We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meson Panza Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Meson Panza Verde to your Saves list
Meson Panza Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Av Sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Killarney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Stayed in suite 5 for 3 nights and what a treat! The living room had a fireplace which was set and ready to go. There were candles around the room so very cozy. The bed was comfy and had a mosquito net. The bathroom was incredible. The decor was warm and the rooms very clean. Our suite also came with a hammock on the outside but that was fair game for anybody to use.
The downside of the room was that we had to keep the curtins of the livingroom closed as people walking to the galleries, the rooftop terrace and just mulling around could, and did, look in the window. The window of the bathroom connected it to the top of the kitchen, so a little noisy at times (also a little off putting when coping with a dodgy tummy).
The staff couldn't do enough for us and were always smiling especially the lady in the dining room for breakfast, (she carried the pots of coffee and hot water for refilling on her head).We were brought more bottles of water in the evenings and the reception staff were always on standby to organise shuttles or taxisfor the airport and other places.
The resturant was spectacular, we had friends over to join us for dinner and we all were really impressed by both the food and the setting. We ate out by the courtyard and the lighting was by candles. There was a Cuban jazz group on that night and the music was great in the background. The staff told us that if we wanted to hear the music fully then they could seat us in the room with the band (not good for hearing conversation) or if we wanted to avoid the music we could go to the diningroom. We had to book a table as it's one of the top resturants in Antigua. The tables were full every night.
The rooftop terrace had some great views of the city.
Overall a great hotel and an absolute treat to stay in. We loved it and it's possibly the best hotel we stayed in. Amazing value, perfect for couples who want to unwind and relax. A must!!!!!

  • Liked — Comfort and service
  • Disliked — The noise from the kitchen
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    46
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
179
20
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

We dined at the Panza Verde on Friday, April 4. Everything we ordered was wonderful. The bread basket accompanied by the rabbit pate, special cream cheese , butter, & spicy chives was fresh and a nice beginning to a great dinner. For appettizers my husband had the dozen escargot, I had the green salad with the cooked to perfection ahi tuna, both excellent. The wines were very good and well priced, the service and ambiance great. Music and open courtyard with many plants and candles. Our entrees, the salmon and the steak au pouvre were both outstanding.
We had a very nice evening!!!! Highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Liked — Wonderful food and wine.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

As very experienced travelers, we're pretty easy to please but hard to impress. Meson Panza Verde did both. We arrived without a reservation during a busy week, and the extremely helpful front desk staff worked it out for us. We had to change rooms (twice) but that was part of the fun! We moved from Suite 10 to 6 to 7. It might sound strange when you read these reviews that report on a specific room or suite, but each one is different and they all deserve a mention for their respective highlights. The beds were all comfortable and while we didn't need the fireplaces, they were charming and obviously functional.

Suite 10 was definitely the most private and the bathroom was spectacular. The tiled tub was huge and sunlight poured through little windows in a domed cupola. From the main room you could step out to a small balcony and look down over the little garden swimming pool.

Suite 6 was nice, too, and also had a big jet tub. This one had a private entrance off one of the little courtyards and it had a nice sized balcony.

Suite 7 was our favorite. It was definitely the noisiest room, being right outside the garden restaurant area, but that also made it fun. We napped to the sound of cutlery clinking after lunch and we listened to a little latin jazz from our hammock before going to bed that night.

Greenery and flowers were everywhere. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and they would speak English or Spanish to you, as patiently as you required...

We had a fantastic dinner at the restaurant one night and a lovely lunch as well. The food was prepared beautifully, and everything was cooked and served at perfect temperatures. We like to try different things so we explored the restaurants of Antigua and came up with a few other favorites as well as Panza Verde (Nokiate was exceptional and Sangre was worth a visit for lunch). We didn't try any of the many Italian or other continental/French restaurants (besides Panza Verde) but there were a lot of nice looking menus.

To be fair to the other hotels, we only peeked in to their courtyards (and the occasional open window). But we can't imagine a better place to stay in Antigua. Four thumbs up for service, food, rooms, etc., and four toes up for hammocks and beds.

  • Liked — Character of the rooms
  • Disliked — Slippery floors
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

We stayed one night in this inn. What a cute and romantic place! Stayed in suite 11, The room was very big and felt rustic but had everything you need. The tub was HUGE and overlooked the small pool. The breakfast was nice, continental but definitely enough to fill you up. We had dinner at the restuarant too. Excellent! And on the night we were there they had live jazz. We ate near the pool and when we went to bed we could still hear the jazz from our room (through the bathroom window). Roofdeck was also very nice, was very large. The night we were there there was an art showing with a reception on the roof.

I highly recommend this place as its is visually stunning and extremely romantic from the rooms to the restuarant to the roofdeck!

  • Liked — Loved the romantic but authentic feeling of the inn
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

Friends had recommended this small hotel to us, and as I was unable to get into Tripadvisor's top choice, we booked 3 nights here. What a wonderful place, it is probably the most memorable hotel we've ever stayed in! In fact we were able to return for a 4th night later in the trip, and it felt like coming home - to the home of our dreams. From the delicious breakfasts each morning to the totally personal yet professional attention from every staff member to the exquisitely furnished rooms with all the small details such as coffee makers etc., this is a place I will return to many times in my mind and one day would love to return in person. This may be the best hotel in Guatemala - certainly nothing else we stayed in came close.

  • Liked — It's privacy, luxury and comfort
  • Disliked — the interior lighting in the rooms wasn't always good for reading in bed
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Panza Verde during his first trip to Guatemala - my second. I had stayed at the PV previously during a trip with my parents, and knew that we just had to stay there. This property is so beautiful, that every corner you turn or staircase you climb reveals something new and lovely. We stayed in one of the suites, which had its own patio near one of the art galleries open to the public, but we never had issues with people being near our room. We think it was room #5. Our patio had a hammock along with a table and chairs where we could play cards and drink wine from the restaurant/bar downstairs, which is one of the best in Antigua, which you can read in the other reviews.

Be sure to have dinner on the nights which also have live jazz music as it is very romantic and memorable. Our meals (we had one dinner at the hotel) were fabulous from start to finish with a great wine list and many tempting entrees. Be sure to request a table near the band.

The location of the Panza Verde is good - you already know you will be doing a lot of walking in Antigua on the cobblestone streets and it is OK to not be right in the center of town although I will say that walking through the streets after dark was a little uncomfortable for us - it may be best to take a tuk tuk back to the hotel.

We stayed for 2 nights b/c even though we booked months in advance, the entire property was already booked on the 3rd night for a wedding. So we booked at the nearby Posada del Angel in order to not have to walk very far with our luggage (you will shop and purchase many things in Antigua). I will say this - we were very disappointed in the Posada after our 2 nights in our spacious suite at the Panza Verde, and the PV room was less expensive! I plan to write a review as to why the Posada did not measure up, but if you are planning to visit Antigua, you must stay at the Panza Verde, it is beautiful, small, and perfect in every way.

The breakfast was wonderful and there are several tables, so you dine in private with your partner, which is nice. There is a nice selection of basic breakfast foods to choose from.

Overall, you just can't go wrong with this hotel - we can't wait to come back. We went from Antigua to Lake Atitlan and stayed in Santiago Atitlan at the Posada de Santiago; I plan to write a review of this excellent location as well.

  • Liked — Beautiful room, private setting, small touches, great restaurant.
  • Disliked — Bring a small personal fan to circulate air in your room and prevent bugs.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Black Eddy, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

My husband & I stayed at the Panza Verde for three nights in May. The hotel was absolutely beautiful! We were in Suite 6, which had a bidet and a mosaic tiled bathtub that was big enough to swim in! We ate at the restaurant for their Sunday brunch and it was wonderful. We also came in late one evening and ordered dessert from the restaurant and they delivered it to our room which was very nice. The complimentary breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, homemade bread for toast, muffins, cheese, a breakfast tamale, cereal, and coffee and fresh squeezed juice.

The only negative part of our stay at the Panza Verde is that there is no air conditioning or fan in the room and there are no screens on the windows. We were told that it's generally not needed, but we were there at one of the hottest times of the year. The one night that we left the doors to our balcony open, the temperature in the room was fine, but we were eaten up by mosquitos! The next two nights we left the doors closed, but it was really too warm to sleep well.

  • Liked — Truly beautiful!
  • Disliked — No fan in the room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meson Panza Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Panza Verde

Address: 5 Av Sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#7 Family Hotel in Antigua
#9 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meson Panza Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn has nine suites and three double rooms. Just beyond the entrance, there is an inviting central garden and fountain surrounded by a veranda that is quintessential Antigua. Our restaurant is considered one of the finest in the country. Its reputation for "international cuisine with a twist" has made it a favorite with Guatemalans and international travelers alike. Many consider Meson Panza Verde to be the preferred destination for their stay in Beautiful Spanish Colonial Antigua, the land of eternal spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Meson Panza Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Panza Verde Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson Panza Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.