We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, close to the plaza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aurora Hotel to your Saves list
Aurora Hotel
4a Calle Oriente 16, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent place, close to the plaza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent 6 nights here split between trips to Tikal and atitlan. I loved the colonial charm, the warm and helpful staff, and the great location. It's just a few minutes from the plaza and close to a lot of shops including an excellent local sweet shop across the street and choco museo few doors away. Close to a lot of cafes and restaurants too. Kid friendly. Kitchen staff was great too. The have a shared fridge and microwave which is great. The only thing to watch out for is that the continental breakfast is kind of light. But the extras are pretty reasonably priced so not a big concern.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    58
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
68
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent three nights at Hotel Aurora and enjoyed our stay. Our bed was comfortable and the room was large with older furnishings. We had a room right on the street but were not bothered by any noise. The breakfast in a cold continental breakfast with granola, yogurt, fruit coffee and tea. The location of the hotel is very convenient for sightseeing in Antigua.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overveen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here (2 families) in July 2011. We were lucky having a huge family room (#3?) near the quiet part of the hotel (near the reception & breakfast room). Breakfast is OK, service is fine, but most likeable of all is the picturesque hacienda style of the hotel. And of course the location, since it is near the Zócalo and some fine restaurants. Would recommend this place!

Room Tip: as stated before: however streetside rooms are OK too, you'd better arrange a room near the rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Lovely hotel within easy walking distance of the main attractions of Antigua. Our room opened on the beautiful courtyard with covered walkways surrounding. Nice simple breakfast each morning. Great value; would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Only stayed here one night as we changed our travel plans. The setting of the rooms is beautiful, all surrounding a gorgeous courtyard and the room we were given was by far the biggest we had throughout our time in Guatemala. Everything within the room was nice, but it just felt like something was missing. The staff at breakfast were quite rude and too busy to assist us, and the inclusive continental breakfast required lots of questions on our part before any bread appeared. The staff seemed far happier trying to get you to order additional items that had to be paid for. We had originally asked for an early breakfast so we could do the 6am Pacaya volcano tour and were told this would cost an additional 4USD per person. Given the cost of ther hotel and the type of breakfast served, providing some fruit and bread at 5.30am certainly would not justify the extra cost.

We also found the room quite noisy as groups of other residents would congregate in the seating area outside our window and chat loudly, oblivious to the other guests staying in the rooms.

The Aurora is a perfectly satisfactory hotel but in my opinion does not justify the high ratings. We subsequently move to the D’Leyenda hotel which was superior on every level

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Really nice hotel at reasonable prices. Friendly staff and a lovely courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great location -- just a few blocks to Central Park. The street it's on, 4th Calle Oriente, is in the high-rent district, with some of Antigua's pricier shops and more chic restaurants. I've stayed here twice and enjoyed it both times. The rooms are large, the place is clean, and the bathrooms are roomy. There's a lovely courtyard, and the front gate stays locked at all times (they buzz you in). There's also a parking lot. The continental breakfast is a bit meager, so if you want something more substantial, go down the street to Dona Luisa's, the best breakfast in la Antigua (and very affordable). Be aware that the rooms that face 4th Calle can be very very loud, since the road leads directly out of town, so you might want to ask for something in the back.

Room Tip: Room 20 is in the rear, so you can avoid the street noise. It's a little bit dark, but the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: 4a Calle Oriente 16, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#19 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel, located 3 blocks away from the Central Plaza.Cozy with an affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Aurora Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.