We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Texas BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pappy's Bbq Antigua

Pappy's Bbq Antigua
4th Avenida | The Corner of 6 Calle and 6 Avenida, Antigua, Guatemala
+502 5979 6771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 238 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Barbecue, Fast Food, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Welcome To Pappy's BBQ“We’ve got nothing to hide, so the sauce is on the side!” "COME EARLY, BE LOUD, TAKE DA PARTY!"What’s our secret? We prepare delicious, juicy Texas Style BBQ daily using only the best ingredients. We start by slow smoking our meats from 4-14 hours over white oak wood from a sustainable forest and finish them off with a selection of three delicious sauces and your choice of sides all prepared fresh in house. Choose from one of three superb sauces:SOUTH CAROLINA MUSTARD BBQ- Traditional South Carolina Mustard and Vinegar. Sweet adn Tangy with a hint of fresh Rosmary. NINI BBQ SAUCE - A Texas Favorite Classic, made with local Refuge Coffee.MONIKS HOT SAUCE - Hot BBQ sauce, muy caliente, in honor of our dear friend Enjoy em at Pappy's then take em home for yourself-all sauces are available for purchase.If you leave here hungry, it’s your own fault!Available Friday-Sunday from 11am-4pm.STUDENT DISCOUNT show your ID on Saturday and Sunday to get 10% off everything except drinks and orders over 1lb. Pappy's is open Friday to Sunday from 11am-4 or 5 (we sell out around then) if you're coming later in the day it's a good idea to call ahead.Never Forget What Gotcha HerePappy’s BBQ would like to say a special thank you to our Solar friends at Repetual in Austin Texas, Tim Derrington and Donovan Crowley.
Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Texas BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

As a Texan, I was happy to find this restaurant in Antigua. Awesome BBQ, sides, and sauces for a reasonable price. Owners are incredibly helpful and friendly, and good locals to seek out for Antigua knowledge.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    14
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
“The Texan of Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Blake knows how to make you feel at home even if you're 1,588 miles away! Pappy's is a tiny little counter cafe wedged in-between plenty of other shops off the stone streets of Antigua. It doesn't look like much at first, but the promise of BBQ drew me in - which was a gamble because BBQ is hit or miss... Turns out, his stuff is the real deal! Brisket, ribs, sausage, cold beer and good sauces. If that weren't good enough, he smokes the meat in a custom built pit his Pit Boss tends all night. ¡Que Rico! What adds the authentic touch is the atmosphere. It's a welcoming, casual place in a good ol' Texas sort of way. Lots of "Yeps," "Howdies," "Hells yeahs!" make me a happy Texan in Antigua (that and being force fed ribs until I get the meat sweats. Yeah buddy!).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best smoked pork meat in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Great auténtico Texas smoked style ribs (St Louis ribs my favorite ones) sandwiches with pulled pork and brisket are amazingly delicious too, dog friendly people friendly,overall awesome place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This place has the best ribs of Guatemala, we went there with a couple of friends and the attention is extraordinary, the ambience is great, the people, and they sometimes even hook you up with some beers! was really happy when I found this place

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Salt is us!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went here after seeing this restaurant on trip advisor. We ordered a sandwich and ribs and both were so salty that it overpowered the taste of the meat. We like salt, but the amount they use in their food is ridiculous. To top it all off, the prices were not worth the value whatsoever. It was utterly disappointing. We won't return and if you have high blood pressure issues or are watching your sodium intake, be very careful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bike_Guatemala, Public Relations Manager at Pappy's Bbq Antigua, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the unfortunate incidence that you experienced at Pappy's BBQ. We continually try to do our very best every day, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. We are still relatively new and are growing so quickly we are struggling with new cooks as we ramp up our production. Small mistakes will be made now and again. Based on this review, I am personally managing the food quality every day to ensure this particular mistake never happens again.
Feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further, and give us another try on the house. :Blake 5043-5547
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Bbq Antigua also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Pappy's Bbq Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappy's Bbq Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.