We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive beautiful hotel with good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Porta Hotel Antigua to your Saves list
Porta Hotel Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Service at Ceiba Spa
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Expensive beautiful hotel with good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place looks pretty bland from the outside, but most of the buildings do here. Once you walk through the door be prepared to be wowed and get out your wallet. When I checked the price of rooms on this website, it averaged around $100 per night. When I arrived, the only rooms they had were $200+ per night. The only rooms that they had left were across the street from the main hotel in a more private section. There is an underground tunnel under the street connecting the two buildings. It turns out this is the expensive section, but they gave me the room at the normal room rate. So basically I was treated like a king at a prince's price. There is a pool at the regular hotel and a private lap pool in the building across the street where I stayed. The WiFi worked great wherever I went around the hotel. The bed was absolutely amazing and I slept great. Well I slept great after I turned off the split unit air conditioner. They have the precipitation overflow going to a tray with a loud pump that kicks on every so often and woke me up. It would make more sense if the moisture tube was channeled to the outside somehow so the pump was not needed. There is an in-house tour service next to the restaurant, which is convenient and expensive. The TV in the room is an old tube type, but my room had a fireplace as well. I ate dinner in the restaurant my first night and did not like the food at all. I did enjoy the breakfast buffet in the morning though. This is a very nice hotel, but the price tag is quite salty for me.

Room Tip: Check if they have one with an air conditioner that does not need a pump to move the condensation wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Kyle L,

We are glad we have fulfilled your expectations overall, and we appreciate you have shared your experience with us. This comments are taken serious to work and improve on weakness to provide world class service to our guests.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    117
    16
    1
    6
See reviews for
85
99
26
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night, they let me check in around 1 hour before the schedule since i arrive around 11:15 i really appreciate that, they have me a free welcome drink, and a breakfast ticket, the room was small but still cozy and clean, with a bible, 2 beds a tv, nice shower, hair dryer, shampoo, towels, a safe box and a phone to reach the room service. The entire hotel is so clean and big enough dor you to walk at night and relax with the excelent view it has, i called for room service since it was dinner time, and ate this excelent cesar salad, just excelent, i need to call 2 times since it takes like 30 minutes for me they to deliver but still ok. I went to the pool around 8 or 9 pm and was a very relaxing time, then i went to sleep, the next day i went for my breakfast ans WOW!! It was a LOT of food! Really amazing! And delicious! The staff were very friendly and the cheffs as well, i checked out and im planing to visit them on my vacations!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Laparra01,

We are glad we fulfilled your expectations as you deserve.
Hope we see you again around here on your vacations!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here in June and July 2013 and both times it was lovely. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are comfortable, and the spa offers great services. The pools are great, especially the lap pool with a view of the volcano!

The wifi inside the rooms can be spotty, but wifi in public areas including the courtyard is fast and reliable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear mefawe,

Thank you in behalf of Porta Hotel Antigua's team. It will be a pleassure to be your hosts again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our large family traveled from Seattle for a wedding and many of us stayed at Porta Hotel Antigua. This hacienda style hotel is situated on lush and well kept grounds, attended by a truly friendly, highly courteous and helpful staff. I've never seen so many sincere smiles, offers of assistance and can do attitude - and I travel extensively all around the world. The rooms are beautiful and clean, with a western style that made me think I was in a top hotel in the Rockies. The pool was clean and kid friendly, with spectacular views of the Pacaya Volcano. Excellent food; the breakfast-included buffet was superb. The hotel hosted the wedding reception and no details were missed. We were there during the rainy season, and the hotel arranged taxis provided umbrellas in the late afternoon rain and greeted us all with a smile and buenos dias each sunny morning. A great place all around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mr. John M,

We are so glad to know you've enjoyed your experience at Porta Hotel Antigua.

Hope we see you again around here very soon!

Warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, tx
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We debated staying at this hotel or a less expensive one. It was important for us to have room to run and play for our son so we chose this hotel, and were not disappointed. We stayed for 3 nights. The food was excellent, service was very good. (they have a separate less expensive sandwich menu which they brought out only when we asked) They have a playground, a yard and a big pool for kids to play. They also have a kids club on weekends but it seemed like the kids were just sitting in there watching TV. Beds were very comfortable and the hotel was quiet at night. The workout facility was very nice. All machines were new and in great condition. For our taxi back to Guatemala city we arranged a taxi ride with a taxi driver at the parque central and it was about half the price that the staff at the hotel indicated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
deseeDear krazyfool,

Is much appreciated you've shared your comments with us. We are glad to know we have fulfilled your expectations.

You are more than welcome to come back whenever you wish in a near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at Porta Hotel Antigua for 8 days. Found it to be clean and well kept. The buffet breakfast was exceptional especially the omelets prepared by Carlos. We had dinner at the hotel one evening and it was also very good.
All the help were courteous and it wasn't long before my wife and I were practicing our limited Spanish during our interactions. Also the main pool and the lap pool were well maintained and clean.
The fitness center was well equipped and used once during our stay. The spa looked very tempting but was not used by us during our stay.
The Antigua market and many good restaurants are within walking distance.
We would recommend Porta Hotel to anyone wanting a pleasant get away.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not adjacent to a street. Our room was adjacent to the street which was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mike H,

Is nice to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for recommending us!

Hope to see you again around here very soon!

Warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stopped at this beautiful hotel for 2 nights on our Caravan Tour,
Elegant and lovely hacienda style hotel with vey comfortable beds and rooms
By the way I highly recommend the Caravan Guatemala tour as well. We had 42 people, ages 5 to 83 and everyone had a great time.

Hotel was very nice. Wifi strong in main lobby. Service and food were good.

I also did some very nice stress free shopping 2 blocks away at a store called "manos preciosas" fixed prices and all items hand made in Guatemala .

Lovely hotel. Unique, beautiful and very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear VVB,

We greatly appreciate you are recommending us to our future visitors. It has been a pleasure to become part of your experience at "The eternal spring country" during your Caravan Guatemala Tour.

You are more than welcome to come back again to Porta Hotel Antigua!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#8 Family Hotel in Antigua
#10 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.