We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Antigua

Save Saved
You added Porta Hotel Antigua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porta Hotel Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Oferta en Ceiba Porta Spa
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Hillsboro, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our third trip to Guatemala, first stay here. On par with Casa Santo Domingo. Good food, beautiful and clean room, coutyard and pool area top flight. When will this country let a person flush toilet paper?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    113
    16
    0
    6
See reviews for
72
87
25
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

From the open air lobby and dining rooms to the beautifully furnished guest rooms, the Porta hotel is a lovely place to stay. The food in the on-site restaurant is delicious. The hotel is conveniently located near the central park and shopping areas, and all desk clerks speak English. The hotel will exchange currency for you as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is a sprawling complex in the south end of town. There are often large groups at the hotel for special events such as weddings. My rate included breakfast which was a buffet. There was more food that I would ever need, but it was a pleasant setting and the service was very friendly. I found all the staff to be helpful. The grounds are beautiful and very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great two day stay at the Porta Hotel in Antgua as part of our tour. We were in the new section which has been done to look like an old section in what is a very large property. Room was spacious and clean, albeit a bit dark. Beautiful pool area and gardens. Food was good. Location of hotel was excellent, a few blocks to the main square to see the New Year's day processions and 30 or so minutes up to the cross for a view looking overlooking the city with Aqua volcano as the backdrop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The location was great, a few blocks from the central park. I stayed here as part of a Caravan tour and was pleased with the hotel. The room was fine, no problems. The grounds were pleasant with various courtyards, a nice refuge after a day of walking around the bustling city. The pool area was relaxing and not crowded. Our rooms were in an auxiliary building, a block away from the main building where the restaurant and pool were located but there was an underground tunnel you could use to go between the buildings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cabos Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was my first time in Antigua and I wanted to try something really typical, I think I chose the perfect option: Porta Antigua.

This hotel combines the magic of a traditional building with the service and comfort of a world class hotel.

The building is just spectacular, one floor in "hacienda" style. The hotel is divided in several buildings and it makes you feel like you are in a little Antigua by itself. The gardens and pool areas are amazing.

My room was on the 500's building, it was spacious, keeping the typical architecture but with very comfortable beds, perfect bathroom with bath and shower. The room features TV with international channels, safe box and free internet. Due to the architecture and the interior gardens you will sleep like an angel!

The restaurant offers a spectacular buffet with typical Guatemalan food, you will be delighted with the plantains, tamales and pupusas.

Service overall is perfect, warm, efficient and at the same time relaxed.

The Spa is a jewel, only 5 cabins, however, the treatments are state of the art, spectacular!! Try the hot stones one, you will not be disappointed!

Overall, this is a fantastic hotel, located in the heart of the action, steps away from all major attractions and restaurants. You will enjoy a 5 star stay at a very affordable rate.

Room Tip: The 500's have their own pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Porta Hotel Antigua with a group of 20 people. We were all quite pleased with our stay - the rooms are lovely, with fireplaces and balconies. Everything was very clean. The breakfast buffet is great, with a variety of fresh fruits, cereals, Guatemalan dishes and an egg/omelet station. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant one night, and everyone was pleased with their meals (I had the lemon chicken, which was tasty). They were one of the few restaurants with a children's menu, which was a nice change for our kids. The playground is awesome, and the kids loved looking at the birds. I had a massage in the spa, and the therapist (Gladys) used hot oils instead of lotion - AMAZING!! It was a very relaxing massage. My only complaint would be that the WiFi is spotty. I could not get a signal in my room, only on the balcony. But my sister, who was in the room next door, could get a signal inside. But that's only a minor complaint. Overall - I'd recommend this hotel, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#10 Family Hotel in Antigua
#12 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been hosts to visitors to La Antigua for over 60 years. Our property is an icon in this charming and historical city that has been declared by UNESCO world cultural patrimony. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, if you are looking for a hotel where you are treated very professional yet with a unique personal touch where you feel not only extremely welcome but also well taken care of, which enhances your experience during your visit in La Antigua, you have chosen the best place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.