We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Change When Something Is This Good?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Cristina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Cristina
Save
You added Hotel Casa Cristina to your Saves list
Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 03000, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Why Change When Something Is This Good?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Over the course of many trips to Guatemala, I've had the pleasure of staying at Casa Cristina on numerous occasions. I'm not sure there is any better value in Antigua in this price range. The hotel is meticulously maintained and the staff warm, friendly, and obliging. Based on another reviewer's recommendation, I reserved room #6, which is at the front of the hotel and has a window facing the outside. Some rooms have windows that face into the corridor. At first, I thought I might have made a mistake in choosing this particular room in that it might be noisy because it faces the street. However, this proved not to be the case. The property is located on a small street between two avenues and receives very little traffic itself.

Although small, the room contained a double bed, wardrobe, small corner bookshelf and writing table, and TV set. The bed was comfortably firm. Another reviewer wrote about "substandard bathrooms" in Guatemala. If s/he is referring to the lack of a hot water tap in the sink, this is pretty common throughout the country, in hotels, homes and restaurants. However, be assured that there is plenty of hot water and good pressure in the en suite's shower. Also, the hand and bath towels provided are thicker than many I've had at motels in the U.S. that cost twice as much as Casa Cristina. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel with good connectivity and a computer in the small lobby.

The hotel's location close to La Merced Church is a short walk to nearly anywhere in Antigua and is removed just far enough away to avoid the usual city noises. The rooftop terrace, which seems sadly underused, is a perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine and the views of the city and the volcanoes. Breakfast may be obtained just a few doors down at Fernando's Café on the corner and conveniently next door to the hotel is a travel agent from whom you can book a shuttle.

I will have to return to Antigua in about three weeks' time and plan to book this hotel again. When something is this good, why change? Although pure drinking water, coffee and tea are all available 24 hours in the lobby, the only thing that would make Casa Cristina even better is if there were a water carafe and some drinking glasses in the rooms.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room on the ground floor, which could be noisy with guests coming in and out. I was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omi2x, Owner at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to have you back soon! Reviews like this make all our efforts worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    104
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
24
130
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a night at Casa Cristina. The room we had was very clean and tidy. The wifi connection was good if you want to get some work done. Make sure to visit the rooftop and look at Antigua and the mountains around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omi2x, Propietario at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at Casa Cristina 3 different times as we made Antigua our hub for trips to Tikal, Lake Attitlan, and Chichi. Very clean with great service. Arranged shuttles, helpful with directions, and just plain friendly. A great location for moving about in Antigua (10 minute walk from Parque Central). Rooftop terrace a huge plus for viewing surrounding volcanoes (if the weather cooperates).

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 are prime
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Staff was helpful and friendly for the most part. The shared courtyard areas are beautiful as well as the views of the volcanos. The room was okay and the bathroom was a little less okay (especially in the room we chose I think) but once you realize that even the nice hotels in Guatemala have substandard bathrooms you get over it. The price was agreeable and the location is good, just steps from La Merced Cathedral. There is a great little cafe on the corner of the street (Fernando’s), good coffee and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed once more in casa cristina while in la antigua and am always surprised at the consistency in the running of this hotel. Clean rooms, fresh towels daily, perfect functioning WIFI in every room I stayed and the owner, Dona Rosario (speaking Spanish, English French and German!), and her team always going out of their ways to make their guests feel well and at home from home and offering an abundance of help and advice.
Free coffee,tea and hot water all day long!
The roof terrace with view of the vulcanos is a great place to relax and meet fellow guests !
Great location just half a block from la Merced and Calle del Arco and about 5 blocks from the main Plaza del Parque.
I will always return to this wonderful hotel where price/value is one of the very best I found in my travels around Central and South America.
Muchas gracias Rosario y su equipo!

Room Tip: If you want to have a great view choose the two rooms which view the vulcano La Agua on the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights when we got to Antigua and then again after being at Lake Atitlan. Both times we found the hotel and rooms clean with good hot water. The room size is not large and with two backpacks there wasn't a lot of room. There was also no fan and the rooms got very stuffy with not much air flow. The bedding was clean and comfortable but the pillows are not great. It can be noisy around 4am when people leave for volcano excursions and the set up of the hotel means this noise echoes around all the rooms. There is free wifi and a computer you can use downstairs for free. The free water filling is great and saves adding more empty water bottles to the environment so bring a reusable water bottle. Free coffee, tea and baked goods were also available in the mornings. Roof top terrace a nice spot to relax. Staff seemed friendly and helpful. Overall it was clean, safe and convenient for our trip,

Room Tip: Do not chose the room on the bottom floor or by the stairs. You will wake early when people leave o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, BC, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in a room on the second of three floors, which had windows situated towards the ceiling, widish but rather short. The room does get warm by the end of the day, so sliding them open does provide a reprieve.

The bed took up most of the room, and the pillows were flat but overall the room was clean but a bit worn. The hot water functioned well in the shower, but the sink only had cold water.

The roof top has good views of the surrounding area, and there is an especially good view of la Merced.

While we were there, the staff were friendly but the guy knew very little English. I understand the owner is fluent but we did not see her. We did not sty at the hotel during the day as we were too busy ambling around Antigua. The location is good as it is about three minutes from the arco Catalina, and a short stroll to places like Fernandos for coffee.

I was able to pay for the room by pay pal, when reserving. However, the front desk guy had no record of my payment. He did contact the owner and everything was straightened out. I am glad I know some Spanish in dealing with him.

Overall, a decent place, but not outstanding.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Cristina

Address: Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 03000, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#13 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#17 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Casa Cristina. Cozy Bed and Breakfast. All rooms with private bath and hot water. Safe and central location, only 4 blocks from Antigua's Central Park. Our rooms have comfortable beds with white sheets and towels.We have a computer available free to our guest at any time and wireless access for guests traveling with Laptops in most rooms. On our roof-top terrace our guests can enjoy the view of Antigua and our surrounding 3 volcanoes or read a book in the sun (or shade). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cristina Hotel
Casa Cristina Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.