We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta de las Flores

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta de las Flores
Calle del Hermano Pedro 6, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 hotels in Antigua
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stunning gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the beginning of our central american adventure.
It was a real treat! The room was comfortable and spacious and the breakfast (although not included) was yummy!
The gardens are simply stunning and one evening we spent an hour watching Volcan Fuego spewing lava! Amazing.
The room was rather pricey but worth it for a treat!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    29
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
59
58
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Me and Helen stayed at this place for 3 nights at the beginning of our holiday. A perfect way to start the holiday. The staff were lovely and prepared fires, brought beers and served excellent food. The restaurant menu is a little limited but we still enjoyed it two nights running (and then had a lovely meal in Bistrot Cinq.
It's just on the corner of Antigua and everything is well within walking distance. You are safe behind big walls, so if you are worried by Guatemala's reputation (we found it to be fine) then it's a lovely fortress. Great grounds, lovely pool with hammocks and really big rooms (we took one of the bigger ones in the grounds) with a great shower and fire. Lovely cool and comfortable.
We walked home in the dark with no trouble. Just be sure not to carry too much weatlh and look conspicuous.

Room Tip: I'd say get one in the grounds but it could be best just to check it out if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for three nights during a visit to Antugua. It's a five minute walk from the Central Park, and is very secluded and quiet. The room was very clean and well-kept, including good (if occasionally intermittent) wifi. Staff were extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful - they even stayed late to prepare dinner for us when we arrived from Guat City, at no extra cost and without a grumble. Food well-priced and tasty by Guatemalan standards. The gardens and pool are a great selling-point, and together with everything else more than justify the slightly higher-than-standard tariff. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I echo all the prior reviews. Stayed here for 3 nights in a 2-bedroom casita. Ample-sized rooms, very clean rooms, friendly staff, fresh-laid fire every night. The grounds are very nice. As mentioned, about a 10-15 minute walk from Parque Central and agree that it's a nice daytime walk but you're pushing your luck to walk it after dark.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The gardens are amazing! We stayed in a 'casita' which had a living room with fireplace (we had a fire 2 nights), dining room, kitchen, two bedrooms and one and a half bathrooms. We also had a lovely balcony off of our bedroom that overlooked the gardens, a small patio with a hammock out the front door and a second private patio with an outdoor grilling area out the back door. The entire place was lovely. We thought it was an excellent value. The restaurant was not our favorite in Guatemala, but the food was good and very reasonable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We walked throughout the city using Quinta de las Flores as our home base. It may not be the most centrally located lodging, but it is certainly convenient.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was a very nice hotel, with amazing gardens set on the outskirts of the city. I found the walk to the center plaza to be fine, but I didn't do it in the middle of the night. Breakfast is not included, but very fairly priced. Hotel has 3 fast internet stations, and a nice pool. Water pressure could be better, of course, but I found this hotel to be a better place to stay than La Catedral, despite La Catedral's better location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

It seems much of the beauty of Antigua is hidden behind the endless rose and yellow walls of the city. Quinta de las Flores is no exception. It's a magically lush acre filled with trees, plants, flowers, sculptures as well as numerous water features. It's quiet and cool and the air seems fresher than normal. The staff is great and there is always someone working, trimming, pruning, planting. There's a small pool and a restaurant where the food is decent but I don't suggest the burgers. Internet is always available by the office or restaurant and if your room is close enough to either you're fine. Bottled water comes to your room as needed and at no charge. The rooms are pleasant but simple, water pressure in the shower could be better but all in all I have only wonderful memories.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta de las Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta de las Flores

Address: Calle del Hermano Pedro 6, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Antigua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Quinta De Las Flores Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta de las Flores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Quinta de las Flores to your Saves list