We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meson Panza Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Meson Panza Verde to your Saves list
Meson Panza Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Av Sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Middletown, Ohio, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent one night in room #11. Everything is stunning, from the gardens and the courtyard to the rooftop. The room was beautiful, the bed comfortable, the bath you have to see.

This is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in.

Breakfast was simple continental affair. We did not dine in the dining room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    38
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
152
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel pays exceptional attention to Customer Service, has exquisite food and drink, and just beautiful rooms all around. Live music several nights a week and an art gallery upstairs so you can pick up something beautiful from your trip to Antigua, Guatemala.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had three nights at Panza Verde with my boyfriend. The first night was in room 11, a junior suite on the second floor at the back of the restaurant. My first impressions were that the restaurant seemed over dominating of the space - more of a restaurant with rooms. And it's true, a large percentage of the downstairs space is occupied by different sections of the restaurant. Even the swimming pool, (only wide enough for one) is lined by tables for the restaurant. I would have been very surprised to see anyone swimming in it in the mornings (as soon as lunch begins, the swimming pool is restricted) - but nonetheless, the rooms at the back of the building are ver special. The second room we took, on return from Lake Atitl
an was categorized as a maser suite - room 9 downstairs - and I can't recommend it enough. It has a small outside patio with fountain, with huge bathroom and bedroom- really good value, especially with the low season rate. Breakfast is included which bumps up the value.

The food wasn't as spectacular as it's reputation, the sauces a little too creamy and a little too salty on the few dishes i tried. Mediocre all around for the food (the best food we found in Antigua was at a restaurant Azul 39 - spectacular)

BUT this place is utterly fabulous in many ways, there are numerous private seating areas in the bar and restaurant, it's very cosy - the jazz nights are spectacular in La Cueva - especially Thursdays with Ignacio from the Buena Vista Social Club - worth the stay just for that.

Very accommodating staff - overall probably the best / most interesting place to stay in Antigua (we physically looked at about 10 spots when we first arrived and stayed at Casa Encantada on our first night which was great value for money)

Room Tip: Great wifi throughout, room 9 was my favourite for the outside privat.e courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

While in Antigua we stayed at three different boutique Hotels. One was nicer then the next. The rooms at Panza Verde are beautiful - filled with antiques and well appointed. The out door areas are just as nice. The double rooms are huge and a good value. The restaurant and music are excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

All around fabulous food and atmosphere. Try the duck...or anything else on the menu. I did not stay here, but I will do so next time I go. I walked around the grounds and this place is one that seems to create instant relaxation.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This small hotel is tucked in the backstreets of El Antigua. It is absolutely fantastic. The rooms are beautiful and private, each decorated differently. The staff is friendly and personal. The restaurant received the Tenedor de Oro Award as best in the country. The prices are most reasonable for such a wonderful experience in a magic city. Also has an adjoining art studio managed by the hotel.

Room Tip: The Grand Suite will blow you away and the rate is very reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a great little hotel. It has a great on site restaurant with live latin music on some nights. The breakfast is basic but everything from the breads to the jams and juices are made fresh each day. They will make eggs for you but I have always been more than satisfied with the fresh fruit, juices, breads, cakes and teas.
The rooms have fireplaces and the gardens are beautiful. Make sure you get a suite. They are a lot larger, more private, and are worth the extra cost.
I have been visiting this wonderful property for the last seven years and one of the things I enjoy the most is seeing the same employees year after year. They are always willing to please and go overboard to make sure you have a great experience. I will be back next year.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suites. They cost a little more but are worth it. My preference is number 6. It ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meson Panza Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Panza Verde

Address: 5 Av Sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#5 Business Hotel in Antigua
#7 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meson Panza Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn has nine suites and three double rooms. Just beyond the entrance, there is an inviting central garden and fountain surrounded by a veranda that is quintessential Antigua. Our restaurant is considered one of the finest in the country. Its reputation for "international cuisine with a twist" has made it a favorite with Guatemalans and international travelers alike. Many consider Meson Panza Verde to be the preferred destination for their stay in Beautiful Spanish Colonial Antigua, the land of eternal spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Meson Panza Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Panza Verde Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson Panza Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.