We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet spot in Antigua” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacia El Sur - Casa Hostal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacia El Sur - Casa Hostal
Save
You added Hacia El Sur - Casa Hostal to your Saves list
1ave Sur, Casa # 15, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Prescott, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sweet spot in Antigua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We're happy to write a good review for this place.
The rooms are very clean,
the breakfasts are good,
they have a nice little garden in back,
the prices are great,
the beds are comfortable,
the staff are helpful,
the location is good,
the owner is very hospitable.

If i had anything negative to say about this place, it would be that the walls are thin, so we could hear everything from our room all the time. We had to sleep with ear plugs in.

Also worth mentioning, they have the best airport shuttle in town located in their lobby (believe me, we looked around)!

Room Tip: All the rooms are in a line so i'd guess that they all are about the same depending on you needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
20
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Really cool hostel to stay, clean and private. Also the crew is really nice and caring about you have a nice staying. Also has a nice backyard with hamacs. Includes breakfast. And is locate near to Cafe No Se, in the same bulding where is Cafe Sky, the same block as couple spanish schools. And 4 blocks away from central park. Nice private rooms and good dorms. A place you can meet people, they sell beers and there is a pool table. Internt and tv with satelite and dvd.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. Free breakfast in the morning great WiFi access. Right next door to Cafe No Se. The staff will make coffee for you even if you have to be up and out the door at 3am! Super friendly and close to everything you would want to do in Antigua. I'm spending my last week in the country back in Antigua and I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

SOUTH-HOUSE HOSTEL is a cozy place with comfortable rooms, clean and very good to have a nice sleep.
is this guesthouse offers a high quality service that gives guests the best care possible for one to feel at home making it easier to not only our stay at the hostel but also in in ancient Guatemala.
my stay in the hostel was for two weeks and which the super good though. the cleanliness in the rooms and in the corridors and the room is very good.
have a large and very nice garden where you can relax, read a book, instead listen to music and take a nap in a hammock. the guest room also has a pool table where you can play with your friends or by yourself if you so desire, and a TV to entertain when your deseses it.
the service has also hostqal breakfast of which I can say they are very delisiosos.
I recommend this hostel to either come from vacasiones or for work and I assure you that the pass really well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

What an awsome little place. Located in the center of Antigua, a blue building at the end of a street, which make it easier to find it! The owner and staff are so nice and so layback. The place is very clean,quiet and cheap! On top of the hostal you have a roof bar/cafe and many restaurants around it. We stayed there 10 days while going to school and we would go back in a heart beat. You get breakfast every morning! Allright, one negative thing, the coffee is weak!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Location is great. Right next door to two very popular bars( Angie Angie and Cafe No Se). Has wireless. Fantastic Free Breakfast. There is a cafe with a rooftop bar on the third floor. I would recommend for any traveler on budget coming through Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flores, Guatemala
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hacia el Sur is a hidden gem waiting to be discovered. The hostel has only been open for 5 months and Frank and his team are doing all the right things...The hostel has a variety of rooms from dorms with attached bath, dorms with shared bath, private doubles and private twin, both with bath. The prices are cheap and includes breakfast (your choice from a menu). There is room for parking out the back for those with wheels and a lovely little garden for enjoying the Antigua sunshine. BUT the BEST thing about this hostel are the people that run it. I have been staying here for three weeks now (and counting) and the staff are gems. Nothing is too much trouble and they work tirelessly to keep the place clean and and look after their guests - more coffee for breakfast? No problem. Open the doors for me at 3am after a night (s) on the town? No problem. Go and tell the builders next door to shut up at 6am in the morning (the renovations will be over by the time you read this!)? No problem. To Frank and his exceptional team of Maritsa, Marlon and Julio, I say THANK YOU!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacia El Sur - Casa Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacia El Sur - Casa Hostal

Address: 1ave Sur, Casa # 15, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Hacia El SurWe opened our doors in 2012, an idea born of three brothers from Guatemala City. Our vibe is very laid back and inviting for our international guests.We have high speed free wifi, laundry service on site (& a clothes line) as well as a TV and DVD player for movie nights!There are all new beds, fresh clean and cozy new bedding. Private rooms or shared dorms. There's a pool table and lounge to relax in and large back garden courtyard. Sway in the hammock, buy a beer, listen to the birds, meet other travelers - do as you please. We have a selection of 8 different breakfasts to enjoy everyday from 7:00 to 10:30. Of course we serve Guatemalan coffee too! Come to Sentido Comun, our breakfast, lunch and dinner bar with a menu of smoothies to burgers and beer and cocktails too.Conveniently at the front of our building is a tour company, bike rental and bike tour service as well as a shuttle booking service that picks you up right at the door. Very much appreciated when your departure is at 4 am! Things to know :*Check in at 1pm and check out at 11am.* All rooms have lockers to store your valubles.* Padlocks are available with a Q50 deposit or use your own.* Our front gate is locked at 10:00PM, but our night security guard is here to let you in and out 24 hours a day. The lights are mostly turned out at also at 10:00 for those needing rest , but feel free to take your group to our back garden or to a nearby bar for some socializing.* NOTE: there is a doorbell to alert the security guard to get in after 10:00. Please do not bang on the gate as it will wake other guests. * Parking area: at the rear of our property we have space for camper vans and some tents. Shower facilities, toilets and meals are available in the hostel for you. Please inquire for fees. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacia El Sur - Casa Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.