We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top service and very clean place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Florencia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Florencia Hotel
Save
You added Casa Florencia Hotel to your Saves list
7a. Av. Norte #100, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Top service and very clean place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this beautyful place and all the Antigua attractions are on walking distance. Rooms and the general areas are maintained very well and the second floor rooms will give you a nice view on the Aqua Volcano. We are travelling on 2 motorcycles and the owner has a seperate secure parking area also for cars just one block from the hotel.
Service is just excellent and during the weekend a good breakfast is served in the patio.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are great on the volcano and city views !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    77
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
135
55
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here as part of an independent tavel tour.

The hotel is in a good location, close to many good restaurants and spas.

The rooms were well appointed and clean. Very comfortable beds with nice linen. Breakfast was not outstanding, but nice enough.

Staff were friendly enough, but not overly helpful. Overall, a quiet and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Hotel was everything we read about from the reviews and more. Clean, Safe, comfortable, all the amenities and such a pleasant staff. The coffee was fabulous and free wifi. We would definitely recommend this sweet little hotel to anyone visiting Antigua.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor with the awesome view of the Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Florencia is a lovely little 10-room hotel situated just far enough from la Antigua's hubbub to provide a quiet respite -- though still only a 5 minute stroll from the action of Fifth Avenue (with shops, restaurants, and the iconic arch) and the Parque Central. I made my reservation only 24 in advance, so I was not able to get a room on the second floor, but my first floor room (#4) was cozy, with a great firm bed (hallelujah), ample closet space, and a nice-sized bathroom with a stall shower. The entire property is spotlessly clean and the staff are very customer-friendly and accomodating. The price was right, and I would definitely stay there again. Breakfast is included -- though at an offsite restaurant I chose not to sample (I think it's called "Gigantic Burger," which did not sound very fetching...). There is plenty of hot water in the showers, though I wish a little more water came out of the showerheads, which are of the water-saving variety. Viva Casa Florencia! I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed in room 3 at Casa Florencia and it was a very comfortable and clean room. The hotel has cable T.V., ceiling fan, hot water, good wifi and free coffee. The rooms are small but comfortable. I can't say enough about the staff - they are so friendly and helpful. I would stay there again. Hector's restaurant is close by - they have GREAT food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was very impressed with the attention to detail of the staff, especially the cleaning staff. The hotel was close to everything, but just removed enough to be quiet. The rooms were very comfortable and the Internet was good. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: I liked the upstairs rooms because they were lighter and had a nice place to set with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my 4 year old son. One night was a weekend so included breakfast.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Bathrooms also nice with large style shower heads with tons of hot water. They include two shampoo packets and medium size soap bars in boxes each day. Also you get a bottle of water each day (as long as you use all or most of the previous day's bottle). The rooms have a lock box and they provide a small suitcase lock to use, though I used my own suitcase combination lock as the small suitcase lock seemed easy to pick. .

Layout of hotel is a long narrow building with rooms on two floors along a long walkway. Room windows open onto the walkway. First floor rooms have no view and because of wall of the one floor building next door do not get much light. Breakfast area is at end of first floor hall. We had not problem with noise from walkway but were on second floor. and hotel was not full.

I attach a photo of view from second floor walkway outside of our room. Definitely stay on second floor to get sunlight and view.

Staff was very nice and the breakfast we had was quite good. They even knocked on the room door quietly about 15 minutes before breakfast was to end to remind us.

The hotel in located on the edge of town which has benefits and drawbacks. Benefits are that it is quiet and there is a children's park about a block past, but it takes 10 minutes to reach center square of town which is not a problem for most people. However, if only in Antigua for a day or two or dislike walking you might want to find a more central location.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the second floor to get light and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Florencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Florencia Hotel

Address: 7a. Av. Norte #100, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#6 Business Hotel in Antigua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#15 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated seven blocks north of the Central Plaza, our hotel is within short walking distance to coffee shops, restaurants, handicraft markets and archeological sites of interest. Our first floor rooms open to a serene verdant garden, while second story rooms provide panoramic views of three distant volcanoes from our open balcony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Florencia
Casa Florencia Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Florencia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.