We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a large hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Antigua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Porta Hotel Antigua to your Saves list
Porta Hotel Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Directly and Save!
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for a large hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is a sprawling complex in the south end of town. There are often large groups at the hotel for special events such as weddings. My rate included breakfast which was a buffet. There was more food that I would ever need, but it was a pleasant setting and the service was very friendly. I found all the staff to be helpful. The grounds are beautiful and very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    150
    20
    2
    7
See reviews for
119
122
29
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great two day stay at the Porta Hotel in Antgua as part of our tour. We were in the new section which has been done to look like an old section in what is a very large property. Room was spacious and clean, albeit a bit dark. Beautiful pool area and gardens. Food was good. Location of hotel was excellent, a few blocks to the main square to see the New Year's day processions and 30 or so minutes up to the cross for a view looking overlooking the city with Aqua volcano as the backdrop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The location was great, a few blocks from the central park. I stayed here as part of a Caravan tour and was pleased with the hotel. The room was fine, no problems. The grounds were pleasant with various courtyards, a nice refuge after a day of walking around the bustling city. The pool area was relaxing and not crowded. Our rooms were in an auxiliary building, a block away from the main building where the restaurant and pool were located but there was an underground tunnel you could use to go between the buildings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cabos Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was my first time in Antigua and I wanted to try something really typical, I think I chose the perfect option: Porta Antigua.

This hotel combines the magic of a traditional building with the service and comfort of a world class hotel.

The building is just spectacular, one floor in "hacienda" style. The hotel is divided in several buildings and it makes you feel like you are in a little Antigua by itself. The gardens and pool areas are amazing.

My room was on the 500's building, it was spacious, keeping the typical architecture but with very comfortable beds, perfect bathroom with bath and shower. The room features TV with international channels, safe box and free internet. Due to the architecture and the interior gardens you will sleep like an angel!

The restaurant offers a spectacular buffet with typical Guatemalan food, you will be delighted with the plantains, tamales and pupusas.

Service overall is perfect, warm, efficient and at the same time relaxed.

The Spa is a jewel, only 5 cabins, however, the treatments are state of the art, spectacular!! Try the hot stones one, you will not be disappointed!

Overall, this is a fantastic hotel, located in the heart of the action, steps away from all major attractions and restaurants. You will enjoy a 5 star stay at a very affordable rate.

Room Tip: The 500's have their own pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Porta Hotel Antigua with a group of 20 people. We were all quite pleased with our stay - the rooms are lovely, with fireplaces and balconies. Everything was very clean. The breakfast buffet is great, with a variety of fresh fruits, cereals, Guatemalan dishes and an egg/omelet station. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant one night, and everyone was pleased with their meals (I had the lemon chicken, which was tasty). They were one of the few restaurants with a children's menu, which was a nice change for our kids. The playground is awesome, and the kids loved looking at the birds. I had a massage in the spa, and the therapist (Gladys) used hot oils instead of lotion - AMAZING!! It was a very relaxing massage. My only complaint would be that the WiFi is spotty. I could not get a signal in my room, only on the balcony. But my sister, who was in the room next door, could get a signal inside. But that's only a minor complaint. Overall - I'd recommend this hotel, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This time I did not stay at Porta Hotel, but came to spend the afternoon at the restaurant with my 8 year old nephew. The food is very good, the coffee is great, the location is gorgeous and family friendly, which is not always easy to find in Antigua. Great kids menu's, and a playground. Also free wifi is very nice to have, which combined with the endless pot of great coffee, is a great place to catch up on emails. The floor manager at the Restaurant, Aurelio, has to be one of the most friendly people I have ever met (I would like to adopt him as a Grandpa!). He makes you feel like family and like you are "coming home" each time you are here. Porta Hotel and Aurelio, thank you for making us feel at home!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Mexicoguatemala,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel! It thrills me to hear of your positive experience. Customer service is something that we truly strive for and in making each guest truly feels welcome and at home, whether they are staying with us or just visiting our restaurant.

Thank you for your comments about Aurelio, he really is the heart of Porta Hotel Antigua; we all want to take him home!! Please know that I have shared your feedback with our entire staff, as comments such as yours are what drive us to deliver each and every day.
Please feel free to contact me when you are in the area. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Fernando Ximénez, General Manager
fximenez@portahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Staying at "Porta" is quite unique and cozy. Once you get past the condition of the roads (compact stone roads) which makes for a bumpy ride and uncomfortable walking, the hotel is very much worth the trip. The typical cuisine served is superb (dessert is "ok" as well), the staff is very helpful, the rooms are a bit rustic but it adds to the ambiance of the "ole timey feel" of the hotel, most of the channels are in Spanish but several are in English, some equipment such as irons and remotes may not work at times but are readily and easily replaced by staff, wifi is open but in certain areas the signal is not as strong because of the winds, the grounds are well kept and the pool is very nice (would recommend checking the weather before planning a trip to Guatemala because very cold months are obviously not the best time to go swimming).

Side Note: For individuals who like glass windows in their rooms, some rooms do not have them installed but they are instead made of wood so its best to ask about these types of preferences prior to staying.

Side Side Note: The walls in my room were are a bit thin for my liking allowing me to hear the guest next to my room taking showers but i'm not sure there is much that can be done to address the issue at the moment. Other than the 5'O clock wake up by my neighbor, my stay was amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Tushie101,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us; especially glad to know that our team provided the service that you expected. However, I would like to offer my apologies for the inconsistencies you experienced during your visit. Although our basic WiFi capabilities are complimentary in all public areas, we are committed to always meet our guest expectations. As is to provide a nice sleep quality.

We truly value your overall feedback, and we will look forward to welcoming you back, to properly serve you.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.5 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#12 of 76 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 76 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#3 of 76 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#5 of 76 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#22 of 76 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#1 Family Hotel in Antigua
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Green Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#10 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.