We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Under The Volcano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Casa Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magic Under The Volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I recently had the good fortune of spending four nights at Antigua's fabulous Casa Santo Domingo. Over the years I have been fortunate to visit many countries and many great hotels, however, none can compare with this unique establishment. Built around a sixteenth century thrice ruined convent the architects have done a masterly job of incorporating the old with the new. The place is a virtual museum but unlike a normal museum the Casa operates as a five star hotel. Likely the best in Antigua which is considered the best example of a Spanish colonial city to be found in the Americas. Oh and did I mention that the property sits in the shadow of three amazing volcanos. A must visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit to La Antigua and CSD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    147
    47
    16
    22
See reviews for
135
251
45
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel grounds are very well done - incorporating museums, restaurants and hotel facilities in magnificent surroundings. It is worth a visit if only just to drop in.

The hotel itself seems to cater to large groups and tours - more east coast North Americans here than anywhere else we saw in the country. Because of this the hotel looses the intimacy that I was expecting. The dining room is very large to cater to the groups - the staff are good but not much "personal"service for a hotel of this price. Internet is not complimentary - even in the lobby areas and is weak in the far rooms.
Our first room was at the end of the hotel - by a cabblestone street - very noisy at night but - the hotel kindly changed rooms for us the next day.
This is a very nice hotel but not in the "boutique" category.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corrridors are noisy from the cobblestone streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are sorry to know that you didn't find the intimacy expected during your visit. Pls let me know if you plan to return soon, It would be my pleasure to help you plan your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

As noted by others, the setting for this hotel is unique. The expansive site is on the ruins of a convent, largely destroyed by several earthquakes that took place in the 1700s. It was bought a few years ago by a wealthy amateur archaeologist who hired an architect to incorporate a hotel in to the ruins. This was done in a very sensitive way, adding 2 storey wings with guest rooms, built from rock to match the ruins. The ruined areas have been maintained, with a teflon "sail" roof added to shell of the original cathedral. When we were there it was set up for a wedding, with a couple of hundred white slipcovered chairs set up, gorgeous floral arrangements, and thousands of lit candles throughout the grounds. It was stunning.

The art museum is a must see both for guests and visitors who are not staying at the hotel may enter by paying a small fee. The curator of this collection did a stellar job of displaying ancient pottery and sculpture alongside contemporary glass pieces.

The hotel, and also the hilltop site at the edge of town (which has a zip line) has one of the best collections of art that I have every seen in a hotel.

Meeting facilities and display areas in the courtyard were very good. Meals set up in the courtyard and at the hilltop location were very tasty and served quickly.

The downsides are slow service in the dining room (sit near the servers' station and you'll get your coffee faster) and poor information at check in. Granted we were late and didn't get there till 2 am, but it took us two days to realize that the breakfasts were included and that wi fi in the rooms can be accessed for free (I had tried to sign in not knowing this, and it was charged to my room).

Room Tip: The rooms near the street can be noisy, as can the rooms by the pool if there is a party booked in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to know you had the chance to visit the museums and El Cerro. Pls let me know if you are interested in receiving information regarding the different exhibits for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

the place is beautiful. rooms have a lot of charm (a lot of wood, chimneys). very good food at the restaurants.
however a hotel of that level could/should do better on some issues
- the gym is microscopic
- the choice for breakfast could be wider
- the internet is not free (it should not be the case in a hotel of that level)
- when checking in, even if we were traveling in a tour group, we had to leave 100$ deposit. it is the only hotel during our trip to guatemala (we went to 6 different hotels) which did that. it really looks mean...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your observations, we will review them carefully. We hope you give us a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very amazing place, 5 or museums, great restaurants, excellent service. When you pull up in the taxi or van you wonder what is this place as it looks like a hole in the wall until you walk through the door and you are transformed in a different world. A world of art, beautiful wood, candles, excellent service. Great rooms. Built on the site of the old convent they have mixed the old with the new to Creat a wonderful experience. Definitely not a moderate priced but a great place.

Room Tip: Standard and superior. Standard are very nice but superior are roomer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are pleased to know you had such a wonderful expecience and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

It's difficult to describe the feeling I had when I stayed at this hotel, I was overwhelmed by it's beauty. It's built on the site of the ruins of a convent. They carefully preserved the ancient walls and structures giving the guest a chance to explore the property. It feels as though you are living in a museum while you are there. The hotel portion is very comfortable with gorgeous gardens and wonderful restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased to know you had such a wonderful experience and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is the closest I will ever get to a convent I am sure. Was amazing the walls were almost speaking with all that history and candles glowing. My first choice is always the beach, my daughter and I missed our flight from Canada to Belize so flew into Guatemala City thinking it would be easy to get to Belize, it wasn't so decided to check out Guatemala for a few days :) Very memorable hotel this was and would recommend to anyone. Enjoyed amazing views from up on a hill, road around the city in tuktuk feeding dogs bread they all looked on deaths door.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful suite but I never saw any others :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are glad to know you enjoyed your visit to La Antigua Guatemala and your stay at CSD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#7 Family Hotel in Antigua
#10 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.