We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meson Panza Verde

Save Saved
You added Meson Panza Verde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meson Panza Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Av Sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Tour tickets
Ranked #3 of 76 hotels in Antigua
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed in one of the junior suites, with a large patio looking out towards the mountains and a hot tub in the room. The entire hotel is very tastefully and elegantly decorated, a mix of antique finishes and contemporary art/photography. We spent few nights in the cosy bar by the fireplace, sampling the collection of mezcal after a day of sightseeing. The owner, a native of Colorado, greeted us one night and made sure everything was satisfactory.

The hotel also offers yoga and guided meditation classes, though we didn't find time to take advantage of them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    34
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
130
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with two friends. This hotel is very nice and I liked it a lot. The only thing I was lacking there wasin room service. I arrived at the hotel late at night, tired and hungry. I really didn't feel like going out, but room service was not available there. So, that's my only critisism.
The restaurant is very nice and it has awesome life music. The hotel also has beautiful swimming pool, but you can use only at certain hours.
The view from the terrace is gourgeous. they do have shuttle service to and from Guatemala City airport.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

With Live Music every night of our stay it was impossible to sleep before 10 PM. The downstairs rooms were literally in the restaurant and if people were at the table 6 inches from your door, you could hear everything! This hotel would have been OK without the Live Music. If you like quiet there are many other hotels in Antigua.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Meson Panza Verde has the nicest and most accomodating staff, but not surprisingly because Guatemalans in general are extremely nice people. The rooms are beautifully decorated and each a bit different. I was particulary impressed with the comfort of the bed which had super soft sheets and a wonderful clean fragrence. The bathroom was so beautiful it was actually fun to use! When the clouds are away the rooftop veranda has splendid views of the volcanoes and is a great place for drinks and relaxation. I think this hotel is actually a good value because a continental breakfast is included that is a real treat. Everything is homemade and so fresh. Fruit right from the trees and coffee grown in Antigua. As for the other two meals of the day, also delicious. La Cueva, Panza Verde's bar has fantastic live music many nights of the week. This hotel is among the best you will find in it's category in the world.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The only thing i regret is that we only had 2 days to stay there. If i ever find myself in Antigua Guatemala - there is no doubt this would be the place for me!

We didn't book in advance and just walked in - and it was love at 1st sight... The restaurant in the garden, the amazing junior suite of 2 rooms with its regal bathroom and beautiful patio, we just had to stay.
And we didn't even know about the rooftop terrase, which we discovered in the morning - with the stunning morning viewes of the volcanos (before the clouds cover them). The breakfast is superb, with the delightful Blanca Estella (?), helpful and extremely pleasant breakfast staff.
The decor both in the rooms and of the common area is one of the best i have ever seen. Elegant and classy, without going over the top.
There is free wifi and a computer for the use of guests. There is an art gallery. Works of art are also scattered around the compund. There are morning Yoga classes for the interested guests. And the gourmet restaurant is very good, with live music Jazz / Blues performances on several evenings of the week.

I VERY rarely write reviews of hotels, as most places are OK but "nothing to write home about"... Well - this one definitely is! Everything was superb!

Thank you again for the most amazing ending of our 2 months Central American honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Myself and my husband booked 4 nights at the Meson Panza Verde in September to have a bit of luxury at the start of our honeymoon in Central America. The hotel is absolutely stunning and has so much character and charm it is difficult to believe it was built fairly recently.

We booked suite 7 to have the views over the Agua Volcano, the room itself it a bit set back from the others which gave you a much more private setting. The suite was large and cosy with an open fire, luxurious bathroom, fresh flowers and the most amazing complimentary hotel coffee I've ever had. We saved some of the packs to take home with us! The amazing breakfast was typically Guatemalan and the lady serving it was friendly.

The location was fine for us as it was a bit set back from the main strip of bars and restaurants, but there isn't much around the hotel. On one exceptionally rainy night we couldn't get very far on foot, however taxis are so cheap it doesn't really matter.

All in all - fab!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed two nights with my wife before moving on across the country. This was an oasis for us that provided a spectacular setting for a romantic weekend. Great atmosphere, service, and food. Very quiet..sometimes felt that we were the only ones around when wandering around the property, especially on the rooftop. Our first time in Antiqua was remembed fondly, and a big part of that is because we really enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want (romance, quiet, etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meson Panza Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Panza Verde

Address: 5 Av Sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#6 Business Hotel in Antigua
#9 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meson Panza Verde 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn has nine suites and three double rooms. Just beyond the entrance, there is an inviting central garden and fountain surrounded by a veranda that is quintessential Antigua. Our restaurant is considered one of the finest in the country. Its reputation for "international cuisine with a twist" has made it a favorite with Guatemalans and international travelers alike. Many consider Meson Panza Verde to be the preferred destination for their stay in Beautiful Spanish Colonial Antigua, the land of eternal spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Meson Panza Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Panza Verde Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson Panza Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.