We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porta Hotel Antigua is a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Porta Hotel Antigua to your Saves list
Porta Hotel Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Service at Ceiba Spa
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Porta Hotel Antigua is a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night and we had a really great stay. First of all, the grounds at the hotel are great with a beautiful pool, very well maintained gardens and some very quaint and charming architectural touches. We had the buffet breakfast, which was included in our room, and the selection was excellent with omelets, a selection of typical Guatemalan fare, a "make your own smoothie" section, delicious coffee, etc. The hotel itself is about 4 blocks from the main square, which is less than a 5 minute walk. The rooms are very comfortable, well designed in a charming Guatemalan style (ours even had a fireplace). There is a free wifi in the lobby and in the restaurant but you have to pay for internet in the room. In conclusion, this is a great hotel and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Westonfl,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, comments like yours are a valuable tool for our continued pursuit of excellence. I am delighted to learn that you loved our breakfast buffet and found your room enjoyable, especially the fireplace.

We would be delighted to have you stay with us again. Please let me know if I can assist you with anything between now and then.

Sincerely,
Fernando Ximénez, General Manager
fximenez@portahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    117
    16
    1
    6
See reviews for
85
99
26
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Normally I stay at business hotels, so this is a nice change. Rooms are nice, as is the bathroom. Pool looks nice, bit small. Wifi costs 1 dollar per hour, but is free in the lobby. The free cocktail was nice. Someone brings you to the room and does not expect a tip. Two bottles of water are complimentary. All in all a positive stay. See pictures for room 114.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I spent two days at the hotel for rest and relaxation after a week volunteering for a medial mission. There was a large group and the hotel was very well suited for it. The spa is wonderful and extremely reasonable for what you get. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a great fireplace, though a bit on the small side. The biggest disappointment was the food. The restaurant though reasonable was not good. The food was bland and ill prepared. If I were to return on my own or with my husband I would probably look for an alternate location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, General Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Wackywife,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Porta Hotel Antigua. We are pleased that you enjoyed of your room and had a wonderful experience at Ceiba Spa. However, I was sorry to read that certain parts of your stay did not live up to your expectations and I've shared your comments with our Head chef and Restaurant team. We are always striving to better accommodate our guests and we'll take action in the issues you've mentioned.

Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Feel free to contact me directly to arrange your reservation. I would be happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Fernando Ximénez, General Manager
fximenez@portahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVergne, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Romantic, exotic and passionate, Antigua has become the wedding destination these days; it was not surprising that one of my nieces selected that city to get married. Therefore, my sons and I traveled to Guatemala and onto Antigua and stayed at Porta Hotel on this occasion. The magnificent and perfectly kept gardens, the breathtaking view of the volcanoes and the surrounding scenery makes it a paradise place to stay. All the patios are manicured with luscious native aborigines plants, all of which are labeled for visitors to learn about their variety. The hotel is family-oriented but can also accommodate couples; it offers an environment for all tastes. The heated pool will keep any young ones entertained for hours without end, while the grown ups can enjoy watching them have fun. There is a playing park with live parrots and macaws. For more privacy, couples can request to stay in an area that is exclusively for grown-ups. The rooms are spacious, clean and equipped with telephones and TV, but since there is so much to do nearby within walking distance, you probably will not have time to watch TV. The breakfast is complementary and it is served buffet style offering a grand variety of typical fruits and juices accompanied with authentic Guatemalan dishes: tamales, chuchitos, frijoles, tortilla, pupusas, queso plus all the classics, crepes, pancakes, oatmeal, pastries. Chefs standby will cook the eggs per your request. Live music is played while you taste these deliciously prepared dishes. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they are ready to cater to your needs at your beckon. We were traveling with my elderly daddy and they immediately provided a wheel chair for his entire stay without us even having to ask for it. At lunch and dinner you can enjoy more savory dishes while listening to the autochthonous Guatemalan instrument “La marimba”, played by skilled musicians. Parking is provided free of charge but you must catch the shuttle to get to the lot. The hotel is centrally located very close to the main plaza, market and Cathedral.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, General Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Glorialaviajera,

Thank you very much for your glowing review. I am delighted to hear that you found Porta Hotel Antigua to be perfect in every way. We aim to provide the best service possible, going above and beyond our guests’ expectations.

It gives me pride and pleasure to share your lovely comments with my colleagues. They are a very dedicated group of professionals who are committed to ensuring that our customers have a personal "home away from home" experience and I am thrilled that they have consistently delivered this high standard during your visit.

I do hope that we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and please do remember to visit our official website for all our best available rates and packages. Once again, thank you so much for this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The service at the Hotel Porta was excellent, like most places in Guatemala,it is very personable and friendly. The room felt more like a private cabin or bungalow instead of a hotel room. The fireplace in the room gave it a rustic feel. The rooms were furnished tastefully without being overdone. The shower was very good. HOT water and great pressure (This isn't always the case in Guatemala). The restaurant served nice dishes with typical Guatemalan touches. Everything tasted fresh and well prepared.

Location very good, a very close walk to the main square of Antigua. Only a couple of nitpicky things to mention: the main hotel entrance is not well marked and we had to circle the blocks a few times to find it. No ironing board in the basic rooms and no washcloths in the bathroom. Would gladly stay again, though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Unbeliaveble place with great service and ammenities. Rooms are very clean and cozy. Huge swimming pool on a great garden with a beautiful and natural paisagism. Employees are very friendly as usual from Guatemala's people. The hotel itself has a fine decoration which takes care of each visual detail. Good and spacious bathroom. Better for family with chieldren due to the entertainment possibilities. Better prices are available by the internet.It is also near from the city center. You can go there walking only 3 blocks.

Room Tip: Choose the balcony ones behind the hign roof restaurant! Very good view to gardens and antigua vulca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was visiting my daughter who was volunteering in Guatemala for 8 weeks this summer, and we recently spent five nighst at the Porta Hotel. This was my first time in Guatemala and I was so pleasantly surprised at how much I loved the town of Antigua and the Porta Hotel!

The hotel is situated perfectly within Antigua, just a few blocks down from the Center Square. We walked everywhere and felt perfectly safe. Our room was spacious and very clean, with two beds, a large bathroom, and we overlooked the playground in the beautiful courtyard area. The piped in music that played softly throughout the common area offered a perfect sound track to our stay. And if that wasn't enough, looking up from the hotel courtyard each morning at the surrounding volcanoes was in and of itself, amazing!

Breakfast was included with our stay and it was very generous (and delicious). We ate dinner several times in the hotel and ended each day with a glass of wine in the bar area, overlooking the pool. At all times we found the hotel and restaurant staff to be courteous and very attentive. One day, we visited the onsite spa to have manicures and pedicures and that, too was incredibly relaxing.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Antigua!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, General Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Scoobycat318,

Thank you so much for posting this exceptional review on Trip Advisor. These positive comments are greatly appreciated and I have passed your kind words to everyone. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team as they try so hard to make our guests comfortable and happy.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#8 Family Hotel in Antigua
#10 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.