We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking---book here! "Magical"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meson Panza Verde

Save Saved
You added Meson Panza Verde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meson Panza Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Av Sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Tour tickets
Ranked #3 of 76 hotels in Antigua
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stop looking---book here! "Magical"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just back from our first time (and surely not our last) staying at the incomparable Meson Panza Verde. Wow. My engineer husband described it as magical---which says something! Smiling and transported back to---rooftop terraces, courtyards, in room fireplace, orchids on vines, candles, live music in "the Cave". Sounds of fireworks, birds, dogs,---real. Quiet, too. Deep relaxation. Artistic. Creative. Solid as a rock. Welcoming. Delicious food. 4 blocks from the square. And so accessible from the States! 3+ hour flight from Dallas, and an hour drive (hire a driver) from Guatemala City---and there you are, set back in time 600 years. Book now. You won't regret it! We know we'll be back---and bring family and friends. 10 very special rooms in paradise. Sounds like a drank the koolaid, I know. Nope. Just Blanca's Cafe con Leche in the morns--and toasting at night! (Say hi to Blanca for us!)

Room Tip: We loved #10. A suite with fireplace (with logs all set for us in advance) and 2 story vaulted bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    36
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
131
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Pros

1. Located on a quiet street.
2. 6 blocks from the main square, 10 min walk
3. Beautiful interiors
4. Warm and friendly staff. Our check in and out was smooth.
5. Suite 9: spacious, clean, king size bed, beautiful interiors with a fireplace and a private ivy covered courtyard. Room is located at the end of the restaurant and was fairly quiet. But with all such hotels located in old mansions the windows are single paned so you can hear dull ambient music or tv from the next room. But nothing loud.
6. Bathroom was huge and spectacular with a Jacuzzi and nice products.
7. Flat screen TV .
8. They serve dinner in the courtyard around the rooms. The ambience is very romantic especially if you have a table next to the lap pool. The food is fabulous; we ate all our dinners in the hotel. It may seem a little pricy but well worth the money. During our meals we noted many well heeled local couples on dates confirming our love for the ambience and the food.
9. There is a roof where you can carry your drinks and watch the volcano or use their yoga studio.

Cons
1. Not really a con, but would love an American breakfast included instead of the continental. This is a more of a suggestion.
2. Tips during dinner are charged to the room and are included. Would be nice if they mention this up front so you can avoid double tipping. But not a deal breaker.

Overall we would stay here again. Excellent property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you are a Boutique Hotel lover as we are, this is a must stop. Hotel rooms are beautifully decorated, restaurant has great food option and the hotel includes breakfast with room stay. Bring your camera you will love this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A very attractive hotel with an internal courtyard and lovely roof terrace with views of the volcano. Our room was quite small with a courtyard area with table and chairs. Sadly no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Free internet is always a plus. We ate dinner in the restaurant on our first night. The food was very good but quite expensive. Continental breakfast was buffet style. Well located, just a short walk from the centre of Antigua.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent one night in room #11. Everything is stunning, from the gardens and the courtyard to the rooftop. The room was beautiful, the bed comfortable, the bath you have to see.

This is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in.

Breakfast was simple continental affair. We did not dine in the dining room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel pays exceptional attention to Customer Service, has exquisite food and drink, and just beautiful rooms all around. Live music several nights a week and an art gallery upstairs so you can pick up something beautiful from your trip to Antigua, Guatemala.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had three nights at Panza Verde with my boyfriend. The first night was in room 11, a junior suite on the second floor at the back of the restaurant. My first impressions were that the restaurant seemed over dominating of the space - more of a restaurant with rooms. And it's true, a large percentage of the downstairs space is occupied by different sections of the restaurant. Even the swimming pool, (only wide enough for one) is lined by tables for the restaurant. I would have been very surprised to see anyone swimming in it in the mornings (as soon as lunch begins, the swimming pool is restricted) - but nonetheless, the rooms at the back of the building are ver special. The second room we took, on return from Lake Atitl
an was categorized as a maser suite - room 9 downstairs - and I can't recommend it enough. It has a small outside patio with fountain, with huge bathroom and bedroom- really good value, especially with the low season rate. Breakfast is included which bumps up the value.

The food wasn't as spectacular as it's reputation, the sauces a little too creamy and a little too salty on the few dishes i tried. Mediocre all around for the food (the best food we found in Antigua was at a restaurant Azul 39 - spectacular)

BUT this place is utterly fabulous in many ways, there are numerous private seating areas in the bar and restaurant, it's very cosy - the jazz nights are spectacular in La Cueva - especially Thursdays with Ignacio from the Buena Vista Social Club - worth the stay just for that.

Very accommodating staff - overall probably the best / most interesting place to stay in Antigua (we physically looked at about 10 spots when we first arrived and stayed at Casa Encantada on our first night which was great value for money)

Room Tip: Great wifi throughout, room 9 was my favourite for the outside privat.e courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meson Panza Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Panza Verde

Address: 5 Av Sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#6 Business Hotel in Antigua
#8 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meson Panza Verde 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn has nine suites and three double rooms. Just beyond the entrance, there is an inviting central garden and fountain surrounded by a veranda that is quintessential Antigua. Our restaurant is considered one of the finest in the country. Its reputation for "international cuisine with a twist" has made it a favorite with Guatemalans and international travelers alike. Many consider Meson Panza Verde to be the preferred destination for their stay in Beautiful Spanish Colonial Antigua, the land of eternal spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Meson Panza Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Panza Verde Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson Panza Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.