We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and attention to detail!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada del Angel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Posada del Angel to your Saves list
Posada del Angel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   4a. Avenida Sur #24A, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and attention to detail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My mother and I were rescued by the Posada del Angel when the hotel we had booked cancelled our reservation last minute. They arranged transportation to and from the airport which was totally reliable (even though our plane was an hour late due to weather). The hotel was gorgeous, candles everywhere, and beautiful furnishings. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was quiet...it's hard to even call this a hotel because it was more like coming home every evening. There were some glass tiles in the ceiling and the room was a little bright in the morning, so my mom and I decided to cover them with the patio furniture above. The next day, we noticed that the hotel staff had noticed what we had done and had used some larger tiles to more completely cover the openings! Breakfast every morning with the beautiful backdrop of the volcano was amazing - fresh fruit, delicious tea and french press coffee and then wonderful eggs, french toast, etc. I can't say enough about how we were treated and the beautiful atmosphere, as well as the convenient location to the rest of this beautiful city!

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautiful. The bathroom in the bird room was smaller than the others we saw but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    11
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
63
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is truly one of a kind. The rooms are uniquely appointed and the beds are super comfortable. The place is immaculate. Breakfast (delicious) on the rooftop deck facing the volcano is a great experience. The hotel was very helpful in arranging transfers and tours (offering various options based on budget and level of adventure). We will definitely recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family. The staff is very nice and accommodating. Thank you!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have been living in hotels for the past 2.5 years and this is one of my top 3 hotels world wide. President Bill Clinton stayed here on the last US president visit to Guatemala. The ambience of the hotel is what makes it so great. The rooms are traditional and the staff adds to the charm of this little hotel. You feel as if you have entered the garden of Eden when you come inside the doors of this hotel. There is a fire place inside your room, beautiful terrace where you eat your traditional yet very delicious breakfast. The staff treat you as if you have been living at the hotels for years and they pay great attention to your habits and likes and dislikes. It is located in a very peaceful part of Antigua yet very close walking distance to the center of town. You havea a great view of the volcano from the terrace as you eat breakfast. The hotel at night is very charming with floor candles lighting your way to your room and freshly burning wood fireplace heating you at night. Would highhly recommend it for couples celebrating something special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This posada..is amazing, intimate,classic elegance the moment you enter !!! The entire staff are so caring, so informitive...the rooms are so beautiful..the fireplace is inviting..we stayed for 3nites and enjoyed a superb daily breakfast on the roof top terrace in front of the volcanos..Everyone was more than willing to suggest local interests,resturants,banks....make local phone calls for you..set up anything you requested....We were treated like royalty,and yet at the same time felt like family....

Room Tip: All rooms are deluxe, and each has a unique flare !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This property has everything we look for while on vacation. We secured the Mary Sue Suite and were extremely impressed. All aspects from the comfort of the bed, high quality of the furnishings, sheets, in room fireplace, amazing bathroom, and private interior patio made this one of the best rooms I have ever booked. Anibal and his staff covered every need and the daily breakfast service was a top notch gastronomic experience. Anibal arranged a three hour walking tour with a guide named Roberto which I highly recommend. We usually take this type of tour on the first day of our trip to get an overview of the surroundings which usually helps ensure the remaining days are well planned. Roberto gave us great advice and spoke very good English. Anibal also arranged a 1/2 day hike up the Pacaya Volcano and a full day trip to the Tikal Mayan ruins. Tikal requires air reservations which the hotel also conviently arranged. We fell in love with Antiqua and with the Posada del Angel and staff. We also enjoyed shopping at Coleccion 21 on 2nd Ave for amazing antiques and service.

Room Tip: The Mary Sue Suite was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkpl
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I just stayed at the Posada. As I was traveling alone and female, it made me kind of nervous that my tour operator put me here. But once in my small cozy room, and with the friendly staff, all that was forgotten. It is about a 4 or 5 block walk to the main plaza but I found this to be good as there was less noise on the street.
All the streets are cobbled in Antigua so make sure you wear good walking shoes as there are seldom sidewalks so waking on these cobbles is necessary. I turned my ankle several time in walking around.
Any way, although the Posada doesn't have a restaurant, it includes a full breakfast. You can ask for almost anything and they have it for you. In the small living room or lounge, they will bring you a cocktail in the afternoon and snacks and they also told me that if I wanted to order a meal in, that they would do that too if I just let them know ahead of time.
My favorite room was No. 6 which was a small Jr. suite with a small living room with a fireplace (all rooms have fireplaces) and a wonderful huge bathroom. Most of the beds in this Posada are queens with canopies.
I could not see the Master Suite (located on the rooftop amidst a beautiful rose garden) as it was occupied.
Rooms are small..but then who needs anything else? One word of caution...due to the small size of these rooms, please note that the small fireplace in each room will really heat up quickly. You may need to open the windows as it can get toasty with the fire going.
This is a beautiful romantic hotel with only 7 rooms, but well worth the attention to detail and the cozy warm feel.

Room Tip: Room 6 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was our first stop after a 12+4 hrs travel from HK via LAX to Guatemala city + 2 hrs drive to Antigua.

We felt very welcomed and cared for starting from the most friendly check-in. We were offered a room to refresh and rest at (arrived at 9am), and complimentary parking across the street.

The hotel location is great- a straight 5 min. walk onto the central plaza yet far enough from the bustle of the town centre to provide a tranquil environment.

All rooms are very good - well designed, thoughfully equiped and quiet, only the yellow room is right allong the hallway and next to the kitchen, so may not be suitable for a sensitive sleeper. The beds are soft and comfortable and the bed sheets are of the smoothest cotton.

All the staff were nice and smily, friendly and helpful, especially Anidab (if I remember his name correctly).

All of the above plus a quality hearty breakfast, tranquil environment and sun-tanning on the roof top terrace helped us to recover from a severe jet lag/ fatigue and prepare us for our 2 weeks trip through Central America.

Thank you for professionalism and genuine hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Angel

Address: 4a. Avenida Sur #24A, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada del Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Angel, pioneer of the boutique hotel concept in Antigua Guatemala, is a colonial inn par excellence. This elegant boutique hotel, winner of the 2007 Andrew Harper hideaway report, is recognized world-wide by its 7 personalized suites (each with a good burning fire place) and high quality/first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Posada del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Angel Hotel Antigua
Posada Del Angel Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada del Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.