We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest room in our 3 months of travel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Florencia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Florencia Hotel
Save
You added Casa Florencia Hotel to your Saves list
7a. Av. Norte #100, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cleanest room in our 3 months of travel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was very impressed with the attention to detail of the staff, especially the cleaning staff. The hotel was close to everything, but just removed enough to be quiet. The rooms were very comfortable and the Internet was good. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: I liked the upstairs rooms because they were lighter and had a nice place to set with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    77
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
135
55
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my 4 year old son. One night was a weekend so included breakfast.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Bathrooms also nice with large style shower heads with tons of hot water. They include two shampoo packets and medium size soap bars in boxes each day. Also you get a bottle of water each day (as long as you use all or most of the previous day's bottle). The rooms have a lock box and they provide a small suitcase lock to use, though I used my own suitcase combination lock as the small suitcase lock seemed easy to pick. .

Layout of hotel is a long narrow building with rooms on two floors along a long walkway. Room windows open onto the walkway. First floor rooms have no view and because of wall of the one floor building next door do not get much light. Breakfast area is at end of first floor hall. We had not problem with noise from walkway but were on second floor. and hotel was not full.

I attach a photo of view from second floor walkway outside of our room. Definitely stay on second floor to get sunlight and view.

Staff was very nice and the breakfast we had was quite good. They even knocked on the room door quietly about 15 minutes before breakfast was to end to remind us.

The hotel in located on the edge of town which has benefits and drawbacks. Benefits are that it is quiet and there is a children's park about a block past, but it takes 10 minutes to reach center square of town which is not a problem for most people. However, if only in Antigua for a day or two or dislike walking you might want to find a more central location.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the second floor to get light and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are extra clean. the hotel staff is incredibly helpful. thank you Casa Florencia for this amazing experience

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Casa Florencia was a great choice. The emails for reservation were quickly responded and were very helpful.
The staff is incredibly helpful, polite and quite simply, really nice people.
We stayed for three nights. Room was clean and neat. Breakfast was very good and helped us get through the day...!
The hotel is located in a quiet part of the city so you can rest without all the noise from downtown, although it is quite a walk form there.
Overall, good location, great experience, great hotel, excellent staff...!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have better views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just spent 3 nights in the Casa Florencia in Antigua. We booked every room for a group of college-level study abroad students. The owner, Patricia, is very helpful, speaks English, makes a great breakfast. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Security is excellent. The location is 2 blocks from La Merced church and the arch...very convenient to shopping, restaurants, and a variety of sights. This is a beautiful hotel with top-notch service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Casa Florencia was fantastic! Rooms were clean, neat and very well maintained. All emails for the booking were responded to promptly and with a lot of information. Jose was extremely polite and helpful, especially when he got up for our 4am shuttle departure. A good laundry was just around the corner a little way. Casa Florencia is a short walk away from the central part of Antigua but the walk was fine at night for us as a couple-you could just as easily catch a tuk tuk though. There are many little convenience stores within a short distance of the hotel too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed for three nights and were very pleased to have chosen this hotel. We were here at the weekend, so were able to have breakfast in the hotel (not sure why they don't do it all the time!) The room was on the 2nd floor with a lovely view of the volcano from the balcony; it was beautifully furnished, although the mattress was a tad too firm for my liking. Bathroom was big enough and the shower had good water pressure. I agree with one reviewer: it lacks a comfortable place to chill out, especially during the long and heavy afternoon showers. It is a fair walk from the central plaza -- about 15 minutes. We left a bag there while we went to Atitlan, and they also arranged for some laundry to be done. Everything was done and ready for us upon our return. Great coffee is available in the lobby from 6 am.

Room Tip: Second floor, definitely. The ground floor rooms are a bit gloomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Florencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Florencia Hotel

Address: 7a. Av. Norte #100, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#6 Business Hotel in Antigua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#15 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated seven blocks north of the Central Plaza, our hotel is within short walking distance to coffee shops, restaurants, handicraft markets and archeological sites of interest. Our first floor rooms open to a serene verdant garden, while second story rooms provide panoramic views of three distant volcanoes from our open balcony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Florencia
Casa Florencia Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Florencia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.