We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Place to Stay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added A Place to Stay Hotel to your Saves list
A Place to Stay Hotel
5a. Calle Poniente Callejon | Landivar # 42, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, great hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed for 9 nights, first in the dorm and then in an exceptionally reasonably priced private room. Raul and Fernando were great hosts. Antonia cooked tasty breakfasts. The other travelers were all good people. And the location by the market makes it easy to explore the wonderfl labrynth of local food stalls and then cook them up in the hostel kitchen. I will definately stay there when I pass through Antigua again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    19
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
43
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We came here recently from Copan in Honduras and stayed for a week. We were originally only going to stay for 3 days and ended up staying for a week. Raul and Fernando were amazing to stay with, really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about Antigua and the surrounding sites. Raul organised a trip to Pacaya Volcano for us on a shuttle bus which was great as all we had to do was turn up and walk. You get breakfast each day included in the price and all the coffee you can drink. The rooms were spacious and clean and the bed was super cosy. It's close to the main square (only 2 blocks) and the markets are really close. It felt like somewhere we could stay for a long time and I think thats all down to Raul and Fernando. Thanks so much for giving us a home for a week!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed four nights with Raul and Fernando, which turned out to be great hosts as mentioned in other reviews.
Things here are basic, but for the cheap price (Antigua is an expensive place) of 50Q with breakfast it's great value!
Location is good, next to the market and 3 blocks from the park, it's clean , and has a decent communal kitchen. The beds are not the best but you will get a good night sleep as the area is very quiet.

But the most important - you stay and support with local Guatemalan people, which for me is always a big advantage over American/European owned places. The two brothers will help you with everything you want around town, plus they have one of the cheapest deals on shuttles to other places.

It's definitely not a party hostel, but for the kind of travelers that prefer the more authentic experience I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

You will feel like home immidiatly in this family hostel. There is a good vibe and fun people. The hosts are very friendly and want to solve all your problems or answer your questions. The breakfast was delicious every day. Thanks for everything! Fun fact: according to the story's it seems to be that manu chao spend some time in this hostel as well!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is truly a guesthouse not just a hostel. My friend and I stayed in a double room. It was clean. NO BUGS flying or crawling! And it's quite. People are respectful, that goes for the guests as well as the staff who are beyond friendly. Always asking how you are as if there family who really want to know how your day went and how they can make your stay more relaxing. The facilities are well kept, regularly. Breakfast is included in the price and its not just cereal and coffee.

It's in the local part of town, next to the bus stop but the sounds of people healing Guate, Guate, Guate are drowned by your overwhelming feeling of relaxation.

Room Tip: Choose a room next to the bano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It is a Hostel that is family owned....the two owners are really helpful especially for little trips around Antigua - they can help out with transportation ( book shuttles and so on) they also know where you can get the best Chockobananas. I slept in the private rooms and in the dormatorio...and the beds are clean and smell very fresh. You can use the kitchen ( the market is just on the other side of the street) and if you are lucky ....Antonia showes you how to make Corntortillas!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Of all the places I have stayed in Antigua, this is by far the best and the only place I will pay for when I am here. The staff is like family and they make sure you feel at home. The location could not be more convenient right next to the market and bus station. I highly recommend A Place To Stay to all who are traveling through Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Place to Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place to Stay Hotel

Address: 5a. Calle Poniente Callejon | Landivar # 42, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your A Place to Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Place to Stay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.