We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum, cafe and lessons!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ChocoMuseo

ChocoMuseo
4a Calle Oriente #14, Antigua 502, Guatemala
502-7832 4520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Attractions in Antigua
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cacao and chocolate museum in Antigua, Guatemala. Learn about the history of cacao, the cacao tree and cacao in Guatemala. ChocoMuseo has its own artisanal chocolate factory which makes chocolate from organic Guatemalan cacao beans. ChocoMuseo also offers chocolate workshops to make your own chocolate. A unique experience for the whole family.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Museum, cafe and lessons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This place has lessons with chocolate and we saw many a happy group around their table by the window as we passed several times a day on our visit. We popped in to read about the cacao history in the area and to buy gluten-free brownies -- which sell out so buy more than one!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    130
    52
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Top Contributor
551 reviews 551 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“don't cout the calories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

A brief visit, classes 11.30am and later, taste the chocolate tee and other coco samples. Small one room museum free. Recommended MeuterMedia

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Choco Museo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

A good place to spend an hour - and it's free to walk around. There is good information on the chocolate process, who produces it and who eats it. You can have a go at making your own chocolate. Those that did really enjoyed it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great fun,great learning, great chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

While this was a bit more than our budget could afford it was an absolute delight. Pablo was a wonderful teacher and entertainer and all the forms of chocolate we made were delicioso. This is great fun for adults and kids...we really loved the chocolates we made in the class.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chocolate addicts' heaven!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I absolutely LOVED the Choco Museo!! As a self-confessed chocolate addict, I smelt the Museo before seeing it! It is a great place to learn all about the history of chocolate, sample some delish items, and I highly recommend doing a class, especially with Pablo. He is a wealth of information on the subject, as well as being highly entertaining. It has taken my addiction to a whole new level!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChocoMuseo also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to ChocoMuseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ChocoMuseo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.