We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Casa Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Casa Santo Domingo comes close to perfection without quite getting there. It would be easier to list the areas that are lacking and let yo u assume that everything else is faultless. The internet access is not only expensive but also very weak and intermittent. The bathrooms are somewhat standard which clashes with the luxury of the hotel and the room in general. Everything else is truly delightful. The hotel restaurant serves pricey but imaginative food. The museum on the hotel grounds is fascinating. The pool is unremarkable but heated. The steam rooms are ready and barely crowded. There are beautiful touches all over the hotel: antiques, artwork, rose petals... The location is an easy walking distance from the central plaza.

Room Tip: The luxury is in the hotel itself. Chose a moderately priced room and spend your time in the common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    121
    40
    16
    18
See reviews for
118
226
37
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here one night on a business unit and was immediately transported into a peaceful, serene, and tranquil setting. Absolutely beautiful property complete with old-world culture and ambiance. A must-stay for anyone in the Antigua area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Checking in to this hotel is like taking a trip back to the time the conquistadores first walked this land... even if you don't stay at this hotel do visit the hotel grounds, it's a feast for the eyes. The room was a fantastic blend of modern comfort and history. This is the 2nd time I stay at this hotel and it's looking better than ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is almost one museum. You can see the history of Antigua in the ruins that you can find inside of it. The hotel is very beautiful with Araras everywhere, ruins, flowers, fountains and pools. The restaurant is awesome and the dishes are perfect. They are under construction and restore work in some parts of the hotel, but it's fine. You'll even notice it. The location is good and you won't regret of staying there. Amazing place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel - beautiful room, STUNNING grounds, hospitable staff. This was one of the best hotel experiences of my life!

The candles, the macaws by the beautiful heated pool, the landscaping, the historic structure of the building, the on-site museum - the combination makes for a perfect hotel experience.

I've read some reviews which note the tour groups which come to the hotel. The tour groups come for a reason - this is the premier property in the city and all of Guatemala. During my stay, the tour groups were never near the guestrooms, the pool, or any private guest areas. I noted a few groups coming in for brief periods during my stay but I never felt crowded. Actually, I found it impressive that non-guests made a point to visit the hotel and I had the full experience of staying here.

I will remember Casa Santo Domingo for many years.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel at the begining of December 2012, and all we have to say is We'll do it all over again soon!!! This hotel is abosoluitely worth it to spend that extra $25 a night instead of staying at any other hotel that may be cheaper but won't have that history, courteous staff and magnificent grounds that make you go ahhh, every time you take a stroll around them.
We most definitely recomend it to anyone who goes to such magestic city to definitely stay at one of a kind place.
The food is absolutely outstanding, the chef really shows his culinary talents on every dish he prepares.
And if you don't want to be on a schedule when visitng Antigua and stay at this magnificent hotel, just make yourself a cup of the most delicious Guatemalan coffee, which is there for you to make whenever you are in the mood for it, and take a seat at your own bistro table, on your own balcony and just kick back and relax.
At night, if you are in Antigua in the cooler months, like December or January, and you are in the mood for just having a room service dinner and enjoying the fire place, just place a call to the front desk and they will have one of their staff people to lit up that fire for you and make sure it is all set for your enjoyment.
So, go visit Antigua Guatemala, enjoy the beauty of the country and all it has to offer, and make sure you stay at Casa Santo Domingo, you won't regret it!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the Spa area, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for four nights in January 2013. This was one of the most interesting and fascinating hotels that I stayed in my entire life. Yes, you can find a more luxurious hotel in Las Vegas or NY, but in terms of history and ambiance, this is really a gem. The hotel is a former monastery established in the 16th century. After Antigua was abandoned when the capital was moved to Guatemala City, it essentially lay in ruins until it was restored in 1989 and turned into a hotel and a museum. And what a wonderful job they did! The living quarters are immaculate – the rooms are great, with wonderful fireplaces (with a cross above it), nice baths and even Jacuzzis in some more expensive rooms. The hallways in the hotel are filled with medieval statues, frescos and the entire hotel is lit with candles and lights during the evening and part of the night. The hotel has two churches used for weddings and 3 museums. You can easily spend one full day exploring the hotel and its museums.
I would think that If you travel with somebody you love this may be one of the most romantic places to stay and spend a long weekend , so for those of you who live in Southern CA, instead of going to Las Vegas for a long weekend try to go to Antigua Guatemala. The flight is just 4.5 hours from LAX and everything is less expensive than in the US. This will really take you breath away, and this will be an unforgettable experience of your life. I traveled with a group of friends attending a wedding, and most people in our group were world travelers and yet, everybody acknowledged that this was one of the best hotels they ever stayed in.
I have read some negative comments about the hotel on this site, and I cannot really understand how anybody can have negative comments about this place. The staff is really nice, courteous and helpful. I speak fluent Spanish and I spoke Spanish with them, however, I could hear that they all speak fairly good English. They are very knowledgeable about what places to see in Antigua, they can order you a cab from a safe company, etc. The only true comment is that internet does not work very well there – you have to pay $8 per day for it, and yet, in most rooms it does not work and you have to go out to get a connection, but then again, you are in the mountains of Central America, it is a wonder that internet works at all!
Of course, what adds to an unforgettable experience is the amazing town of Antigua, with its medieval Spanish architecture, tiny streets, exquisite restaurants and nice people. Antigua can be a good base to travel around and see other amazing cites – Lake Atitlan, the volcano overlooking Guatemala City and some local Mayan ruins (albeit rather modest and small compared with Tikal located in the northern part of the country). However, the travel agency located in the hotel does offer a one day trip to Tikal. I can’t find one bad thing about this hotel and strongly recommend it to anybody traveling to Guatemala.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#6 Family Hotel in Antigua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.