We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, casual, and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Barista

Cafe Barista
Corner of Parque Central, Antigua, Guatemala
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 262 Restaurants in Antigua
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Wonderful coffee shop on the corner of Parque Central in Antigua, perfect location ( also for taking photos during Semana Santa when you don't want to be standing in the crowd outside). They have great coffee selection, cakes, snacks, paninis. Please add this coffee shop to the restaurant list so I can review it
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Convenient, casual, and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Barista is a chain, but it doesn't feel that much like a chain with its personal service and delicious pastries. It's first and foremost a café, and a lot of people come to grab a coffee off of Parque Central, or to use the free Internet with their laptops over coffee or tea. The place is scrupulously clean. I have not tried the new breakfast offerings and a year ago I'd been little disappointed in the sandwiches, but I haven't tried those recently so they may have improved. The staff are always pleasant. I live in the area and usually drop into Café Barista whenever I want to just relax for a little while, or meet with friends.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    51
    18
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
517 reviews 517 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
1,269 helpful votes 1,269 helpful votes
“Great coffee and great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Fabulous rich coffee which you can also purchase. The staff dont speak English which is difficult and hard to get your eggs ordered as you would like, but with patience you can get there and the fruit plate is enormous. Just off the main plaza so great location too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and coffee - free wifi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have eaten at Café Barista many times. They have great food and quality coffee. The staff are not overly friendly, only answer questions if asked, not an offer to help. Still, it is a place that I will continue to frequent. Not only is the taste good, the presentation was very nice as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good coffee, good wifi, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Cafe Barista is a typical, Starbucks-style coffee shop. I didn't eat anything, but I had tea and coffee there several times during my stay in Antigua. Good lattes. It has good, fast wifi, and there are always people on their laptops. Nice place to work for an hour or two.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“We had a fine lunch for two with helpful service for $13 including tip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a small lunch while shopping near the main square. Although the usual practice would have been to order at the counter and pick up your food, a waiter helped us order and brought it to our table. There is a special with choice of soup, small or large ($1 extra) sandwich, drink and coffee for 60 Quetzalles, less than $7. We had the black bean soup, and chicken with pesto on wonderful pressed bread. The hibiscus drink was refreshing and not too sweet. As usual, the Guatemalian coffee was good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Barista also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cafe Barista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Barista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.