We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un encanto en La Antigua” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Porta Hotel Antigua to your Saves list
Porta Hotel Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Service at Ceiba Spa
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Un encanto en La Antigua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

El hotel Porta Antigua es un encanto: habitaciones tranquilas, jardines impecables, dos piscinas bonitas - todo en un conjunto de edificios bien entretenidos. El desayuno abuntante con servicio muy atentento invita a prolongar su estadia.

The hotel Porta Antigua is an enchantment: quiet rooms, impeccable gardens, two lovely pools - all in a complex of well-maintained buildings. The copious breakfast with very attentive service invites you to extend your stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Estimado Sr. aquatik,
Es un agrado saber que ha disfrutado de su estadía como merece.
Saludos cordiales,

Dear Mr. aquatik,
It's nice to hear you've enjoy your stay as you deserve.
Warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    118
    16
    1
    6
See reviews for
85
100
26
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, walking distance from all of the attractions in Antigua but just far enough out of the centre to provide some tranquility. The pool is great as it gets quite hot in Antigua walking the streets and we would come back to the hotel to cool down before heading off for the afternoon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear macsar,

We are glad you've enjoyed your stay. We hope we'll see you again very soon.

Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for five nights over spring break. Concierge was excellent and helped booked tours in Antigua. Because the hotel has a section across the street from the main area, we appreciated the security presence at each entrance at night as there were many girls walking back and forth. This hotel offers a scenic swimming pool with wonderful volcano views, rose gardens and courtyards throughout, and well-stocked vats of purified water. The rooms, though dark, were comfortable, tastefully decorated and included a spacious bathroom. The front desk also exchanged money for us without a fee – so much better than going to a bank. Hotel was in a great location, easy walking distance to the city square and great restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Mrs. AllisonDav,

Thank you very much for this delightful review.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Although a large complex that seemed overwhelming to navigate at first, the hotel is a beautiful escape from the town of Antigua. Similar to other four or five star hotels in Antigua, Porta has well-manicured grounds, fountains and courtyards. In the three days that I stayed, there was always someone sweeping or tending to the landscaping. The pools are beautiful and the lap pool is very secluded. The rooms in the new section of the hotel are quiet and spacious. All of the hotel staff are welcoming and helpful. The breakfast buffet offered both traditional Guatemalan and American-style food. Everything was delicious. I'm looking forward to returning in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Mrs. Angela D,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Porta Hotel Antigua, we would love to be your hosts again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Staying at this hotel with a bunch of classmates. The service was quite nice and because we were leaving at late night they gave us a snack to go. I only stayed at this hotel one night, however was a very good experience. The rooms have this amazing old style, but they are very comfortable. The restaurant have a wide variety and the bar is small but friendly. The staff were very polite and they were all listening to your compliments or complaints. This is a must stay for everyone exploring Antigua. Will be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear JPSotoCR,

We are glad you've liked our services overall, and it will a pleasure to receive you again in a near future.

Warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our room was located next to the beautiful lap pool. Nice for an evening swim. The whole property is enclosed which is nice for walking around the grounds at night. The hotel is beautiful and the food is very good. Great location for sight seeing and shopping. Loved the Parrots!

Room Tip: Felt the rooms around the lap pool were the most private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Rebecca G,

We appreciate very much you've posted your experience at Porta Hotel Antigua on TripAdvisor.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here for two nights after a week long medical mission trip. It is on a quiet street, but conveniently located about a seven minute walk from the center of Antigua. The staff speaks English (most of them) and are courteous and helpful. Our room was comfortable, and had nice touches like in room purified water and a coffee maker. Breakfast was delicious. The centrally located pool was a nice treat!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear shawhome,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments. It's been a pleasure to be your hosts at the end of your medical mission trip in Guatemala.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#8 Family Hotel in Antigua
#10 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.