We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blissful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aurora Hotel to your Saves list
Aurora Hotel
4a Calle Oriente 16, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“blissful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

We stayed here a few years ago and it was wonderful. The highlight of our stay was breakfast in the lovely courtyard garden - a haven of peace and quiet, with beautifully tended flower beds and gurgling fountain. Perfect before setting out to discover the delights of Antigua.

  • Liked — the courtyard garden
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    58
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
68
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

My whole family found this colonial hotel to be ideal. It was secure, private, peaceful and friendly. My family felt safer in this hotel than other ones during our stay, especially with our daughters of 11 and 5 years old. It also provided a secure parking lot for our rental car. The entrace is secure, especially because it is not shared with any restaurants like other hotels in the area. We were also glad that many restaurants and attractions started with in the same block and at about 2 block of many other attractions.

  • Liked — colonial style and security
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

A perfect place to stay in Antigua. 2 blocks from the central plaza, and an easy walk to everything in town. The hotel kindly sent a driver to pick us up at the Guatemala City airport. Behind the large wooden door fronting the street, we entered a lovely garden oasis, with plants, flowers, and haging vines surrounding a central fountain. Our room was clean and had a large, soft king bed, with a simple but very clean bathroom. Thick windows and shutters blocked the street noise outside our window. However, the courtyard outside our door seemed to echo and magnify the sounds of noisy hotel guests outside. Breakfast is included, and is yummy! The hotel is nonetheless a restful retreat after a day of exploring the City. I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Location location location
  • Disliked — Echoing sounds from the courtyard
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

I was a Peace Corps Volunteer from 84-86 in Guatemala. While my stipend was too low to afford the Aurora as a volunteer, I have always stayed here over the years since my PC experience. It is my favorite hotel in Antigua, and I've stayed at many. Now if there was a way to stop the busses honking their horns at 6 am every morning so you could sleep later!!

  • Liked — Atmosphere and architecture
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

Stayed here for a few nights in the summer of 2006. Great place. Very friendly people. We had to get up at 5am to make our flight from guatemala city to Tikel and the night staff had a simple bagged breakfast ready for us.

In the evening, the garden is a great spot to kick back on the lounge chairs with a cigar and a bottle of wine.

Will absolutly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

The Aurora is the oldest hotel in Antigua. The spacious rooms (ours accommodated 4 comfortably) are built around a beautiful courtyard with a fountain in the center and shady verandas on all sides. A continental breakfast (fruit plate or fresh-squeezed OJ, toast with butter & jam, tea or coffee) is served on the veranda; for an additional cost, other options are available too. We had 4 children in our group, and this large courtyard was a great, safe place for them to run around (carefully). The staff was very accommodating. The location is excellent, just a few blocks away from Parque Centrale.

  • Liked — The beautiful courtyard
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern lower Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

This place was recommended by a friend.
Very pretty-big rooms, good breakfast. No internet as power had been out. Very nice staff.
Would stay at again!

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: 4a Calle Oriente 16, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#17 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel, located 3 blocks away from the Central Plaza.Cozy with an affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Aurora Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.