We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a beautiful rooftop view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Cristina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hotel Casa Cristina
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Cristina to your Saves list
Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 01011, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 76 hotels in Antigua
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel with a beautiful rooftop view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a night at Casa Cristina. The room we had was very clean and tidy. The wifi connection was good if you want to get some work done. Make sure to visit the rooftop and look at Antigua and the mountains around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omi2x, Propietario at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    101
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
24
123
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at Casa Cristina 3 different times as we made Antigua our hub for trips to Tikal, Lake Attitlan, and Chichi. Very clean with great service. Arranged shuttles, helpful with directions, and just plain friendly. A great location for moving about in Antigua (10 minute walk from Parque Central). Rooftop terrace a huge plus for viewing surrounding volcanoes (if the weather cooperates).

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 are prime
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Staff was helpful and friendly for the most part. The shared courtyard areas are beautiful as well as the views of the volcanos. The room was okay and the bathroom was a little less okay (especially in the room we chose I think) but once you realize that even the nice hotels in Guatemala have substandard bathrooms you get over it. The price was agreeable and the location is good, just steps from La Merced Cathedral. There is a great little cafe on the corner of the street (Fernando’s), good coffee and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed once more in casa cristina while in la antigua and am always surprised at the consistency in the running of this hotel. Clean rooms, fresh towels daily, perfect functioning WIFI in every room I stayed and the owner, Dona Rosario (speaking Spanish, English French and German!), and her team always going out of their ways to make their guests feel well and at home from home and offering an abundance of help and advice.
Free coffee,tea and hot water all day long!
The roof terrace with view of the vulcanos is a great place to relax and meet fellow guests !
Great location just half a block from la Merced and Calle del Arco and about 5 blocks from the main Plaza del Parque.
I will always return to this wonderful hotel where price/value is one of the very best I found in my travels around Central and South America.
Muchas gracias Rosario y su equipo!

Room Tip: If you want to have a great view choose the two rooms which view the vulcano La Agua on the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights when we got to Antigua and then again after being at Lake Atitlan. Both times we found the hotel and rooms clean with good hot water. The room size is not large and with two backpacks there wasn't a lot of room. There was also no fan and the rooms got very stuffy with not much air flow. The bedding was clean and comfortable but the pillows are not great. It can be noisy around 4am when people leave for volcano excursions and the set up of the hotel means this noise echoes around all the rooms. There is free wifi and a computer you can use downstairs for free. The free water filling is great and saves adding more empty water bottles to the environment so bring a reusable water bottle. Free coffee, tea and baked goods were also available in the mornings. Roof top terrace a nice spot to relax. Staff seemed friendly and helpful. Overall it was clean, safe and convenient for our trip,

Room Tip: Do not chose the room on the bottom floor or by the stairs. You will wake early when people leave o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, BC, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in a room on the second of three floors, which had windows situated towards the ceiling, widish but rather short. The room does get warm by the end of the day, so sliding them open does provide a reprieve.

The bed took up most of the room, and the pillows were flat but overall the room was clean but a bit worn. The hot water functioned well in the shower, but the sink only had cold water.

The roof top has good views of the surrounding area, and there is an especially good view of la Merced.

While we were there, the staff were friendly but the guy knew very little English. I understand the owner is fluent but we did not see her. We did not sty at the hotel during the day as we were too busy ambling around Antigua. The location is good as it is about three minutes from the arco Catalina, and a short stroll to places like Fernandos for coffee.

I was able to pay for the room by pay pal, when reserving. However, the front desk guy had no record of my payment. He did contact the owner and everything was straightened out. I am glad I know some Spanish in dealing with him.

Overall, a decent place, but not outstanding.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Casa Cristina at the beginning of our trip for a night and then another night, before we got a shuttle to Guatemala City to head home and would recommend. I think most hotels in Antigua have a sense of character and you need to remember that you are not in the states so expectations need to be set accordingly.

Pros:
* The staff was very helpful and did speak English which was super helpful considering my struggling Spanish
* They were able to coordinate a private shuttle for my and my boyfriend for reasonable cost ($32 for both) which was great for an early pick-up to make a noon flight in Guatemala City
* The rooms were very clean
* There is a nice rooftop terrace with a couple of benches in the shade and a couple of plastic chairs with a good view
* Did have purified water, coffee and breakfast pastries
* Reservations were easy to make!
* Easy walk to some of Arch of Santa Catalina and the plaza

Cons:
* We found it to be limited on dining options nearby; we were short on time the nights we stayed which kept us from wandering too far, so we stuck with the place around the corner, but that isn't the hotels fault. If you have limited time, you might want to stay a little closer to the main plaza which might be closer to more options (although the Cafe Diego around the corner was great!)

* The showers were pretty small, but I found this to be standard in all the places we stayed in Guatemala

Overall a great hotel, super friendly and i would recommend. I would go for a room on the 3rd floor; you get a nice view and may avoid the in-and-outs of people in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Cristina

Address: Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 01011, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#14 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#16 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Casa Cristina. Cozy Bed and Breakfast. All rooms with private bath and hot water. Safe and central location, only 4 blocks from Antigua's Central Park. Our rooms have comfortable beds with white sheets and towels.We have a computer available free to our guest at any time and wireless access for guests traveling with Laptops in most rooms. On our roof-top terrace our guests can enjoy the view of Antigua and our surrounding 3 volcanoes or read a book in the sun (or shade). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cristina Hotel
Casa Cristina Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;