We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo to your Saves list
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5ta Avenida Norte 17, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Don Rodrigo on numerous occasions and am always impressed by the beauty of the place. This visit I and my buddy (who travel to Antigua after fishing in Puerto San Jose) were given room 102 which turned out to be on the side street next to the hotel. The noise was disturbing and we were gladly and expeditiously moved first thing the next morning. (If you are a light sleeper avoid the exterior rooms to the right side of the court yard.)
As I am a frequent visitor I also negotiated a discount and the comp breakfast. ( try the macadamia pancakes and the fruit plate both are magnificant!)
Centrally located, helpful and friendly staff, in house travel agent to book tours and trips to Guat airport and MAGNIFICANT courtyards with birds and flowers!!
I'll stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 102! Noisy from street noise. Rooms 109-112 are smaller but much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are honored to hear that everything met your expectations at your visit to our hotel... It is clients like yourself that keeps us motivated to improve in any way we can. Please feel free to make more reviews or suggestions. Thank you once again for taking the time to write and hope to serve you in the near future! Macadamian pancakes and fruit platter will be awaiting for you!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    86
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
71
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Excellently situated hotel with a very nice staff. This is the sister hotel of the one by the same name in Panajachel so we negotiated free breakfast and a 10% discount since we stayed with the brand 5 nights. The restaurant was good for breakfast but expensive for snacks and drinks on the terrace.

Only negative was an $8 charge for a quick call to Guatemala City.

Very clean, plenty of hot water, real old world colonial charm.

White Listed

White Listed = I'll Go Back
Black Listed = I'll Never Go Back
Gray Listed = 1 More Chance

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are very pleased to hear that you choose both of our hotels for your stay in Guatemala... And happy that your stay was pleasant one. However I am so sorry for the $8 charge for that phone call, I will see what happened and will contact you with a response to that. We hope to serve you in the near future and if you could provide me with an email address to contact you.
Thank you once again!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Lovely place they included breakfast for us....just ask! Fabiola at the front desk works all the time she is very friendly and speaks great English. The grounds are beautiful the rooms are bigger the farther back the quieter although we were in the front and it was kinda fun to be in on the action in the street. The room keys are big old and fun. I would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!!!
We are honored to have guests like yourself with such good reviews. Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo would be thrilled to have you again. If you need any information or would like to come again soon, please feel free to contact us! reservas@posadadedonrodrigo.com

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel was in a great location - easy walking to many places in Antigua (a fabulous town). The staff was very friendly and helpful - BUT - before you check into your room, you might want to check it out, because there is a corridor of rooms that has windows onto the street and it is like staying at a truck stop. VERY noisy. Our party had two rooms -the other room didn't have street noise,but people stayed up late and talked LOUDLY at the charming seating areas that were all over.

Other than that, beds were comfy enough - hot running water - worth a stay.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in rooms with windows on the the busy street. VERY loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!
We are very sorry to hear that your room was noisy, this is something we are working on, since we already installed sound-proof windows but they are obviosly not working. Thank you for letting us know, we will take matter into our hands. Other than that we are pleased to hear that everything else met your expectations! Hope to serve you in the near future!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Posada de Don Rodrigo for a weekend. It was our first time in Antigua and the hotel was ideally located in the centre, near bars and restaurants and a very short and easy walk from the main square, catherdral and convent. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly and helpful, we had breakfast in the hotel and it was excellent, served on a lovely veranda and with plenty of choice. The rooms are set round internal coutryards, ours was decorated in a traditional colonial style, it was a good size with solid wood furniture and a modern bathroom. The hotel itself was a calm oasis with lovely courtyards brimming with flowers and fountains. Our room backed on to the main street, which was pedestrianised for the weekend. We didn't mind the street marimba player who set up outside our window, but if you did want a quiet siesta I can see the marimba and drums that played from midday to about 5-6pm might be an issue! Overall I would thoroughly recommend the Posada de Don Rodrigo, it was the nicest, friendliest and most characterful hotel we stayed in during our visit in Guatemala.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the street also face the weekend street marimba players, avoid if you thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
FIrst of all thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very pleased to hear that everything met your expectations. We strive every day to give out only the best quality in food and service to clients like yourself. Please let us know when your next visit will be so we can arrange a trip to Panajachel and you can stay at our Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel too. Thank you once again for your preference and time!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I can honestly say that I do a lot of travelling, but I do not frequent a lot of high end hotels. Location, location, location! The hotel is right next to the famed arch and about a 45 second walk to the central park. The breakfast included with the room was incredible and had many options. The colonial atmosphere is perfect and so it the service! Our favorite part of the hotel was the gardens and drinking cocktails on the roof patio at sunset. You can drink and enjoy the garden and restaurant even if you are not staying there so make sure to at least stop by!

Room Tip: Definitely haggle a bit and ask to see the room you are haggling for because the rooms are all diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!
We are very happy to hear that our hotel standards met your expectations, we want to let you know that before april we will be opening a new restaurant at the terrace you talked about. We will have a different menu from the one downstairs and we would love you to visit us when we are up and running. Hope to serve you soon in the near future!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is located minutes from the cathedral, and is on the main street in Antigua. The rooms were large and comfortable. The staff was super friendly. We had a 4:00 am transport to the airport in the morning - so they made sure they had breakfast for us to go, without us even asking for it.
It was a bit cold at night, and they gave us a heater for the room.
The views from the restaurant on the top were gorgeous.
The courtyard was lovely with a band playing music.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are honored to hear such great reviews from you, and very pleased we met your expectations. We hope to serve you in the near future! Make sure to visit our place in Lake Atitlan too!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo

Address: 5ta Avenida Norte 17, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Antigua
#21 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa De Los Leones, today Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo conserves its ambiance that characterizes a colonial and antique home in Guatemala. Restored between 1968 and 1971 Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo is located just 2 blocks from the Central Park and in the heart of La Antigua. Its colonial design and ambiance will take you back in time. The hotel has 41 rooms each one of them wit their own history and uniqueness, will allow you to experience a stay that will be like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Don Rodrigo Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.