We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Lovely ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo to your Saves list
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5ta Avenida Norte 17, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent Location, Lovely ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is located minutes from the cathedral, and is on the main street in Antigua. The rooms were large and comfortable. The staff was super friendly. We had a 4:00 am transport to the airport in the morning - so they made sure they had breakfast for us to go, without us even asking for it.
It was a bit cold at night, and they gave us a heater for the room.
The views from the restaurant on the top were gorgeous.
The courtyard was lovely with a band playing music.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are honored to hear such great reviews from you, and very pleased we met your expectations. We hope to serve you in the near future! Make sure to visit our place in Lake Atitlan too!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    86
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
71
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have family in Guatemala, but we love to stay at the Posada as a way to take some time off for ouselves. The ambiance is marvelous. All of the plantings and gardens are very well maintained. The location couldn't be better. The central plaza is 2 blocks one way and a great artisans market is 3 blocks another way. The staff and service are excellent. We have come to know some of them by name because they are so friendly. The furnishing in the rooms appear to be antique, but could be really good knock-offs. Either way they have maintained the colonial charm of the place. I often like to just sit outside my room day-dreaming about what it must have been like to live in such a place during it's heyday as a family home. Sometimes I'm a family member and others I'm one of the servants. Frequently we go for lunch or afternoon tea just to hear the marimba group play. The back gardens are a wonderful setting off the dining room. And the roof terrace is a lovely place to relax and watch the volcanos, which sometimes give off little puffs of smoke. The prices of the rooms and food is high, but worthy of being a treat to yourself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We feel honored that we are your go-to hotel when you come to Antigua!, It´s always nice when customers appreciate our effort in quality of service and food and our antique decor of course, for your information most of our furniture are antique, we try to give it certain maintance for comfort, but 99% of everything you see is antique. We have a very lovely story of the hotel that would love to share it with you, if you could provide us an email I would be an honor to send it to you. We definetely hope to serve you in the near future, and we thank you once again for your preference!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here at the recommendation of friends, and were absolutely delighted. We had a marvelous room, decorated tastefully, off of the courtyard. We were initially concerned that it was too close to the restaurant, but that turned out not to be a problem, in spite of other reviews to the contrary. Terrific value, marvelous breakfast, good value, we thought. The restaurant food is not like fine dining in New York, but is better than average for the town, although rather pricey; we found better food and deals elsewhere within a few blocks. This place reeks of charm, and is a hotel we will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!
We are very pleased to hear that our service and food met your expectations. We try to give our customers a taste of Guatemalan food as well as International Food for those that don´t like to adventure with Guatemalan flavors. We are sorry to hear that you found it a bit pricey, we will however take this into consideration, we are always looking for improvements to please customers. Thank you once again for your preference and review!
We hope to serve you in the near future!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour with Friendly Planet. Nice hotel that was apparently a former residence and certainly one of the historic buildings in the area. Actually had room keys (kind of a skeleton key) to lock the room door. Big bathroom with a nice shower. Rooms weren't very quiet but that wasn't really an issue. Near the town square and plenty of good restaurants. Breakfast at the hotel was quite good, with local fare and fresh tortillas being made right there in front of you.

Room Tip: Get a room that's farther away from the front desk. There is a fair amount of activity at all h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are very pleased to hear that everything at our hotel met your expectations!, Comments like yours is what keeps us going and improving, we will definetely take into consideration the noise in the rooms. Thank you for your comments and hope to serve you in the near future!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoita, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located within a few blocks of the town center. It Is built around a courtyard, which, when not filled with people, is quite pleasant. The rooms are modest sized, but extremely dark. The restaurant offers both indoor and outdoor dining. The food is good, but not outstanding. The issue that concerned us most was the hubbub of activity, particularly noticeable on weekends. The active street life (which we very much enjoyed) spilled into the hotel courtyard, which also serves as a favored locale for weddings and celebrations. Marimbas play from noon until five-ish, precluding the possibility of a siesta or reading in the courtyard. Our stay would have been far more enjoyable were it possible to find quiet and solitude.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel- the rooms are full of character, as are the grounds.The bathrooms are of a good standard and the rooms are clean,although there's not a lot of wardrobe space as the TV shares the cupboard (as seems to be the norm in Antigua!) The breakfast was fabulous,the restaurant looks out onto a pretty garden and the French toast was the best I've ever had. The staff are pleasant and helpful and most speak at least a little English. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at Posada de Don Rodrigo a couple of times and have really enjoyed my stays. It's not a luxurious hotel but it's comfortable. It's also a great place to try a Guatemalan breakfast and the location is fantastic. The marimba music is a nice local touch, though it can get old quickly if for some reason you need to stay in the hotel for a few hours. The staff has always been very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo

Address: 5ta Avenida Norte 17, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Antigua
#21 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa De Los Leones, today Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo conserves its ambiance that characterizes a colonial and antique home in Guatemala. Restored between 1968 and 1971 Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo is located just 2 blocks from the Central Park and in the heart of La Antigua. Its colonial design and ambiance will take you back in time. The hotel has 41 rooms each one of them wit their own history and uniqueness, will allow you to experience a stay that will be like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Don Rodrigo Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.