We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding views and a great environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tenedor del cerro

El Tenedor del cerro
Cerro de Santa Ines Antigua, Antigua, Guatemala
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 262 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Guatemalan
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding views and a great environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Went to El Tenedor for both dinner in breakfast. Food and service is good but the eclectic modern artwork was a nice surprise, but the views for breakfast were phenomenal. At dinner you can see lights of the townships at the bottom of the hill, atop which the restaurant is perched, but breakfast (early) has the best views of two volcanos and shouldn't be missed!!! Take the shuttle from Casa Santo Domingoas its a steep 'hill'

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    68
    26
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“What amazing views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed a big group lunch here. The space is modern and airy with large walls of glass. The food was very good, but honestly I was so absorbed in the vistas of the 3 volcanos that it hardly mattered. The service was very professional and smooth, even for a big group. Everyone enjoyed their food. Around the table I saw ravioli, grilled chicken breast, a big hamburger, some sort of fish, black bean soup, and more. I watched it all happily disappear. I saw 2 desserts at our table, creme brûlée and key lime tart. The tart was not as thick or tart as I like, but it wasn't bad. I did not try the creme brûlée, but was told it too was just okay. After lunch we all strolled through the vast grounds and party pavilions. This is a destination restaurant and I think it is worth it. Go relax, dine, sit and soak in the mountaintops and volcanos.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting dining option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a delightful lunch on a patio in the hills overlooking the city. It is a destination spot where you can spend several hours. You take the shuttle from casa santo domingo which takes about 15 minutes. If you have several days this is a different venue and makes you feel out in the country with great views of the volcanos. Go for the setting and not the food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Accommodating, great food,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The food tasted great. They made adjustments to my meal to suit my dietary requirements. There was also an art exhibition on display.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, great view, not too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

When we were driving up to the restaurant and as I saw it, I thought that it must be quite expensive as it seemed to be quite fancy. I was pleasantly surprised when the mains were around Q75-100. Both times I've been there the food has been good. The view really makes the place though as it sits on a hill looking down on Antigua. If you don't have means of transport, there is a free shuttle service from Hotel Santo Domingo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tenedor del cerro also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to El Tenedor del cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tenedor del cerro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.