We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean and inexpensive with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Rustica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Rustica to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Rustica
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6th Ave Norte # 8 | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Basic, clean and inexpensive with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Came for a day, stayed for three, great location, felt safe, basic rooms but what more do you need to sleep. Loved it. Great WiFi, Just a short walk to old churches and central park. Really laid back got some laundry done, hot showers.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    62
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
24
65
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with three friends at the last minute due to a reservation mix-up with another hotel. The room was impeccably clean and comfortable and the hotel itself was very nice. The staff was helpful and pleasant. Unfortunately there is a club or bar next door with music and a DJ that literally shake the windows until about 1am. At least their music selection was decent, but if what you want is to sleep, you might want to look elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Basic rooms. Asked the maid to use unscented products and she obliged. Everyone there was very helpful and professional. The bar next door is noisy some nights, but we managed to sleep through it. The location was great. It made us feel safer walking home at night because it was so central and busy. Need to update the sheets. Clean, but stained and tattered.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

To start with something fairly positive, this is an average hotel with clean rooms. However, there are some negative points I have to stress out. First of all, it is next to a disco which has loud music during the night. You can literally hear the people sing along. Secondly our true bad experience began when the power went off in the outside building right before I wanted to go to bed. Since I was showering I was waiting for it to get on again. After ten minutes I walked downstairs to the concierge who didn't even noticed yet the power was off. The concierge tried to fix it but didn't succeed. Since my girlfriend was already in bed (we had to get up at 4 in the morning for a transfer to Guatemala City) switching rooms was no option. When I told the concierge that we had a problem (who can pack a suitcase at 4 in the morning when it is dark and power is off?) he said it was not his problem. I insisted in getting a refund and asked him to call the manager. First he called the receptionist who had booked our room. She said she couldn't give me a refund because she gave me a 'special' price (just got a few dollars off the price bargaining). Half way our conversation she cut the line. I insisted on calling the real manager and the concierge called her, she sounded more reasonable but didn't come up with a solution.
I was tired and wanted to go to bed, so I rest my case. The concierge was clearly annoyed and yelled something unfriendly to me in Spanish.
After 20 min when I was trying to get asleep I heard a boiler getting on and off every few minutes and a man was running up and down the stairs. It took me a while to understand what happening but when I went outside my room a plumber was fixing the boiler and shower in the room next to me and right above. It was already 1 am.
Two hours later when I woke up I took my stuff and left the building. The concierge gave me a little refund (15 dollars) for the inconvenience. I didn't even want to argue any more, I just wanted to leave.
So far my experience with this hotel. Don't go here if you want a good night sleep, either the disco or the unfriendly staff will keep you awake.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

being over priced i expected a little more than a cramped room and a cheap uncomfortable bed. the staff are not helpful and the owner showed a general lack of interest in talking to clients.....keep looking there are much better places for better prices

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Casa rustica on route to San Pedro. The hotel was strangely arranged with a pool table awkwardly in the middle of your way when checking in. The front desk staff were not helpful with suggestions for food. The other guests had to step in and offer suggestions. The american owner (presumably) was right there behind the desk but remained silent when I was trying to communicate with the staff who had little English. He could have easily assisted in our stilted communication. My room was $42 with a shared bathroom that was not close to the room. My room was cramped with a double bed and a single bed but only had room for either beds on its own. The ceiling was low and the combination of all the beds made the room feel claustrophobic. When I got into the bed the mattress was very saggy on one side and I could feel the metal insides pressing into my back. Luckily I was very tied because I could hear house music pumping from a nearby club. Overall an "okay" hotel but don't expect too much in regards to comfort and I believe it was over priced.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orje, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We arrived to this hotel with three motorcycles without reservation. The very friendly staff,and the owner found the last available room.They helped us park our bikes inside the hotel securely and efficient(Thank you!) We got a three bed room with shared bathroom,but very clean.The bathroom was cleaned often and was not a drawback at all.The room was nice,clean and comfortable. The hotel also sits on a very central location and you are close to the nightlife in Antigua,and the central park.
The staff at Casa Rustica really made us feel like home,great value!

Very recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rustica

Address: 6th Ave Norte # 8 | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Rustica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Block from central park, close to the most important sites of our beautiful city. This also gives you a safe, short walk back home every night. All private rooms with private or shared bathrooms, 24hr hot water, lots of natural light, 3 terraces w/beautiful volcano views, gardens w/fountain, beautiful flowers, sitting areas, hammocks, bright Guatemalan colors, use of a shared kitchen, free fast Wi-Fi, Internet computers, cable TV, pool table, laundry, travel services, cafe & espresso offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Rustica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rustica Hotel
Casa Rustica Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Rustica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.