We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de Don Rodrigo

Posada de Don Rodrigo
4 Ave Norte # 17 | Colonial Hotel, Antigua, Guatemala
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 239 Restaurants in Antigua
Cuisines: Guatemalan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Go for the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We sat on the terrace overlooking the beautiful property of the hotel, volcanoes etc. Was beautiful! Definitely a place to have a drink or appetizer. My lunch consisted of a small avocado split in half with basically canned tuna placed inside with soda crackers. Couldn't believe it actually for the high end place it is. So, not sure the food is the best here, but the hotel and view make it worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    39
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the few places with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were looking for a place with a good view and this place has a great terrace. The drinks are good but the food was standard fare. Slightly pricey and typical to many of the restaurants in this price range. Food is still good and not outstanding. Pretty much come here for the view

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“What a great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stumbled onto this restaurant while strolling around Antigua and looking for a light dinner. It has a wonderful inner courtyard that we looked out onto during our meal. We ate appetizers and they were very good. Try the chuchitos. The wait staff were very courteous and smiling. We'll come back here if we ever get back to Antigua again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant for a Special Occasion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed taking our host family out to this particular restaurant at the end of our six week stay in Antigua. As previously requested, our table had been reserved with our names on it and the servers graciously seated us. Each one of us in our group of seven enjoyed their drinks and meals immensely.The strawberry tres leches cake that I had ordered beforehand was also delicious and came with a delightful pinata to celebrate a family birthday! The entertainment consisting of the marimba and indigenous ballet dance was also delightful...even going as far as encouraging active audience participation as well as family picture taking. We cannot wait to go back there when we return to stay for three months next year!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our first night in Antiqua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This place was suggested to us by our hotel and it was spectacular. The atmosphere was very nice with a beautiful courtyard and wonderful dining area. We had an assortment of dishes and all agreed the food was prepared very well. The chef came out to check on our food. The xylophone group played as we ate and it was very nice not too loud. We also had a person making tortillas which was fun to see. A place NOT to miss if in Antigua.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posada de Don Rodrigo also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Posada de Don Rodrigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de Don Rodrigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.