We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sor Juana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sor Juana to your Saves list
Hotel Sor Juana
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4ta Calle Oriente #45, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 88 Antigua B&B and Inns
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the moment we entered the front door, we were treated like royalty. This small hotel looks unremarkable from the outside, but is a beautiful mixture of the 16th Century convent from which it arose and a modern, comfortable living space. It is spacious, beds are comfortable, and the view both inside and out are unparalleled. Only 4 blocks from the main plaza, very quiet at night.
Highly recommended! Thank you Julio.

Room Tip: We got a tour, and every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
30
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The super helpful and friendly staff, the well decorated and comfortable room, the location, the delicious breakfast on the rooftop with one of the best views of Antigua, made our weekend getaway in Antigua such a pleasurable experience that we promised we'll go back to Hotel Sor Juana!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Only 5 rooms but what rooms! Each one is a suite, totally charming and completely different from the next (we looked). Having a rooftoop breakfast was a unique and fun experience. A short (10 minute) walk to the city center. A great value and super quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I toiled with the idea of writing a review purely on account of wanting to keep Sor Juana a secret but that would seem unfair to other travellers. I also wanted to exhaust the professionalism of Julio and Jimmena who were helpful from booking to paying attention to our every need during our five day stay. I felt looked after in a very positive way. Sor Juana does Antigua proud. The hotel has character and a deep sense of history within its walls. It has been thoughtfully decorated to a high standard and is both comfortable and enchanting. Other reviewers oh this site have felt the rooms lacked light. Personally I don't see this as a problem. Breakfast was served on a splendid roof terrace with amazing views to the surrounding volcanoes. The coffee flowed without prompting. Traditional breakfast served with a tropical twist. The secret is now out and I hope other travellers treat Sor Juana with the respect and kindness it deserves. Well done a highlight and place to return to in the future.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

During a week visit to Guatemala, we stayed at this charming little inn twice, both times in the same big comfortable room, #4. The atmosphere was charming; we particularly loved the open air roof terrace for breakfasts. Staff was accomodating, finding decaf coffee for us, for example, after we passed up the caffeinated variety! Location is perfect in that it is quiet but minutes away from the busier parts of Antiqua, including markets and restaurants. Only quibble is our room was very dark and could have used a few more lamps since natural lighting was scarce. However we appreciated the 17th century charm of an early convent.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra lamp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A wonderful place to call home while visiting Antigua! The staff is so friendly and accommodating, tending to your every need.

The rooms are well appointed, comforting and beautifully decorated. The rooftop patio is simply amazing and the breakfasts are fresh and yummy!

A great value for the quality!! Definitely stay here'

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Hotel
It's an Old convent that has been converted to a hotel, it is rich in history and the owners have done an excellent job of renovating/conversion. The location is an approx 8 min walk to parque central and approximately the same distance to some very good restaurants
Room
Simply superb. Very high end feel, good bed, flat screen tv. Bathroom amenities are very good, hot water is teally hot and the the shower pressure-strong The staff is very friendly and professional. Julio is an amazing person, he obviously loves the city and his hotel. Emilio was also very courteous.
Food
Breakfast is included and served on the terrace-an impressive setup. Variety in the breakfast choices are good.

Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sor Juana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sor Juana

Address: 4ta Calle Oriente #45, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sor Juana 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sor Juana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sor Juana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.