We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee, good wifi, good atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Barista

Cafe Barista
Corner of Parque Central, Antigua, Guatemala
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 238 Restaurants in Antigua
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: Wonderful coffee shop on the corner of Parque Central in Antigua, perfect location ( also for taking photos during Semana Santa when you don't want to be standing in the crowd outside). They have great coffee selection, cakes, snacks, paninis. Please add this coffee shop to the restaurant list so I can review it
Restaurant details
Description: Wonderful coffee shop on the corner of Parque Central in Antigua, perfect location ( also for taking photos during Semana Santa when you don't want to be standing in the crowd outside). They have great coffee selection, cakes, snacks, paninis. Please add this coffee shop to the restaurant list so I can review it
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good coffee, good wifi, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Cafe Barista is a typical, Starbucks-style coffee shop. I didn't eat anything, but I had tea and coffee there several times during my stay in Antigua. Good lattes. It has good, fast wifi, and there are always people on their laptops. Nice place to work for an hour or two.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    39
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“We had a fine lunch for two with helpful service for $13 including tip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a small lunch while shopping near the main square. Although the usual practice would have been to order at the counter and pick up your food, a waiter helped us order and brought it to our table. There is a special with choice of soup, small or large ($1 extra) sandwich, drink and coffee for 60 Quetzalles, less than $7. We had the black bean soup, and chicken with pesto on wonderful pressed bread. The hibiscus drink was refreshing and not too sweet. As usual, the Guatemalian coffee was good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you like coffee, a visit to Cafe Barista is a must! Great selection of coffee beverages and pastries. Also you can take home great Guatemalan coffee

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copan, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“coffee place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

good location, but the coffee was not the best I have tried in Antigua. Service was good; they seem to know what they are doing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great dependable coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have been here numerous times and it is a safe place to go and the coffee drinks are excellent! I would skip the chocolate cheescake...it was ok and that was the general consensus of people who tried it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Barista also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cafe Barista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Barista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.