We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Antigua

Save Saved
You added Porta Hotel Antigua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porta Hotel Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Oferta en Ceiba Porta Spa
Ranked #17 of 76 hotels in Antigua
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The service at the Hotel Porta was excellent, like most places in Guatemala,it is very personable and friendly. The room felt more like a private cabin or bungalow instead of a hotel room. The fireplace in the room gave it a rustic feel. The rooms were furnished tastefully without being overdone. The shower was very good. HOT water and great pressure (This isn't always the case in Guatemala). The restaurant served nice dishes with typical Guatemalan touches. Everything tasted fresh and well prepared.

Location very good, a very close walk to the main square of Antigua. Only a couple of nitpicky things to mention: the main hotel entrance is not well marked and we had to circle the blocks a few times to find it. No ironing board in the basic rooms and no washcloths in the bathroom. Would gladly stay again, though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    112
    16
    0
    6
See reviews for
72
86
25
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Unbeliaveble place with great service and ammenities. Rooms are very clean and cozy. Huge swimming pool on a great garden with a beautiful and natural paisagism. Employees are very friendly as usual from Guatemala's people. The hotel itself has a fine decoration which takes care of each visual detail. Good and spacious bathroom. Better for family with chieldren due to the entertainment possibilities. Better prices are available by the internet.It is also near from the city center. You can go there walking only 3 blocks.

Room Tip: Choose the balcony ones behind the hign roof restaurant! Very good view to gardens and antigua vulca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was visiting my daughter who was volunteering in Guatemala for 8 weeks this summer, and we recently spent five nighst at the Porta Hotel. This was my first time in Guatemala and I was so pleasantly surprised at how much I loved the town of Antigua and the Porta Hotel!

The hotel is situated perfectly within Antigua, just a few blocks down from the Center Square. We walked everywhere and felt perfectly safe. Our room was spacious and very clean, with two beds, a large bathroom, and we overlooked the playground in the beautiful courtyard area. The piped in music that played softly throughout the common area offered a perfect sound track to our stay. And if that wasn't enough, looking up from the hotel courtyard each morning at the surrounding volcanoes was in and of itself, amazing!

Breakfast was included with our stay and it was very generous (and delicious). We ate dinner several times in the hotel and ended each day with a glass of wine in the bar area, overlooking the pool. At all times we found the hotel and restaurant staff to be courteous and very attentive. One day, we visited the onsite spa to have manicures and pedicures and that, too was incredibly relaxing.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Antigua!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, General Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Scoobycat318,

Thank you so much for posting this exceptional review on Trip Advisor. These positive comments are greatly appreciated and I have passed your kind words to everyone. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, which serves as a great motivator to my team as they try so hard to make our guests comfortable and happy.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medinah, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful, elegant, peaceful, clean and relaxing place! The grounds, pool, and rooms were superb! All was very clean, neat and the service was out of this world! Their food was also very good and the breakfast was specially delicious with a number of choices that would for sure please any taste and appetite. I will be staying at this hotel in all my future visits to Antigua!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, General Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Teresitail,

I am speechless after reading your amazing review. Thank you for finding Porta Hotel Antigua to be so excellent, I am delighted that your expectations were surpassed. Our passionate staff tries very hard to make our guests happy, so comments like yours make all their efforts even more worthwhile. We will be all looking forward to welcome you in the near future to your home away from home!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our first time STAYING at La Porta Hotel Antigua, but we had been swimming here in years past. Reservations were easily made at a low cost, with breakfast buffet included, and we were welcomed like long lost friends. The room was delightful, and the wifi (my pet peeve) worked so quickly! Our daughter made fast friends with tourists and locals at the pool, and she had as good a time as we did. This is a fantastic place for families because of the large pool, flowered grounds, birds, balconies and outdoor seating. Don't miss out!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, General Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Discerning12385,

Thank you so much for your very kind words. It is very rewarding to read such nice comments about your stay. Thank you for highlighting them. We do want to make our guests feel at home from the moment they arrive and I am thrilled that you felt this and that you were impressed.
We will be all looking forward to welcome you and your lovely family in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We made a last minute decision to travel for the first time to Antigua to take our children to a spanish language emersion school. We chose Porta for our stay, while our children stayed with a local family. Not having been to Guatemala before our expectations were low. Wow, were we surprised. Porta was an oasis for us. The grounds were kept like a botanical garden, the food, particularly the local dishes were awesome. Rooms and grounds very clean. AC worked well enough to freeze us out of our room, if we wanted. Staff were friendly and many helped us with by knowing English very well. Concierge helped with connections and special requests.

Room Tip: We were in the section away from main lobby (they say across the street). Our entrance was 200 feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, General Manager at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear WWCh121,
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We have a very dedicated team and it is our aim to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us. These positive comments are greatly appreciated and I have passed your kind words to everyone.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varde, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This five-star review is perhaps a bit misleading (I have never actually stayed at the hotel, I just used their pool while living with an host family in Antigua), but nevertheless I want to compliment this hotel, because if you're like me and can't afford staying at such a nice hotel like this - don't hesitate by visiting it anyway, using their pool (for payment, off course - not expensive, though) and maybe have some dinner at their restaurant, because it is really a nice place to spend the entire day if you're longing for some relaxation in Antigua or just want to experience a bit of luxury without breaking the budget. The staff is also very nice, even though I only came there for the pool and the atmosphere, so don't worry if you're just a poor student like me - You will still feel welcomed!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Family Hotel in Antigua
#13 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been hosts to visitors to La Antigua for over 60 years. Our property is an icon in this charming and historical city that has been declared by UNESCO world cultural patrimony. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, if you are looking for a hotel where you are treated very professional yet with a unique personal touch where you feel not only extremely welcome but also well taken care of, which enhances your experience during your visit in La Antigua, you have chosen the best place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;