We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Cristina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Cristina
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Cristina to your Saves list
Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 03000, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Fox Lake, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a nice little place with very friendly staff and a pretty view from the roof top. We had a little difficulty finding it but it is in a great location. The prettiest rooms are above the first floor where you have a window with a nice view. The first floor rooms don't have a window, but we spent so much time out of the room we really didn't mind.Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are a little bit pricier but have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    101
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
24
124
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I went for a short vacation and we absolutly loved the small hotel. I Call ahead to explain that this was the first time my boyfriend went to see a volcano, without hesitation we got the best room!!

I grew up in Guatemala, really wanted him to take the feeling of Guatemala and mission accomplished!

See you soon Casa Cristina!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I would definitely stay here again in Antigua. It was perfect - the property is beautiful, it was very clean and comfortable, the location is fantastic, there's a great rooftop deck, and the people are very friendly.

There are cheaper places to stay - I paid $35 USD / 280 quetzales for the best room (room 12) - but Casa Cristina is worth it if you can afford it.

Use the tour agency at the hospedaje next door for transportation (they will recommend them at the front desk) - he is super friendly and reliable, and speaks English. I used a different tour booker when I got into Antigua and got ripped off (van never showed up), but he salvaged my day by getting replacement transportation very quickly, and even waited with me to make sure it showed up. Then I booked a volcano hike & airport transportation with him and they were inexpensive and very punctual.

My only small recommendation is to get some better lighting outside at night - Casa Cristina is on a short quiet side street between two major streets and is very safe, but feels a little dark & creepy coming home at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I loved the vibe and staff here. Unfortunately you can here staff and other guests very easily as everything echoes in this small hotel. The maids make up the rooms as soon as someone checks out, so at 6.30 am we had clunking, scraping furniture and the washing machine going above us. And we could here our neighbors either side and above us using the toilet as clear as ever!

The wifi is great and you get free water refills. No breakfast except coffee. Great location, but very small rooms....maybe equal to what you would expect for between 30 and40 USD per night.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is supposed to be better, but everywhere is pretty loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Casa Cristina is an excellent choice in Antigua. It's on a quiet street, about one-half block from El Merced. Rooms are nicely decorated with local crafts, beds are comfortable, there is cable TV and wifi. (And a computer in the reception area for your use.) Public areas - the halls and the like - are nicely painted, with more local art. It's clear someone cares.
There's free coffee and water and a few basic pastries and cookies in the morning. (There are also a couple of excellent bakeries around the corner opposite El Merced.)
Rates are reasonable, especially for Antigua - from $30 to $45 for a double at this time of year. It's worth splurging a bit for one of the rooms on the top floor, with views of the church, city and volcano. Some rooms have windows that open onto the interior hallway - quieter, but less fresh air.
A bonus feature is the rooftop terrace, which has basic furniture, plants and really great views. Perfect for an end-of-day beer as the sun sets.
Staff are friendly and helpful, the place is completely secure since everyone has to buzz and be let in and there is a good tour agency two doors down the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently stayed at Casa Cristina for 2 nights with my boyfriend and was very pleased with the location, the staff, the price, and the look of the hotel. The owner was very helpful with reserving transportation from the airport (about an hour ride) and the entire staff was friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The views of the volcano both from the top floor rooms and the roof top terrace are lovely, the bed linen fresh, crisp and white (sometimes hard to find in Antigua), the wireless in the rooms is strong and there is free fresh tea and coffee every day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Cristina

Address: Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 03000, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#14 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#16 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Casa Cristina. Cozy Bed and Breakfast. All rooms with private bath and hot water. Safe and central location, only 4 blocks from Antigua's Central Park. Our rooms have comfortable beds with white sheets and towels.We have a computer available free to our guest at any time and wireless access for guests traveling with Laptops in most rooms. On our roof-top terrace our guests can enjoy the view of Antigua and our surrounding 3 volcanoes or read a book in the sun (or shade). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cristina Hotel
Casa Cristina Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.