We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable 4 day stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada La Merced Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Posada La Merced Antigua to your Saves list
Posada La Merced Antigua
7a Avenida Norte 43, Antigua 33101, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable 4 day stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I were taking Spanish classes and after a horrible week with a host family, we decided to take up a hotel. We visited a number and decided on this one as the front staff were very helpful and the rate was very good. The room was comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful. My only complaint would be that on the main floor in the courtyard rooms, I found it sometimes a bit noisy. Pleasant hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    77
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
53
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here with a large group, and found the facilities to be adequate, and the staff exemplary. The large suite on the top floor would be perfect for a small family or a group of friends. There is a shared kitchen, which keeps costs down, and--maybe because I stayed with so many people I already knew--the whole place has a sort of "international slumber party" vibe that is really comforting and warm.

The front desk staff are helpful, knowledgeable, and committed to making sure you get the experience you want in Antigua.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The front desk staff earns a 5 star rating for their professionalism and helpfulness. The hotel is lovely with it's indoor courtyards. It is located far enough from the noise to provide a quite night's sleep but close enough that we could walk to the central park area. Our room was comfortable but very small. This, along with no hot water in the shower earns the 3 stars. I doubt the lack of hot water is a normal occurrence but it was an inconvenience which we did not have time to deal with on our last morning in Antigua. If you do stay here, check the hot water when you check in so that you are not inconvenienced in the morning. I do recommend breakfast at the cafe/coffee shop next door to the hotel. I had a wonderful Guatemalan breakfast of beans, eggs and fried plantains.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I recently stayed at Posada La Merced in Antigua. My room was comfortable, the staff was friendly; helpful; and welcoming, and the location was convenient to the center of town.

While I cannot compare it to other hostels; hotels; or hospedajes in town, in comparison to other locations in Guatemala, this was a great place to stay; to feel secure; and to enjoy a warm shower after roughing it elsewhere.

I would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at Posada La Merced for a total of three night bookending a week buildin with Habitat for Humanity. My son and I shared a double and it was quite comfortable. The beds were comfortable, which was not the case in two other hotels I've stayed in in Antigua. The staff are attentive and helpful. The breakfasts next door at Fernando's were delicious (except the egg dish on the buffet on Sunday morning..rather bland). I'd gladly return to Posada La Merced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed here when I was waiting to bring home my 6 month old son for three weeks. Defiantly, the rooms in back are quiter than the front and the garden is simply enchanting. There was a kitchen we could use freely and the staff even let us order the lunch meals (usually brought in for the staff) for lunch or dinner. The rooftop garden was also a quit place to sit and watch the rooftops of this city of cobblestones. Several option depending on your budget. Great experiance, staff and location!

Room Tip: Stay in the back patio if your budget affords it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The service was great, the employees were even better. The Posada is located in an excellent location with an absolutely stunning view from the rooftop. Fernando's, the cafe right next door, was affordable and delicious. It was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada La Merced Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Merced Antigua

Address: 7a Avenida Norte 43, Antigua 33101, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#18 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Posada La Merced Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Merced Antigua Hotel Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada La Merced Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.