding round the corner with a big welcoming smile. He grabbed my bags off my back and told me to relax. This beautiful young couple have just opened this hostel in the past two months and my partner and I couldn't be happier with our stay. In fact we were so happy we came back and brought some friends to stay an extra night after coming back from Lake Atitlan. Not only have Hazel and Carlos now become friends of ours, the hostel has everything you need. Absolute central location, comfortable and super clean beds, giant rooms, hot water, a lawn with a fountain that is so nice to sit and have an afternoon drink by, laundry service, a great menu (u must try the Nicaraguan breakfast), amazing wi-fi (in the common area) and atmosphere. I have to truly commend Carlos and Hazel for balancing all the factors a traveler needs. A very high level of service, mixed with the perfect location and cleanliness, all delivered at an extremely reasonable price. Carlos and Hazel were always more than willing to help us, whether it be translating Spanish, suggesting a restaurant or booking a tour or a shuttle service. Nothing was too much trouble!! I think what really made a huge impact and a big difference to our stay is they really love what they do. They are born natural hosts! We wish them both all the best with their new hostel but with providing a flawless experience like this they won't need much luck. We were so sad to leave, but we will definitely be back again one day. This hostel is an absolute must if you're visiting Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    19
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
26
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Hostal Posada has a central location, excellent accommodation, meals, drinks and all the extra help you might need.
Carlos and Hazel are brilliant hosts. They helped us with everything we asked about. Our room was clean, spacious and led out to the central open grassy courtyard. We had an ensuite room: most of the accommodation is dormitories. Residents are of all ages - though this makes for a good party, things do get quiet soon after 10 p.m.
Food is excellent, lovingly-prepared by Hazel, who is from Nicaragua. Excellent value and a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My partner and I booked to stay at Posada de San Carlos with few expectations - it is a new hostal so had no reviews to help us. However, arriving early at 7:00am we were immediately welcomed and our hosts quickly made our room available for us. This hospitality carried on throughout our stay and they made us feel really at home. Facilities are very good - comfortable beds, spacious rooms and good meals as an extra. Only cold water in the wash basin though. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are around a courtyard so all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This place was a great place to unwind, plan adventures, and relax after our whirlwind roadtrip through Guatemala. We felt comfortable staying here as three women traveling together, and the city and this hotel felt safe and comfortable for us. The owner speaks the most fluent English of anyone I've met in this country, and is funny and helpful and gave great recommendations about how to get around the city and what to see and do. The beds were the most comfortable I've slept on in Guatemala, and there were actual hot showers (with on-demand hot water heaters in each room - the secret with these showers is to turn the hot water on just a little bit - the lower the water pressure, the hotter the water).

It's only a block from the center of the city, and they serve beer, wine, and nachos. They accept dollars and quetzales, and the place is very affordable and lovely.

I highly recommend this comfortable, clean, beautiful budget hotel in the heart of Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Posada de San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Posada de San Carlos

Address: 5ta Calle Poniente 11A, Antigua 03000301, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada de San Carlos is a new Hostal and It will be your best choice if you want to enjoy all that Antigua Guatemala has to offer you. We offer very clean dorm rooms with private bathroom and individual lockers. We also can offer you your own private room with private bath. Posada de San Carlos is one and half block away from Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Posada de San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Posada de San Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.