We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, clean and confortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Jorge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added San Jorge Hotel to your Saves list
San Jorge Hotel
4th Avenue No. 13 | 4th Avenue South No. 13 Antigua Guatemala, Antigua 03301, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Safe, clean and confortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here in August 2006 with a grad school group. Less than 15 rooms. Locked gate so you feel safe and can sleep with your bedroom window wide open at night if you want. Beautiful fountain, roses and flowers are in the center of the hotel grounds. Staff are super friendly and non-intrusive. Breakfast is big and delicious and you dine in the gardens. It's lovely. Close walk to center of town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
14
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were 4 couples of friends, and we stayed in this beautiful hotel, it was an very good and wonderful experience, with clean, comfortable and attractive rooms without such a luxury that is popular in many other hotels in this beautiful city, all very comfortable and very well located; near the center but away from the noise of the city. You can sit and read in the garden with the beautiful sound source and the singing of the birds who visit the beautiful garden, enjoying the spring weather, we did some tours that they arranged for us at the hotel an,also enjoyed a delicious breakfast, every day had a surprise scrumptious, we travel to other towns and different places leaving our luggage at San Jorge which is like our home, we were treated very well and the service is excellent.We recommend to all people who wish to stay in a lovely place without paying for anything special, and also we would come back. Thanks to all the staff and family of San Jorge

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while in Antigua. The staff is wonderful, the garden beautiful,and the free breakfast is great, especially the yogurt and granola! What we enjoyed most was the quiet...it's hard to find such a peaceful place at reasonable prices. The rooms are a bit small, but who comes to Antigua to stay in the hotel room?

Only one request - PLEASE buy a bigger cage for your beautiful parrot. He needs room to move around!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is very home like. The grounds are surrounded by beautiful gardens and a friendly parakeet. The staff is fantastic, friendly and super hospitable. The room is fairly basic but you really wouldn't stay at a place like this for the rooms but rather the experience. Muy excelente. It is also conveniently located in Antigua's main square.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quadra Island BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is a good bet if you enjoy birds, a restful fountain and flower gardens. The staff and owners are friendly and quite helpful. We used the hotel as our location from which we explored Guatemala returning twice, during a 4 week trip, to recharge our energy.
The included breakfast was near perfect, as it was the same as I prepare for myself in Canada, yogurt, fruit, toast, strawberry jam, coffee and juice. Rooms are clean and neat but carpeted. I prefer tile floors rather than a wall to wall carpet, as carpets tend to wear and loose their appeal detracting from the accommodation. The original paintings hung on the walls are really quit nice. Third world countries can be trying if you must have a hot shower rather than a warm one everyday. It was a throw of the dice for hot, warm or cool water as electricity is expensive. A sense of humor will help, if the shower head leaks and squirts you in front of the mirror. We'll return to this hotel because of the beautiful quiet garden environment, clean rooms, good breakfast, and great staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I enjoyed my night at San Jorge Hotel. I had just 24 hrs to visit Antigua and wanted a quick overnight getaway. I decided to stay a few blocks away from the main square ... quiet and convenient. The hotel is very comfortable and clean. I stayed in a double room with two large beds, a bathroom with full bath, TV with cable, closet, fireplace, etc. The garden is beautiful and there's a very picturesque view of the volcano behind the hotel. The continental breakfast was delicious, the staff are helpful, and I felt safe as a single female traveler. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from the gate and office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and peaceful. We had a double room with two large beds, a bathroom with full bath, small TV with cable, closet, etc. The room and entire hotel were very clean. When we arrived they gave us free water bottles and there was a large container of purified water available for refills in the hall. (You can't drink the tap water in Guatemala.) The garden is beautiful. The continental breakfast was delicious and the coffee was the best we had in Guatemala. The hotel is a few blocks away from the main plaza but far enough to be quiet.

The staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Evelyn and her son Jorge speak English and are very friendly, and Mercedes was very helpful in arranging a shuttle for us to another city.

FYI, if you're going straight to Antigua from the airport in Guate, just look for the Turansa shuttles (small vans) outside the exit (or ask Information to point you in the right direction, though they are right outside the door) and get on a shuttle. They wait a few minutes for about 4-5 people to get in the shuttle, it costs $10 per person and they drop you right at your hotel.

Shared shuttle to Panajachel is $22 from Guate airport, $12 pp from Antigua (pick up at your hotel), you can ask the hotel to arrange it for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Jorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jorge Hotel

Address: 4th Avenue No. 13 | 4th Avenue South No. 13 Antigua Guatemala, Antigua 03301, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Jorge, Colonial is a brief interview in this beautiful and historic city,very close to the center but away from the noise and bustle, where you can relax, and enjoy a good book,a glass of wine or simply a pleasant talk with friends or family in our cozy garden there each morning you awaken the birds with their beautiful songs and enjoy the breakfast that is served at the Hotel between flowers,birds and butterflies. We are a comfortable and safe hotel, to enjoy as a couple, with friends, retired persons,or for business reasons. This is the ideal place to relax and explore the city and its surroundings, enjoy the scenery without paying high prices, we are competitive,and the best , you'll be delighted with our service, we are waiting for you!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your San Jorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Jorge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.