We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Antigua

Save Saved
You added Porta Hotel Antigua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porta Hotel Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Oferta en Ceiba Porta Spa
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great two day stay at the Porta Hotel in Antgua as part of our tour. We were in the new section which has been done to look like an old section in what is a very large property. Room was spacious and clean, albeit a bit dark. Beautiful pool area and gardens. Food was good. Location of hotel was excellent, a few blocks to the main square to see the New Year's day processions and 30 or so minutes up to the cross for a view looking overlooking the city with Aqua volcano as the backdrop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    113
    16
    0
    6
See reviews for
72
87
25
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The location was great, a few blocks from the central park. I stayed here as part of a Caravan tour and was pleased with the hotel. The room was fine, no problems. The grounds were pleasant with various courtyards, a nice refuge after a day of walking around the bustling city. The pool area was relaxing and not crowded. Our rooms were in an auxiliary building, a block away from the main building where the restaurant and pool were located but there was an underground tunnel you could use to go between the buildings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cabos Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was my first time in Antigua and I wanted to try something really typical, I think I chose the perfect option: Porta Antigua.

This hotel combines the magic of a traditional building with the service and comfort of a world class hotel.

The building is just spectacular, one floor in "hacienda" style. The hotel is divided in several buildings and it makes you feel like you are in a little Antigua by itself. The gardens and pool areas are amazing.

My room was on the 500's building, it was spacious, keeping the typical architecture but with very comfortable beds, perfect bathroom with bath and shower. The room features TV with international channels, safe box and free internet. Due to the architecture and the interior gardens you will sleep like an angel!

The restaurant offers a spectacular buffet with typical Guatemalan food, you will be delighted with the plantains, tamales and pupusas.

Service overall is perfect, warm, efficient and at the same time relaxed.

The Spa is a jewel, only 5 cabins, however, the treatments are state of the art, spectacular!! Try the hot stones one, you will not be disappointed!

Overall, this is a fantastic hotel, located in the heart of the action, steps away from all major attractions and restaurants. You will enjoy a 5 star stay at a very affordable rate.

Room Tip: The 500's have their own pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Porta Hotel Antigua with a group of 20 people. We were all quite pleased with our stay - the rooms are lovely, with fireplaces and balconies. Everything was very clean. The breakfast buffet is great, with a variety of fresh fruits, cereals, Guatemalan dishes and an egg/omelet station. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant one night, and everyone was pleased with their meals (I had the lemon chicken, which was tasty). They were one of the few restaurants with a children's menu, which was a nice change for our kids. The playground is awesome, and the kids loved looking at the birds. I had a massage in the spa, and the therapist (Gladys) used hot oils instead of lotion - AMAZING!! It was a very relaxing massage. My only complaint would be that the WiFi is spotty. I could not get a signal in my room, only on the balcony. But my sister, who was in the room next door, could get a signal inside. But that's only a minor complaint. Overall - I'd recommend this hotel, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This time I did not stay at Porta Hotel, but came to spend the afternoon at the restaurant with my 8 year old nephew. The food is very good, the coffee is great, the location is gorgeous and family friendly, which is not always easy to find in Antigua. Great kids menu's, and a playground. Also free wifi is very nice to have, which combined with the endless pot of great coffee, is a great place to catch up on emails. The floor manager at the Restaurant, Aurelio, has to be one of the most friendly people I have ever met (I would like to adopt him as a Grandpa!). He makes you feel like family and like you are "coming home" each time you are here. Porta Hotel and Aurelio, thank you for making us feel at home!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Mexicoguatemala,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel! It thrills me to hear of your positive experience. Customer service is something that we truly strive for and in making each guest truly feels welcome and at home, whether they are staying with us or just visiting our restaurant.

Thank you for your comments about Aurelio, he really is the heart of Porta Hotel Antigua; we all want to take him home!! Please know that I have shared your feedback with our entire staff, as comments such as yours are what drive us to deliver each and every day.
Please feel free to contact me when you are in the area. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Fernando Ximénez, General Manager
fximenez@portahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Staying at "Porta" is quite unique and cozy. Once you get past the condition of the roads (compact stone roads) which makes for a bumpy ride and uncomfortable walking, the hotel is very much worth the trip. The typical cuisine served is superb (dessert is "ok" as well), the staff is very helpful, the rooms are a bit rustic but it adds to the ambiance of the "ole timey feel" of the hotel, most of the channels are in Spanish but several are in English, some equipment such as irons and remotes may not work at times but are readily and easily replaced by staff, wifi is open but in certain areas the signal is not as strong because of the winds, the grounds are well kept and the pool is very nice (would recommend checking the weather before planning a trip to Guatemala because very cold months are obviously not the best time to go swimming).

Side Note: For individuals who like glass windows in their rooms, some rooms do not have them installed but they are instead made of wood so its best to ask about these types of preferences prior to staying.

Side Side Note: The walls in my room were are a bit thin for my liking allowing me to hear the guest next to my room taking showers but i'm not sure there is much that can be done to address the issue at the moment. Other than the 5'O clock wake up by my neighbor, my stay was amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Tushie101,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us; especially glad to know that our team provided the service that you expected. However, I would like to offer my apologies for the inconsistencies you experienced during your visit. Although our basic WiFi capabilities are complimentary in all public areas, we are committed to always meet our guest expectations. As is to provide a nice sleep quality.

We truly value your overall feedback, and we will look forward to welcoming you back, to properly serve you.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Porta Hotel is very beautiful with lush gardens, a nice pool with a nicely equipped playground if you have kids. There are several Macaws on site which are very pretty and fun if you have kids. We had a fireplace in our room, and the room had a comfortable bed and nice, clean bathroom. We utilized the Celiba Spa and had a wonderful experience. We had an exfoliation, the mud wrap, and a couples massage for our anniversary, and the therapists were wonderful. I would recommend taking advantage of the spa.

We had a decent buffet breakfast in the morning with typical Guatemalan dishes along with an egg station before we left for our next hotel. Our only complaint was the the 300 rooms are along the main street which makes it sound like a train is going through your room when the cars go by on the pretty cobblestone streets. So don't take a 300 room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Lauran24,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Porta Hotel Antigua Hotel on TripAdvisor. We truly value your feedback, for it enables us to continuously strive for improvement in the quality of our products and services.
I regret, however, to learn the inconveniences you experienced throughout your visit, especially with the noise from the street. We truly value your loyalty and will look forward to welcoming you and your significant other back in the very near future. Please feel free to contact me and I will accommodate you in a very quiet and noiseless room.

Once more Happy Anniversary!

Fernando Ximénez, General Manager
fximenez@portahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Family Hotel in Antigua
#12 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been hosts to visitors to La Antigua for over 60 years. Our property is an icon in this charming and historical city that has been declared by UNESCO world cultural patrimony. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, if you are looking for a hotel where you are treated very professional yet with a unique personal touch where you feel not only extremely welcome but also well taken care of, which enhances your experience during your visit in La Antigua, you have chosen the best place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.