We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Getaway in the middle of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo to your Saves list
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5ta Avenida Norte 17, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Unique Getaway in the middle of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour with Friendly Planet. Nice hotel that was apparently a former residence and certainly one of the historic buildings in the area. Actually had room keys (kind of a skeleton key) to lock the room door. Big bathroom with a nice shower. Rooms weren't very quiet but that wasn't really an issue. Near the town square and plenty of good restaurants. Breakfast at the hotel was quite good, with local fare and fresh tortillas being made right there in front of you.

Room Tip: Get a room that's farther away from the front desk. There is a fair amount of activity at all h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are very pleased to hear that everything at our hotel met your expectations!, Comments like yours is what keeps us going and improving, we will definetely take into consideration the noise in the rooms. Thank you for your comments and hope to serve you in the near future!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    76
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
62
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoita, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located within a few blocks of the town center. It Is built around a courtyard, which, when not filled with people, is quite pleasant. The rooms are modest sized, but extremely dark. The restaurant offers both indoor and outdoor dining. The food is good, but not outstanding. The issue that concerned us most was the hubbub of activity, particularly noticeable on weekends. The active street life (which we very much enjoyed) spilled into the hotel courtyard, which also serves as a favored locale for weddings and celebrations. Marimbas play from noon until five-ish, precluding the possibility of a siesta or reading in the courtyard. Our stay would have been far more enjoyable were it possible to find quiet and solitude.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel- the rooms are full of character, as are the grounds.The bathrooms are of a good standard and the rooms are clean,although there's not a lot of wardrobe space as the TV shares the cupboard (as seems to be the norm in Antigua!) The breakfast was fabulous,the restaurant looks out onto a pretty garden and the French toast was the best I've ever had. The staff are pleasant and helpful and most speak at least a little English. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at Posada de Don Rodrigo a couple of times and have really enjoyed my stays. It's not a luxurious hotel but it's comfortable. It's also a great place to try a Guatemalan breakfast and the location is fantastic. The marimba music is a nice local touch, though it can get old quickly if for some reason you need to stay in the hotel for a few hours. The staff has always been very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel two times (going and coming from Lake Antigua) in October 2012. We have stayed here before. The hotel has a fabulous location--just a couple blocks to the main square. The rooms are large. We were traveling with our son and had a room with 3 double beds -- It was HUGE. I love the view from the roof (make sure to climb up there to see it). I found the front desk and door managers to be exceptionally helpful. They came up with scissors for us, bandaids, called for reservations etc.

I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room on the second floor you can sleep with your windows open. Otherwise-the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have stayed at this Hotel several times, mainly because I like the people who work there, and it is located 2 short blocks from Central Park.
The rooms are not luxurious, nor overly spacious - but they are comfortable enough and true to the reason anyone travels to Antigua Guatemala.
Surprisingly, the rooms are quiet; and there is free WiFi, although I hardly ever find the time to check my laptop in Antigua. The gardens are beautiful, and there is usually a Marimba band playing close to the entrance.
The restaurant serves authentic Chapin food, although I think that they have raised the prices, although the view from the restaurant area (onto the garden) is beautiful; and the lady making tortillas on site is exotic and interesting.
There is parking across the road, although acces is slightly difficult on weekends when the street is closed to vehicle ttraffic - but there is someone close by to open the narrow doors when required.
A charming place, but not luxurious. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I usually ask for a room on the 2nd floor of the interior cuadrangle - preferrable on street side so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Posada de Don Rodrigo captures the feel of the old colonial atmosphere setting the right mood for your stay in Antigua. It was in a great location with the ability to walk to many of the city's attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo

Address: 5ta Avenida Norte 17, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Antigua
#16 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa De Los Leones, today Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo conserves its ambiance that characterizes a colonial and antique home in Guatemala. Restored between 1968 and 1971 Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo is located just 2 blocks from the Central Park and in the heart of La Antigua. Its colonial design and ambiance will take you back in time. The hotel has 41 rooms each one of them wit their own history and uniqueness, will allow you to experience a stay that will be like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Don Rodrigo Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.