We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing panoramic view. The food just average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Tenedor del cerro

El Tenedor del cerro
Cerro de Santa Ines Antigua, Antigua, Guatemala
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 238 Restaurants in Antigua
Cuisines: Guatemalan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing panoramic view. The food just average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I´ve stayed in Guatemala City for a week and my friends take me to this place on the way to Antigua.

Once there the place is very nice. All the decoration and landscapes makes me feel like to be in other part of the world. The view is stunning and maybe the only reason to visit the place.

We´ve eat lunch at the restaurant and that was OK, let´s say: nothing special. I haven’t pay for anything there so I just warning you to check the prices first and maybe decide to visit other place downtown.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at El Tenedor del cerro, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We regret to know that you didn’t enjoy your lunch experience and hope you give us a second chance during your next visit to La Antigua Guatemala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    47
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wow, what a view!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what a view!! But not only the view is amazing, the food is magnificent. Service qas great, extremely attentive. Not to mention the "sangrias", yum!! In urgent need to go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at El Tenedor del cerro, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for such a nice comment. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your experience at El Tenedor del Cerro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad restaurant or great view?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

It looks like the service wasn't the only bad thing in this place. Many people say it's wonderful, but many local people just go by the looks and they like to pay high prices and turn their heads away, because the price you pay is not even close to the taste you'll receive on your dishes.
Out of 7 dishes we had, only 2 were good. One was really bad and the other 4 (meat dishes) was 50/50. Since you have to wait for a table, it feels like they are waiting for you to leave as soon as possible (the waiter even asked me if he could take my plate away and I still was chewing food and there was still some on my plate!!)
The view is really good but that's it... It's not worth the trouble. Maybe will come back but only for the view... No more waiting 45 minutes to eat bad and have a crappy service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at El Tenedor del cerro, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments, they help us improve our service. We regret the bad impression you took of our Restaurant and hope you give us a second chance when you visit La Antigua Guatemala again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in Antigua Guatemala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A delightful place to eat, excellent food, good service and a wonderful view of colonial Antigua Guatemala. A wonderful shuttle service to the restaurant from Hotel Casa Santo Domingo for free!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at El Tenedor del cerro, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the service and food of “El Tenedor”, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and the wonderful view of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great breakfast with Fantastic Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had breakfast here while in Guatemala on business. The views are amazing and the setting and service first class. I wish we had more time to hang out and explore the ground but just walking from the parking lot to the restaurant was amazing. Plenty of floral gardens and different works of art from various artist. The food a service was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Gerente at El Tenedor del cerro, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the ambience of Santo Domingo del Cerro and the food of its restaurant. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tenedor del cerro also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to El Tenedor del cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tenedor del cerro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.