We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Colonial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Colonial to your Saves list
Villa Colonial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda Del Calvario 28, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Bruges
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

This hotel looks marvellous and this time looks are not deceving. It's built in colonial fashion with brightly coloured rooms and a big garden in the middle. The rooms are spacey and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is an inexpensive internet service. The restaurant serves great food.
The only possible drawback is the location: a 15 minute walk from the city centre, but don't let that deter you.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    38
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
21
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincs UK
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

We arrived around 23.00 hours to find the hotel in darkness, the night porter (who spoke no English but was very aimable) appeared, he had clearly not been informed of our expected arrival, but we were given a lovely room. The nights are cold in Antigua in February & we found only 1 blanket & 1 cover on our bed - however we managed to communicate with our friendly porter the problem & he produced some blankets.

The hotel is beautiful, the attention to detail of the buildings is amazing & our room which was close to the pool area, overlooked the garden & was quiet. The dining area was opened sided on the garden side - very pleasant. Breakfast was fine & they will cook fresh the scrambled eggs if you ask; we don't as a rule take dinner at hotels, preferring to go to restaurants in town.

The hotel is more suited to groups, who have their own transport, whilst we enjoy walking, it is a good 15 mins to the Parque Central and the pavements & roads are cobbled - not easy. At dark a taxi is required/ recommended. On balance we would have preferred to be more central and as such I think the hotels is more suited to groups. Having said that, the hotel has much to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

We were part of a Caravan Tours group that spent two (2) nites here and, in general, enjoyed the stay. Good food and above average ambiance with an old Spanish-colonial flavor to the property. Only negatives were the room being too close to the street (constant trucks, cars until late at nite), firecrackers at odd hours (?) and being a bit too far from town so that a taxi ride is required after hours (dark). Most likely would not stay there again but can recommend the hotel nonetheless. Would appeal to older travelers moreso than others.

  • Liked — Ambiance and laid-back atmosphere
  • Disliked — locatin and noisiness
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British columbia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

I arrived at this hotel with Caravan Tours. This is totally laid out in colonial style, beautifly place. I had the cutest little room with a sky light!, the one wall inside my room was done in brick and i had a cute little courtyard..

The dinners and breakfasts were very delicious and they had great funky fruit juices to try!

You can walk from the town to the hotel, which i did alone and felt quite safe. I would definatively return!!

  • Liked — comfortable and relaxing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

We stayed here two nights on a Caravan tour. The hotel is charming and beautiful--you feel like you stepped back in time into a nobleman's hacienda. The grounds are beautiful and the architecure very interesting--different sections and colors. A second floor dining room and buffet breakfast out side on a terrace was appetizing. The food was good. Staff was very friendly and efficient. Our room was adequate and clean. The bath was a good. There aren't any screens on the windows and only a flimsy lock, so I would not leave any valuables in the room. It is a long walk into town on some dark streets, but taxis are plentiful and cheap.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Towels
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

The Villa Colonial is a very nice hotel in Antigua with interesting colonial architecture and nice rooms. The second-foor dining room is pleasant with a view over the courtyard, the staff were very nice, and the food was good. It is away from the town center, about a half-hour's walk but there is plenty of transportation from town.

  • Liked — Large comfortable room, good food, and a pretty courtyard
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2006

This is a pretty hotel within walking distance to the center of Antigua. We found our room to be very nice although many people in our group had much smaller rooms. Food is ok. Would not recommend it to anyone with mobility issue as steps to get to rooms and to dining room. Walk to Antigua center also a little further than other hotels and over uneven sidewalks.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Colonial

Address: Alameda Del Calvario 28, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Colonial Hotel Antigua
Colonial Hotel Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.