We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Cristina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Cristina
Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 01011, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 76 hotels in Antigua
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great value, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for three nights when we first arrived in Guatemala. Staff are very friendly and helpful. there's a 24 hour doorman which is nice. also free water, tea and coffee all day is a lovely extra. booking was easy and they gave a full description of all the room options.....so a least you know if your going to be in the room with no window!! We were in 2 different rooms and both were spotlessly clean, with comfy beds. roof garden is nice, highly recommend taking your free morning coffee up there for sunrise!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    100
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
23
120
64
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here on my first night in Antigua, it is a nice and clean and quiet place. They were very quick in their response via email. Staff is friendly and they helped me find another place when their rooms were full and I wanted to stay longer in Antigua.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The first floor has no windows but a bit higher up you pay more but you get a nicer room. The staff is friendly and helpful, I really liked the location - close to La Merced and the Arch but not in the noisy part of downtown. People on the top floor complained about the church bells early in the morning but I didn't hear them. The bathrooms were okay - not the greatest but not dirty or stinky and they did have hot water as promised (what more can you ask for?) I think this place is a good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our favourite hotel of our travels through Guatemala - great location down a quiet side street a block or so from La Merced. Free water, coffee and tea all day and free cakes/bread in a morning. Really friendly helpful staff and the view from the roof terrace was spectacular. This place had so much character - it was just gorgeous. It also felt really secure as you had to buzz to get in - we loved it.

Room Tip: We had room 12 which cost extra but was worth it for the incredible view of the volcano. The bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here four times over a three week period, in different rooms each time. All were very clean and well kept - the ones at the back of the hotel are a little quieter, but even the one facing the street was not at all bad. The hotel was always staffed and all staff members were very helpful, coffee and tea with a small selection of buns were available throughout the day. You can walk everywhere in Antigua from here that you need to see. You are close to Fernando's coffee shop and restaurant (we had breakfast there every day!!). The travel agent next door run by Mario was a good place to have all your travels arranged and we used Mario for all our trips. We looked at a few other places in Livingstons, this was a very enjoyable place to stay, Rossario and her daughter were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Use rooms in the back, avoid room number 5, though less expensive it has no natural light. all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I'm halfway through a 2 week stay, and definitely made a good choice. It's well located, tucked away in a quiet little side street, and a short walk from the centre. I've only knocked the rooms slightly because several of them have only internal windows opening onto to the hallway (which is partially open to the sky, and contains a little flowerbed with palms and plants). But the website gives an accurate description of every room and the roof terrace ensures that nobody has to miss out on the views. Rooms 11 and 12 (mine) have external windows and I wake up to my own private vista of the Volcano de Agua and, if I lean out a bit, the Volcano de Fuego. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean, and the small en suite shower rooms have plenty of hot water. No breakfast provided, but good coffee, muffins and buns in the office/sitting room on a help-yourself basis. That's usually enough for me, and there are plenty of good cheap cafes nearby. Wifi in the rooms. A nice little place and very good value.
Chris

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Loved this place. Room 12 (I believe it is) had an excellent view of the volcano. The rooftop is beautiful, excellent view. The place is locked at all times, and no visitors are allowed in/out. Very secure. The rooms and hallways are SUPER clean, literally squeeky clean. Showers are HOT. Above all, the staff and owner go above and beyond to help. Rosario help me set up rides to and from neighboring cities, and wound up stepping in to fix a booking mistake I made that would have left me stranded. Again, really great, quiet place. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: View from room 12!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Cristina

Address: Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 01011, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#15 Family Hotel in Antigua
#17 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Casa Cristina. Cozy Bed and Breakfast. All rooms with private bath and hot water. Safe and central location, only 4 blocks from Antigua's Central Park. Our rooms have comfortable beds with white sheets and towels.We have a computer available free to our guest at any time and wireless access for guests traveling with Laptops in most rooms. On our roof-top terrace our guests can enjoy the view of Antigua and our surrounding 3 volcanoes or read a book in the sun (or shade). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cristina Hotel
Casa Cristina Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Cristina to your Saves list