We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Santo Domingo

Save Saved
You added Casa Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 76 hotels in Antigua
California
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a two nite stay here January 2013. The grounds and the museum facility are very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room photos on this site are quite representative. The facility is very pleasant and has good views inside and outside. The restaurant is quite good both the buffet breakfast and the menu items. The unique nature of the facility makes this hotel an exceedingly appealing facility to stay in Antigua. We'd definitely return if in Antigua again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    114
    37
    16
    16
See reviews for
111
208
33
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Casa Santa Domindo, you should be ashamed of yourselves! I literally was in tears looking at their macaws. They are stressed out and the birds have been pulling their feathers out because they are going crazy! It is such a disgrace that Casa Santa Domingo would keep these birds on show for tourists and everyone in oblivious to their torture! Please do the humane thing and give these birds to a sanctuary so they can live the rest of their lives more naturally. Copan, Honduras has a great Macaw sanctuary and they would be happy to care for these beautiful birds, since you obviously can't!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your concern for our macaws. We appreciate your comment and share your opinion. We are doing everything possible to provide a stress free environment for these birds and are currently developing a breeding project in large aviaries in an isolated, more natural environment.

Our macaws are very well fed (dosed, balanced diet) and have constant professional veterinary attention. Some of our macaws are very old and have difficulty regenerating over-preened feathers. We are looking forward to transfer them to new facilities where they will surely get better.

We are also pleased to inform you that we are currently supporting an ex-situ conservation program at the Wildlife Department - Veterinary Faculty of the Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala and, in a near future, we will support the only in-situ conservation program in the city directed by the Wildlife Conservation Society at “Estación Guacamayas, Parque Nacional Laguna del Tigre, Petén.” There are only about 320 free living macaws in Guatemala and we definitely consider this species a priority.

In a near future, we will gladly share some of our achievements with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Only stayed one night but it was a very nice stay. Highlight was a traditional dinner in the restarant. The grounds are very well maintained and add a nice ambiance with candlelight all over the hotel at night. It was quite expensive to stay, eat and drink here. There are some very nice places in town that are worth walking to. Internet $10 in your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we got a deal through expedia and hence selected this place. It's a 16th century monastery that has been restored/renovated and done really well. the premises are a fantastic museum and offer lot of things to see and walk around... museums, statues, crypts etc and the level of access available is also impressive
The rooms are really nice, they have a TV, very good mattresses and a seriously good shower.
The reason for the 3 (not 5) * - 3 fold - the internet is $8/day, with the daily rates being charged they should be including the internet... and secondly the front desk staff is quite useless, they are courteous and all but useless when you ask them questions about Antigua, things to do around Antigua etc. and finally the food (no free breakfast, we did order some room service though) - horrible and expensive.
The gym and the pool are really nice

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great accommodations and an incredible hotel, filled with history and art work. Great location in a wonderful destination. Antigua is a great destination by itself with many attractions and day trips that can be taken.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel certainly is unusual in many respects. The ruins are worth the stay. Ambiance is a big appeal. Very pretty grounds. The foliage is beautiful. The room is average but nice. The only thing that was bad was the smell at night; sewage. There was also some difficulty with billing on room & services. Still not sure was charged correct. Get ready for a big tourist charge at c/o. Overall a very unique place. Also I might add, the rooms are very dimly lit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We revisited casa santo domingo 3 weeks ago and found it was as delightful as we remembered it. We upgraded to one of the "estancea" rooms and it was much bigger than the room we had last time. It was room estancea los novisios. Novicios was a large suite with fireplace, sauna, and jacuzzi, and a wonderful view of the volcano. Everything was fine EXCEPT at night the resturant across the way had a very large spotlight aimed directly into our room, it was so bright we had to keep the blackout curtains closed. They used it to light up there parking lot. We asked several times during our 3 day stay to have it reaimed or removted but to no avail. Oher than that it was a delightful stay with great food and charm. The several museums on the grounds were very intereting, and at night the candels were very nice and were everywhere,creating a romantic feel of yesteryear. The hotel was built on the ruins of a very old monastery and the owners have kept the feel. There are wonderful pieces of art on the grounds and in some of the rooms. The many macaws also added to the ambiance. It is near downtown so a cab is not needed to access the main square and shopping.

Room Tip: check what is going on around the room you pick, ask about any renovation or construction going on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Family Hotel in Antigua
#11 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.