We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous colonial/museum house in Antigua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Popenoe

Casa Popenoe
6ta. Calle Oriente, No. 16 la Antigua Guatemala, Antigua, Guatemala
+502 2413 3258
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 78 things to do in Antigua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Casa Popenoe appeals to the inquiring mind. It prompts us to ask questions about ideas, about passion, about commitment; about history, art, science, beauty, austerity, proportion. What role does each play in human development? In the development of civilization?
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous colonial/museum house in Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Absolutely fabulous 18th century house/museum in Antigua Guatemala with an exquisite collection of colonial art. Contact the Casa Popenoe to see this - well worth a visit!

Visited September 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully preserved, an educational and charming place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Casa Popenoe showcases Antigua's last 400 years. Universidad Francisco Marroquín has done a great job in tracing back the true story of the house. Highly recommended.To make a reservation: call (+502) 2338-7959 or write to casapopenoe@ufm.edu

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awsome travel in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Casa Popenoe allows the visitor to peak in the intimacy of a XVIII Century household. One travels in time....a very educational and fun trip indeed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Step back a couple of hundred years ago.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Almost completely restored. Maybe the best part of this was the university that has taken it over, ?Maraquin?, has spent a significant amount of time getting the story right. Go walk through history. Well worth the Q40.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmito, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not Open”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My visit did not occur. I wanted to visit the Casa and when I walked over to its location I found posted on the door a notice informing people that the Casa was only open for group tours. Since I was traveling solo at the time this left me out. My guidebooks both indicated something differently, but the reality was quite different. The door was closed and only groups will be able to get in.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Popenoe also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Casa Popenoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Popenoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.