We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful B&B across from one of the finest ruins in Antigua” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Capuchinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Capuchinas to your Saves list
Casa Capuchinas
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Avenida Norte 7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 100 Antigua B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madrid
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“beautiful B&B across from one of the finest ruins in Antigua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is a series of spaceous rooms around a lovely garden. We had room number 2 at the left hand side of the entrance gate (you need to ring, and somebody comes to open the gate for you, so it´s very safe and separate from the "outside world") and had only some noise on Saturday evening, when a wedding party took place in the Capuchinas ruins across the street. Beds are comfortable and huge (most of the double beds in Guatemala are really wide singles, the double beds here are like twice the width of the former). Breakfast is included and was very good quality. Manager very friendly (we booked through booking.com and due to changeing travel plans, we contacted him to stay in the hotel one day earlier, which wasn´t a problem; he also arranged the taxi to the airport the day we left, and got our breakfast early). Toiletries provided, as well as fresh bottles of purified water, and coffee, so you can prepare yourself a filter coffee in your room. Things we thought could be better : bathroom (of room2 at least) not quite living up to the standard of the room and its furniture, and wifi signal - as the router is on the balcony where breakfast is taken - too weak to have a good connection in our room.

Room Tip: rooms apart from main building are probably quieter, while wifi signal is only good in rooms in main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro R, Propietario at Casa Capuchinas, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We strive to give our guests the best possible service. So glad you liked Casa Capuchinas, your home away from home! Please come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a great B&B. We stayed there for a couple of Nights. It's a quiet place and the rooms are charming with comfortable beds. In the morning they make your breakfast to order. The options are not many, but it's good food. Very pacific.

Room Tip: Ask if you can look around the rooms (there are only 9 I think) and see if they let you choose the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in Casa Capuchinas last week. The Guest House - I would not call it a Hotel - was full of character and the garden is pleasant but the service is bad - no English is spoken - and the rooms are very noisy - there are iron works nearby and the hammering starts very early in the morning. We discovered ants or wild-life of some sort (I was assured they were NOT bed bugs because we could see them) in our bed and on our mattress and when we drew attention to this the matter was very badly handled by the manager. I could not recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful accommodations, great service. Breakfast was wonderful each morning. Felt spoiled staying there. Rooms spacious and very attractive. Highly suggest for short or extended stay. I was with a group and we had the entire place. Eating establishments walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here because it was dog-friendly, and our little pup enjoyed the enclosed courtyard. The rooms are all different and beautifully furnished. The beds were comfortable and the shower was hot. The only problem was that we had quite a few mosquitoes in the room. They don't have enclosed parking, but we were able to park right out front and the night watchman stood right there all night.

Room Tip: The upper-level large suites are nicer. One in particular has an amazing bathroom, a sitting area, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a quiet part of Antigua. All the rooms are large and different and furnished with eclectic old furniture.
The big courtyard is delightful for relaxing in. The breakfast is ample and served in the courtyard.
The staff didn't speak english so that might be a problem for some travelers. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed in a lovely room at Casa Capuchinas. It was large, well-ventilated, and the bed was especially comfortable. It looked out onto the hotel's beautiful interior garden. However . . . I could hear every word, every cough, and every cry of the baby in the room next door. I was just lucky it was a crying baby and her parents trying to console her, and not a honeymooning couple, that I was listening to. I asked to be switched to another room, but no others were available. When I made the reservation, I had specifically asked for a quiet room, but maybe all of the rooms have thin walls. Casa Capuchinas is in a nice part of town, slightly removed from the hustle and bustle of streets immediately surrounding the Parque Central. The breakfast each morning in the garden was delicious, and really my only complaint is about the thin walls between rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Capuchinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Capuchinas

Address: 2 Avenida Norte 7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Capuchinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Capuchinas is a Colonial style hotel in central Antigua Guatemala, overlooking the impressive ruins of Capuchinas, one of the oldest and best preserved monuments of Antigua. Known for our clean, quiet, comfort and gracious style, each oversized guest room is designed to suit the needs of both the business and the leisure traveler.Casa Capuchinas is a wonderful colonial home turned into a charming Bed and Breakfast. All our rooms feature antiques, local handicrafts and weavings. Private bath, direct dial phone, cable tv, coffeemaker and fireplace are a standard at Casa Capuchinas. Come and relax reading a good book in our perfectly manicured gardens or just lay down and listen to he birds and the wind telling you the endless stories of Antigua Guatemala.All Guests are invited to Join us for breakfast and enjoy the warm, soothing and friendly atmosphere. The intimate yet casual atmosphere of our house is the perfect place to relax and start your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Capuchinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Capuchinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.