We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel minutes from the main square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Porta Hotel Antigua to your Saves list
Porta Hotel Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Oferta en Ceiba Porta Spa
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel minutes from the main square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Porta Hotel is very beautiful with lush gardens, a nice pool with a nicely equipped playground if you have kids. There are several Macaws on site which are very pretty and fun if you have kids. We had a fireplace in our room, and the room had a comfortable bed and nice, clean bathroom. We utilized the Celiba Spa and had a wonderful experience. We had an exfoliation, the mud wrap, and a couples massage for our anniversary, and the therapists were wonderful. I would recommend taking advantage of the spa.

We had a decent buffet breakfast in the morning with typical Guatemalan dishes along with an egg station before we left for our next hotel. Our only complaint was the the 300 rooms are along the main street which makes it sound like a train is going through your room when the cars go by on the pretty cobblestone streets. So don't take a 300 room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Lauran24,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Porta Hotel Antigua Hotel on TripAdvisor. We truly value your feedback, for it enables us to continuously strive for improvement in the quality of our products and services.
I regret, however, to learn the inconveniences you experienced throughout your visit, especially with the noise from the street. We truly value your loyalty and will look forward to welcoming you and your significant other back in the very near future. Please feel free to contact me and I will accommodate you in a very quiet and noiseless room.

Once more Happy Anniversary!

Fernando Ximénez, General Manager
fximenez@portahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    113
    16
    0
    6
See reviews for
72
88
25
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night and we had a really great stay. First of all, the grounds at the hotel are great with a beautiful pool, very well maintained gardens and some very quaint and charming architectural touches. We had the buffet breakfast, which was included in our room, and the selection was excellent with omelets, a selection of typical Guatemalan fare, a "make your own smoothie" section, delicious coffee, etc. The hotel itself is about 4 blocks from the main square, which is less than a 5 minute walk. The rooms are very comfortable, well designed in a charming Guatemalan style (ours even had a fireplace). There is a free wifi in the lobby and in the restaurant but you have to pay for internet in the room. In conclusion, this is a great hotel and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Westonfl,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, comments like yours are a valuable tool for our continued pursuit of excellence. I am delighted to learn that you loved our breakfast buffet and found your room enjoyable, especially the fireplace.

We would be delighted to have you stay with us again. Please let me know if I can assist you with anything between now and then.

Sincerely,
Fernando Ximénez, General Manager
fximenez@portahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Normally I stay at business hotels, so this is a nice change. Rooms are nice, as is the bathroom. Pool looks nice, bit small. Wifi costs 1 dollar per hour, but is free in the lobby. The free cocktail was nice. Someone brings you to the room and does not expect a tip. Two bottles of water are complimentary. All in all a positive stay. See pictures for room 114.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I spent two days at the hotel for rest and relaxation after a week volunteering for a medial mission. There was a large group and the hotel was very well suited for it. The spa is wonderful and extremely reasonable for what you get. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a great fireplace, though a bit on the small side. The biggest disappointment was the food. The restaurant though reasonable was not good. The food was bland and ill prepared. If I were to return on my own or with my husband I would probably look for an alternate location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, General Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Wackywife,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Porta Hotel Antigua. We are pleased that you enjoyed of your room and had a wonderful experience at Ceiba Spa. However, I was sorry to read that certain parts of your stay did not live up to your expectations and I've shared your comments with our Head chef and Restaurant team. We are always striving to better accommodate our guests and we'll take action in the issues you've mentioned.

Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Feel free to contact me directly to arrange your reservation. I would be happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Fernando Ximénez, General Manager
fximenez@portahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVergne, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Romantic, exotic and passionate, Antigua has become the wedding destination these days; it was not surprising that one of my nieces selected that city to get married. Therefore, my sons and I traveled to Guatemala and onto Antigua and stayed at Porta Hotel on this occasion. The magnificent and perfectly kept gardens, the breathtaking view of the volcanoes and the surrounding scenery makes it a paradise place to stay. All the patios are manicured with luscious native aborigines plants, all of which are labeled for visitors to learn about their variety. The hotel is family-oriented but can also accommodate couples; it offers an environment for all tastes. The heated pool will keep any young ones entertained for hours without end, while the grown ups can enjoy watching them have fun. There is a playing park with live parrots and macaws. For more privacy, couples can request to stay in an area that is exclusively for grown-ups. The rooms are spacious, clean and equipped with telephones and TV, but since there is so much to do nearby within walking distance, you probably will not have time to watch TV. The breakfast is complementary and it is served buffet style offering a grand variety of typical fruits and juices accompanied with authentic Guatemalan dishes: tamales, chuchitos, frijoles, tortilla, pupusas, queso plus all the classics, crepes, pancakes, oatmeal, pastries. Chefs standby will cook the eggs per your request. Live music is played while you taste these deliciously prepared dishes. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they are ready to cater to your needs at your beckon. We were traveling with my elderly daddy and they immediately provided a wheel chair for his entire stay without us even having to ask for it. At lunch and dinner you can enjoy more savory dishes while listening to the autochthonous Guatemalan instrument “La marimba”, played by skilled musicians. Parking is provided free of charge but you must catch the shuttle to get to the lot. The hotel is centrally located very close to the main plaza, market and Cathedral.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, General Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Glorialaviajera,

Thank you very much for your glowing review. I am delighted to hear that you found Porta Hotel Antigua to be perfect in every way. We aim to provide the best service possible, going above and beyond our guests’ expectations.

It gives me pride and pleasure to share your lovely comments with my colleagues. They are a very dedicated group of professionals who are committed to ensuring that our customers have a personal "home away from home" experience and I am thrilled that they have consistently delivered this high standard during your visit.

I do hope that we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and please do remember to visit our official website for all our best available rates and packages. Once again, thank you so much for this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The service at the Hotel Porta was excellent, like most places in Guatemala,it is very personable and friendly. The room felt more like a private cabin or bungalow instead of a hotel room. The fireplace in the room gave it a rustic feel. The rooms were furnished tastefully without being overdone. The shower was very good. HOT water and great pressure (This isn't always the case in Guatemala). The restaurant served nice dishes with typical Guatemalan touches. Everything tasted fresh and well prepared.

Location very good, a very close walk to the main square of Antigua. Only a couple of nitpicky things to mention: the main hotel entrance is not well marked and we had to circle the blocks a few times to find it. No ironing board in the basic rooms and no washcloths in the bathroom. Would gladly stay again, though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Unbeliaveble place with great service and ammenities. Rooms are very clean and cozy. Huge swimming pool on a great garden with a beautiful and natural paisagism. Employees are very friendly as usual from Guatemala's people. The hotel itself has a fine decoration which takes care of each visual detail. Good and spacious bathroom. Better for family with chieldren due to the entertainment possibilities. Better prices are available by the internet.It is also near from the city center. You can go there walking only 3 blocks.

Room Tip: Choose the balcony ones behind the hign roof restaurant! Very good view to gardens and antigua vulca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#10 Family Hotel in Antigua
#12 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been hosts to visitors to La Antigua for over 60 years. Our property is an icon in this charming and historical city that has been declared by UNESCO world cultural patrimony. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, if you are looking for a hotel where you are treated very professional yet with a unique personal touch where you feel not only extremely welcome but also well taken care of, which enhances your experience during your visit in La Antigua, you have chosen the best place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.